We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic Hotel - Service far below standard - Not a 5-Star Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #47 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hayes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pathetic Hotel - Service far below standard - Not a 5-Star Hotel.”
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for the first time and found to have made a mistake by choosing Soaltee Crowne Plaza. I booked this hotel through a travel agent who probably did his business not not really worthwhile.

The airport pickup was promised but nobody turned up at the airport to receive me. However, I could locate somebody from the Hotel who did not have any idea of my pickup. He had come to pickup someother guest and refused to let me in. This was totally unacceptable. I knew from the begginning of this trip itself that from hereon it is not going to be a fruitful visit.

I then took a taxi whom I paid a ridiculous amount of money from the airport till the Hotel, the local people from the airport did not allow me to take a cab of my choice either.

I reached the Hotel with full stress and check in at the reception. The person at the reception was so unattentive that she was busy on the phone while a new guest has arrived, she didn't even bother to look at me for 10 minutes. Finally, the second person came in front and gave me my room key.

Upon entering the room it seemed to me that I had infact choosen a 2-star Hotel. The room was in a pathetic state, bedcovers not clean, stains on pillow covers and no room slipper.

I tried calling up home but the lines were not yet opened for long distance calls. I literally had to request for an outgoing call thru the operator.

Breakfast however was nice and the restaurant was neat. The fitness center was far below my expectation. Gardens were well maintained and was perfect for an outdoor drink.

The next day I was waiting for a guest to arrive to the Hotel to meet me, therefore had left a message at the reception. This meeting for me was rather the main reason for visiting this beautiful country. I was waiting for the guest in my room for 2-hours but did not receive any message of arrival. Upon contacting him he mentioned that he had to wait for an hour at the reception but no body informed. This was most unacceptable and I had to loose my temper.

I then went to the guest services desk to make a complaint, and she first even refused to give me a comment sheet. I then asked her to connect me to the General Manager, she replied that I will have to first meet the duty manager and refused to connect me to GM's extension number.

I made my point to write all my bitter experiences to the General Manager while leaving the Hotel but have not yet received any reply from Soaltee Crowne Plaza. I would not recommend this Hotel to travellers and please do not just listen to the travel agent while making your selection but do not forget to check out reviews in websites like Tripadvisor choosing your accommodation.

Soaltee Crown Plaza has lost its image and the name and will have to go a long way to overcome its detoriating standards.

If I ever come to Nepal, I will make sure that I do not stay in this pathetic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosecathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    418
    131
    29
    14
See reviews for
140
219
69
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Going to Kathmandu is like going back in time. This was a very exotic place for me anyways. This hotel was no different. I felt like I was in a 1970 movie with the old fashionned elevators, lobby and rooms.
This is what I liked about this place. The staff were very friendly too. For those who likes casinos, there is one just beside, but the casinos in Kathmandu are far from being charming at all.
The internet was very slow, but this is Nepal! So I was not expected more...

Overall I liked the place. It was different and I enjoyed to be in a different type of hotel for once.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barabra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2009

1st you have to pay separate for internet - which always grinds me (even hostels offer this for free). This place offers great service, and if it can be booked for less than $90US I'd say go for it (right now it is on special for $80). Still, it is not a 5 or even 4 star hotel. My room was moldy and musty smelling. The bed was not much better than at a hostel I stayed at a few days earlier. They may have nicer rooms, though. The food is sub-par at the restaurants I went to - though they do have variety. The pool is very nice, but no hot tub. The gym is nice but the equipment is dying and not being maintained. This is probably the best hotel for less than $100, but if you are going to drop more than that go to the hyatt.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2009

In the main heart of the Kathmandu City, this is one of the most visited hotel in Nepal. Kathmandu being the Capital, is the only well connected Airport to the external world. Whosoever comes has to stay for a while in Kathmandu since Pokhra, Nepalgunj, Birgunj and most other big towns/tourist destinations are more then 5 to 8 hours drive away. Soltee is a good place to be in Kathmandu expect for the conjestion on the way into reaching the Hotel.

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bobygupta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This excellent hotel is located in the quiet green suburbs of the city with fabulous views of the mountain ranges. The property is luxurious and it will certainly spoil you.

Hotel room was spacious for one person in a 2-bed room and the room has ample warm afternoon sun. My room was at the 3rd floor and it offered good view to the hotel frontage and Garrdens and the Bukhara suites.

The indoor swimming pool was excellent and I enjoyed there for long periods. The restaurants were great although a bit pricey. Service was excellent but they were not able to accomodate a late checkout which I thought was poor for this level of hotel. Food was good quality especially the cakes.

The one thing that I did not like about this hotel was that the tables in the restaurants were not cleaned as soon as somebody leaves the table after eating specially when the rush is more and people wait for their turns.

Overall the stay was good and enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

This hotel is very very good service and food wise.The food in the italian and indian restaurants is mind blowing.The pool is also very good.Overall nice hotel very good service with friendly staff.The casino in the hotel is the best in nepal.
It is not too far from the main city also.Overall the best choice of hotel in nepal.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

It was amazing to visit this property in the winters and enjoy the fantastic room, resturaunts and hospitality. for its price its like finding a treasure.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank gujral_abhinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,066 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,093 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing