We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #30 of 176 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and appreciated the flexible main buffet restaurant where you could get something to suit most people and the atmosphere was very casual. We also tried the pool and had it to ourselves ( well, it was rather cold!)
Our room was fine if not particularly appealing - nothing wrong with it, just uninspiring, but we were out most of the day so it hardly mattered. Staff were helpful and efficient.
It is not central but it is a short ride from the centre and we actually walked to the centre in half an hour. It's actually rather restful not to be in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

We are delighted to know that you had a nice stay.As you have noticed that the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    369
    116
    19
    7
See reviews for
122
190
60
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathamandu
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We visited thus place in New Year's Eve.
The place is one of the best in town. Famous for its property and service.
The rooms are good with decent size. Bathrooms clean n maintained.
The hotel has well maintained spa n health club.
Choices of restaurant is also good like Italian, indian, Chinese n continental. All are one the best in there class and category.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshnaxal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are very pleased & proud that you enjoyed the services and facilities offered at our hotel.
It is our pleasure to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team's effort and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.
Again thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was there on a business trip and had a comfortable stay. This Hotel can be termed as Heratage Hotel as the architecture is very nice and it spans in a huge area. The Italian restaurant near the Swimming pool is awesome. The Rooms are spacious though the furniture seems a bit Old. The Location is also good. The huge garden view adds to its scenic beauty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_am_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience of a comfortable stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to know that you were quite impressed by our location and our infrastructure. We feel proud to exceed your expectations and being rated as the ‘ Best hotel in Kathmandu".

We hope our services also matched up to the beauty of our infrastructure and look forward to your continued visits to experience another great stay with us .

Warm regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed with family for a day ... nice newly renovated rooms ... nice food .... Kakori restaurant serves amazing Indian food... and breakfast was also amazing serving from indian to continental dishes ...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok_k_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you so much for the great and concise review!
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Hotel has vast expanse, one can have a good morning walk in the premises itself. If you need market is just outside of the gate.
Good breakfast spread, excellent treatment, a little aqway from the airport; you should allow atleast one hour during peak hours.
At times, it is crowded.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a brief stay at Soaltee ,though have stayed here earlier too,but fortunately got better carpetless rooms,and better clean room.Staff was courteous and welcoming.Special mention on Guest relation officer Muna Bhandari,who made the stay a comfortable by proactive attitude and also made correction in slightly overpriced bill which I couldn't notice.The only problem I faced was lack of cooling in AC as I was told that during winters only Heating services are activated,nothing to complain it was just personal issue :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannu_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team member's effort and takes the time to write about it. It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best. We take all our guest feedback very seriously and we would like to assure you that we have addressed your feedback on AC with concerned department.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards.

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Good choice for the big and comfortable rooms but definitely the crowded areas in the reception, bar and restaurant can spoil your stay. My bathtubs leaked every morning and, although reported in reception, they refused to change my room saying they would repair it, which they did not do. The menu in the restaurant is great and breakfast superb. In front of the hotel (in a restaurant called Svastik) you can get the same food for half the price. Taxis are also expensive, just walk to the hotel entrance and grab a taxi in the street for a third of price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Libreta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thanks so much for pointing out the disappointing aspects of our services, we are indeed very grateful to you because it is feedback like yours that allows us to evaluate the systems set in place and take corrective action where necessary. Please consider this to be an aberration to our normally high standards. At the mean time we are very happy to know that our rooms were of your great liking.

The team at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#24 of 176 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#33 of 176 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#49 of 176 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#1 of 176 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#60 of 176 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#2 of 176 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing