We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's much more better out there”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #58 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“There's much more better out there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had booked this Hotel after reading some very good reviews and also since it happens to be near the Palace so would be high on security. On arrival from Mumbai, we were offered Welcome drinks. Our stay here was divided into two phases, first being the overnight halt from where we proceeded to Pokhara and then 2 nights on return. We were five families on a group tour. At both times, the reception messed up the bookings and in spite of being very clear during the bookings and even after reminding after the first booking debacle, they placed us all on different floors at two ends of the lobbies. We had kids in our group and you could imagine the time we had trying to contain them in the rooms when they all wanted to play together. The view from the rooms both times were practically nothing.The in house Kebab restaurant took forever to cook simple preparations. The staff at the reception and restaurant were very curt in their replies. And the worst of all was having roaches in the bathroom and murky water in the tub!!! Even on complaining to the staff, they were nonchalant of the same. However, the breakfast spread was good enough and the staff at the breakfast tale was quiet attentive.
We understand that this is a Third World country, coming from neighboring India, but believe me the other places we stayed at in Nepal were really charming and callous attitude and unclean bathrooms cannot be excusable. The only saving grace was the warm interiors and the location I guess. However I wouldn't recommend this place again, there's definitely much more better in the market at better rates.

Room Tip: Get a better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manasi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    206
    94
    29
    20
See reviews for
71
79
43
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would say this is not the place to stay if u r looking for comfort and facilities. it was told to me as one of the best hotels in Kathmandu but the entry into the room shattered all my dreams. By no means it was near to 'heritage room' as it was billed. it was a very small room with poor lighting. Overall ambience of the entrance to the hotel is very nice but once you enter your room it feels you are in a two star.
internet charges at the hotel are exorbitant - around 300 NR per hour if i remember well.
Coming to the positives. the Hotel is located in the centre of City so very easy to commute from here. The food - specially the indian food- was fabulous. Buffet breakfast also had very good variety.
I would definitely try some other hotel when I visit there next

Room Tip: I dont know about deluxe rooms but avoid heritage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjayArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivakasi, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here very long back on Feb 14th to 19th,1998..its a property of Taj Group of Hotels. Our stay at the Heritage Suite was absolutely wonderful. The suite was really perfect, exactly what we needed. Casino at de l'Annapurna attracts a huge crowd and open all night with live music and girls dancing!!.

At the hotel, they arranged for a 2 days trip to Pokhra @ Fish Tail Lodge with a private car which was really amazing. Also they arranged for a visit to Mount Everest, the tallest mountain in the world through a charter flight of Royal Nepal Airline. A breathtaking mountain flight, an hour flight over the Mountains to the Everest & back. We sure come back to this splendid hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bala26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

You do not get what you pay for- it's expensive because they know Westerns will stay there for the Western comforts. The outside furnishings and building is beautiful but you are not staying in the lobby... I booked it as a treat after trekking for weeks. It's the same price as a Hilton but there is no free internet, the bathroom tub was dirty, linens had stains, shower was NOT that hot and overall I felt like I did not get what I paid for. To spend that kind of money in Kathmandu and get what I got was disappointing. I upgraded for the business package to get the late checkout of 2pm and airport shuttle. The buffet breakfast at the Coffee Shop was very good however it took us 2 1/2 hours to get our EXPENSIVE food at the bar (expensive by Western definition!!). The service was terrible and the food too expensive for what you are getting. Go out for food and stay at another place knowing your are paying less and probably getting the same quality. I was at another guest house before and learned that looks can be deceiving at this place.

Room Tip: Not worth the money for the upgrade for breakfast- it's cheaper to get a cab to another local pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel before a trek.
When the gates open, it's like an oasis.
The reception is very grand, people are helpful.
The rooms were quite spacious and there was a pool within big grounds.
The meals here are average. Ate here twice and it was disappointing, half the choices weren't available, the meals that came out were incorrect and cold.
This hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance to the shopping precincts and heaps of restaurants. Go for a walk and take in the vista and some decent food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatithink2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2012. As we were hosting our event in one of their banquet halls. The room was comfortable, and with good LCD TV with good no of Indian and international channels. Electric kettle with provision to make tea coffe was available.Bathroom was clean , and had a bathtub.good quality toiletries were provided. They provided us with one complementary internet connection, which was not bad. The complementary breakfast was good with a mix of Indian, Continental and Asian food . Staff was courteous. We didnt use their restraunt , but the food provided by their banqueting dept for our event was good. Will recommend this place for its comfort, and central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good hotel,good rooms and efficient service.Also a good indian restaurant.A hotel that meets the expectation.Also very good located.If you want a good and efficicient hotel this is the right choice.
For us it was the last stop on our round trip and we recovered here using the swimming pool and sofa's

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#69 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Property: Hotel Annapurna
Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing