We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Rooms, Patio, Dining, Bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Rooms, Patio, Dining, Bar!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

A beautiful place, great staff. Breakfast just fantastic inside or on the sunny deck. BAr and Lounge area nice to relax. Yes there are tour groups and airline personnel - to be expected. You can walk to the street (2-3 minutes through the compound) and see real life. Buy your own water and snacks just outside, everything is expensive if not included.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeinhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for spending time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and especially enjoyed the breakfast offerings, ambiance and service. We respect your view pertaining to prices of food & beverages and would like to share that our prices are competitive vis-à-vis similar standard hotels.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    411
    128
    28
    12
See reviews for
135
212
66
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

At first I planned to move closer to the happening backpacker and tourist area of Thamel. But after a couple of nights here at the Crowne Plaza I treasure the quiet and garden like environment. It is a 10 minute $2 taxi ride when you want to be among the backpackers and expats but do not dismiss this place if you can get a comparable rate w the breakfast included. That alone is worth the stay! The internet is another matter. Try to talk them into free internet if you have a Holiday Inn Frequent account number. There is a tennis court here too but did not think to bring tennis shoes to KTM and my hikers are a bit clumsy.
We had some business here in KTM and it is the best place for a mix of business and as a base for sightseeing.
The garden restaurant is above average and slightly more expensive than the comparable tourist places is Thamel. But the dishes here seem better quality chicken and meat cuts and the restaurant staff is helpful in the extreme.
Not a 5 star but that isn't why you come to Nepal!

Room Tip: They are all good and surrounded by gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you and your family to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We found it very difficult to reconcile the superb surroundings within the hotel complex with the poverty at the gates. The hotel was excellent - comfortable rooms, good choice of restaurants, opportunity to book Himalaya flight, comfortable modern public area.
Beautiful gardens tended by ladies dressed as tea pickers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you very much for the great and concise review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

After much research I stayed at this hotel for five nights in November (a perfect time to visit Nepal by the way). I stayed in a king nonsmoking executive room with breakfast included in the room rate. After going downtown I'm glad I stayed here. The room was comfortable, my only complaint about the room was that there needed to be some padding on top of the mattress. Two bottles of water were provided daily which I used for teeth brushing. Hotel staff were very nice. I was able to get a late check out due to priority club status. I would also like to mention that I paid about $80 for unlimited internet for the week for only one device which is outrageous considering that the wi-fi connection was very spotty in my room. There were daily periods of brown outs which didn't last long. There are some gift shops outside the front gate to the hotel and also some small ones in the hotel. The main restaurant served food during the day but the other restaurants didn't start serving dinner until 7pm. It would have been nice to have the room service menu in my room from day one. For some reason they put it in my room the last night. Breakfast was decent. The hotel has a tour desk but I used Yeti Tours from airport transfers to daily private tours. All in all I would return to this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed , the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. We have noted your feedback on mattress and In-room dinning menu card inside your room and are addressing the same.It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel last week. We checked out on Sunday and came back for another nite stay on Thursday , and left a TSA lock when we checked out on Sunday in our hurry to get to the airport for our flight to Paro. Upon our return we checked with the lost & found department, and was informed that they will get back to us . However they never did, we felt that the least they could do was inform us that they couldn't locate it instead of promising to get back to us in half an hour. Although the room was comfortable and the buffet spread was excellent, we felt the service was not up to the mark of a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get those rooms facing generators as they may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaysianconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

The inconvenience that you had experienced is indeed very disturbing. We view this very seriously and have shared this with the department team members concerned to ensure that this is not repeated. We also see it as an opportunity for us to improve our services reinforced through a refresher training initiative for our team members.

Let me assure you that nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu on your next visit to Nepal.

Warm regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed in Kathmandu for 2 weeks on a private visit to hospitals and schools in the Kathmandu Valley. After Spending the day with our Nepali host, we wanted a quiet and relaxing oasis to unwind at the end of each long day. And this hotel more than fit the bill! It has old world charm reflecting its age as Nepal's first luxury hotel. Yet, the facilities and our room were very modern and comfortable. The service is fantastic, with the staff very attentive at all times. Despite some complaints of the distance from Thamel, we found this a minor issue compared to the advantage of the extensive grounds and being located away from any major roads. Most evenings we headed out to a restaurant, transported by one of the wanting taxis. For a few dollars we were easily transported across the city to our restaurant of choice. And remember, many of the best places are where expat westerners go and not anywhere near Thamel. We also ate at the in-house restaurants which were lovely, especially the Chinese restaurant.
Some complain about the prices, but if you want to stay in a luxury hotel on a budget this is the place to come. Yes, its a bit pricey by Nepal standards but a give-away by Australian or European standards.
My only complaint was the internet is not free and expensive. I can't really see the point of this as its hardly an expensive item for the hotel to provide. Just seems to be the trend worldwide for hotels to discourage you from using their internet and providing your own. Speaking of which, we brought our own HDMI cable as we always do and enjoyed watched the films of our choice preloaded on our laptop on the widescreen TV in our room. Of course, there are almost 100 channels to choose from as well.

Room Tip: It seems best to stay in the new wing on the north side. These rooms are face the mountains for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience of a comfortable stay at our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you were impressed by the our product and services offerings. We feel proud to exceed your expectations and being rated as "the best place in the country". Your comment on internet charges has been shared with concerned team for the further courses of action in order to serve the need of our guest.
Your feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for our team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Kathmandu has grown into a rather unloveable sprawling city so the Soaltee, set in its own grounds, provided a pleasant base for us. Our club room was fine & as we had access to the full hotel breakfast as well as the usual lounge drinks & snacks I thought it good value.
Our third stay should have been on our return from Bhutan & we left a case in the hotel's baggage room. Unfortunately we had to go directly to Bangkok but the hotel dealt with the tortuous process of getting our case back home. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Ktahmandu!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Soaltee Crowne Plaza.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback on services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for our team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#72 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing