We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #54 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed here after Himilaya Trek and some time in the South. It was fantastic because all I wanted to do was escape Nepal. It is a classic big chain hotel, very comfortable, secure, safe, good food. Considering this is Nepal, it's excellent. However, you'd be better staying in Thamel if you are a tourist and wandering around. I found it a limiting that you couldn't walk out the door and wander around anywhere of interest. Complaints, services are expensive. An hours internet was maybe 100x the price of the shop at the hotel entrance.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank pjd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 953 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

the hotel was absolutely amazing.
the facilities were so comfortable

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aruKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Hotel says there are a 5 star hotel, but i guess they need to have a relook..not worth more than a 3 star status.

For starters, the moment you land, there are no porters, on enquiry they say they have gone for a cuppa tea. so you wait until they come or better take the bags yourself to your room

Rooms stink.... looks like nobody stays here, so rooms are locked for weeks... They cud do better by airing the rooms before checking guests in

The hotel lobby staff have a look on the face that reminds you of having seen a horror. Guys pls smile. These guys get more defensive when you give them feedback of the room, services rather than offer a solution

Their sightseeing tours are lousy, not sure why they tie up with lousy travel desks who dont know how to take care of the guests.

All in all, a lousy and an irritable experience...doesnt deserve more than a 3 star status.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Soaltee is an ideal and safe place to stay in Kathmandu. The ambiance is good and so is the service quality. The property around the hotel is so beautiful and maintained well. Food and service In the “China Garden Restaurant” was awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concorde007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Although I saw the pictures of the hotel on the internet, I was impressed by the cozy environments and traditional decoration when I stepped in the hotel. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. They also offered trip advice and helped us arrange transport. The rooms were simple but very clean; however you need to ask the reception if you want themto clean the room (if you leave a tip on your pillow the room will be cleaned like magic thereafter!)The location is exellent and you are well looked after. Maybe their excursions are not the cheapest but they do their best to make sure you have a great stay. I will stay there again.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank anujagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I stayed in the hotel for nearly 5 days and had a wonderful experience. One of the most amazing corner was the business centre with all the facilities.
Equipped will all the necessities that one wants.
Amazing garden and sitting area just outside the enterance.

An experience in itself.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank satyamgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We had a business meeting there in April 09. and decided to stay there because of cleanliness and grooming of staff. and stayed in the month of July.
Very good experience with the Hotel and Staffs are great. You can get the cusion of all taste.

Good Hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank psahal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,647 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $124 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing