We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nepal visit”
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #70 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Hotel Annapurna is bang on Durbar marg which is the centre of attraction, the hotel is very good, hospitality is fantastic and rooms are great...would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a visit to Kathmandu...price is moderate...u have a casino if you feel ur lucky...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pradeep1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 554 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

very stunning hotel with its own casino , good location and quality of international standard is quite good. valuable for a 3nght stay . as nepal is a cooler and quite place but good for gamblers. Kathmandu is a pilgrimage hotspot for HINDUS .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishal1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Overall a great location right next to commercial hub with good eating joints nearby. Also right next to Royal palace and has a casino within. However, hotel is currently under renovation. We were given a room in the floor where they hold business conferences. The room was compact sized and had small queen sized bed so we had to ask for a baby cot which they provided. Overall service quality was good and food choices within and outside the hotel were great. The swimming pool was non-functional and it sure looked like 6 months plus project before they get it going. I did not visit the casino here as was there only for a day so no views on the same.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed two nights in this hotel, while on a business trip. Time constraints forced me to eat all meals at hotel, which was a disappointment. The property is on Durbar Road, with the King's palace at the end of the road. It is a bustling neighbourhood, with plenty of eating opportunities nearby. Too bad, I could not sample the goodies.
The location is wonderful, the hotel itself is reasonably good but decay has set in. I don't think the management is investing enough in maintaining the property. The elevator buttons have worn out, and the room door locking systems are vintage. The room itself was clean, with standard amenities for a business traveler. The lack of an additional power point around the writing table meant that I had to pull out the TV wiring to accommodate the laptop charger. Too bad I didn't have MTV for company while writing a presentation. Short point is that hotel is frozen in time: a time when travelers did not require multiple outlets for a phone charger, another for a Blackberry charger, a third for handycam charger. So if you need to top up all three, you have to sequence them in one power outlet.
Not to crib, because the staff more than made up for it. And how? A front office executive (Sachin) ensured that I could catch a short visit to the Pashupatinath temple, even when the hotel vehicle was not available, and it was almost closing time. Thank you Sachin. You made my trip memorable.
The hotel, like almost everywhere else in Kathmandu, is wi-fi, and standard hotel rates apply.
To summarise: this is a family friendly property, you are among good people, and the best of Nepal's hospitality traditions. But you may want to give the hotel restaurants a miss (limited choice of food, and fairly expensive), to eat out at any of the restaurants available just outside the entrance.
Befoer I forget, if you are an Indian citizen, ensure that you are carrying Nepali rupees (NPR) or a convertible currency. Indian debit and credit cards cannot be used to withdraw cash from Nepal's ATMs (but international cards are good to sign for bills). Also keep in mind that Indian currency notes of INR 500 or higher denomination are NOT valid in Nepal. So before you load you wallet with INR 500 or INR 1000 currency, remember that it is worthless paper in Nepal and you may get very badly stuck.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennilessinNepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Very good hotel, would recommend
Staff is courteous
food is also very good
Also they have heaters, for nepal goes negative during winter and blowers really help you to stay alive (keep warm)
Free airport and drop pick-up

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaushal9o1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Single most positive fact is its bang in the centre of the city, a step away from market and eating places. The breakfast is rather shoddy, the pineapple juice had gone bad, as a pampered traveller, expected a lot better. There is practically no views from the hotel windows, the pools was non-functional and I did not try the restaurants. The single most annoying feature was that they switch off, mind you - SWITCH OFF the air conditioning after a few hours during the day, which gets noticeable in the middle of the night when you get up all sweaty and refuse to restart it at all!! New wing is better than old wing, though a slightly heavy smoke laden air hung in the corridors. Hardly a 4 star.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RITZRIKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The hotel is located in the city center and it is easy to reach any place from there. The staff of the hotel are very friendly. we stayed in the deluxe room on the ground level, the rooms looked really old and stuffy. The walls were so thin that you could hear the person in the next room. But besides that it was clean and tidy and had all the necessary things available in the room. The room service is also quite good.
The food of the hotel is excellent and the pastry shop has one of the best tasting pastries.
Overall I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4mktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#43 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#26 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $106 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing