We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, central location and value for money”
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hotel, central location and value for money”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

good hotel , centrall location and real value for money. you can reach most of the important places in shortest possible time.

keeping in view requirement of business traveller internet facility should be part of package .if required you can increase the rate to meet your incremental cost.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinaykbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    217
    102
    32
    23
See reviews for
75
81
46
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

A good location right near Thamel, but the service is poor. The hotel is a nice property but unfortunately is not well maintained. The restaurant serves, arguably, the best Indian food. Whatever little charm is left in the property is taken away by the very poor service. If you lock the room door from indside while leaving, you will be locked out and will have an interminable wait until someone from reception comes and opens it with a special key!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnontravellerMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvikJBSingh, Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is regrettable that we were not able to deliver our excellent service & hospitality during your stay.
I can assure all readers that we have always strived towards achieving a consistency in providing our highest standards of service to all our guests. However there are some instances where these experiences may occur, for this we regret as this is not the standard we set ourselves to.
We would also like to thank you for giving us your feedback on our Indian & Mughlai Restaurant Ghar-E-Kebab. It is indeed the best Indian restaurant in town.
Do offer us an opportunity to delight you on your next stay.
Regards
Avik.JB.Singh
Deputy Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I was in Nepal for the first time so I wanted to stay in a hotel that was close to the city or in the city and had access to everything that Kathmandu offered. I chose Annapurna because of this., however upon reaching the hotel I was delighted with the service that they provided and offered. They are truly contemporary Nepalese hotel and offers the unique Nepalese approach towards service. I stayed in room 2016 the room was recently furnished and exceed my expectation. Outlets are really good and offer a varied cuisine ranging from Oriental & Indian. Overall a very good experience at the hotel.

Room Tip: Heritage & Deluxe Rooms, try the Super Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Indian food was unexpectedly nice for room service. Although it did take more than 40 mins for them to get it. Unfortunately the swimming was under renovation which had no mention on their website. Rooms are decent & clean. However its difficult to get privacy as the doors are not sound proof & someone standing standing outside can easily listen to what ure watching on TV. Similarly if ure planning to get up late, be prepared to listen to people walking/talkng in the corridor which really disturbs your sleep. Good thing is its at a very good location, near good markets & not too far from the airport. Breakfast is also very good. There is a barber shop as well. Using wifi is extremely expensive & is to be paid extra beyond room tarriff so be prepared to shell out a lot of money if u need to use the internet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaustubhmittal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Hotel Annapurna is bang on Durbar marg which is the centre of attraction, the hotel is very good, hospitality is fantastic and rooms are great...would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a visit to Kathmandu...price is moderate...u have a casino if you feel ur lucky...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeep1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

very stunning hotel with its own casino , good location and quality of international standard is quite good. valuable for a 3nght stay . as nepal is a cooler and quite place but good for gamblers. Kathmandu is a pilgrimage hotspot for HINDUS .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishal1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Overall a great location right next to commercial hub with good eating joints nearby. Also right next to Royal palace and has a casino within. However, hotel is currently under renovation. We were given a room in the floor where they hold business conferences. The room was compact sized and had small queen sized bed so we had to ask for a baby cot which they provided. Overall service quality was good and food choices within and outside the hotel were great. The swimming pool was non-functional and it sure looked like 6 months plus project before they get it going. I did not visit the casino here as was there only for a day so no views on the same.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 203 in Kathmandu
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Property: Hotel Annapurna
Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing