We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at this wide-spread property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #48 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and found it perfect. It is a bit away from the chaos of Kathmandu city and has got wide-spread property. The rooms, food and service was perfect therein and we had the best time of ours. Pool area was beautiful, breakfast had many options and the Indian food at Kakori restaurant was unforgettably tasty.
This hotel is also used by renowned airlines for stay of their crews.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakul6798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our effort and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 919 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went there in April for 3 nights firstly then another night after returning from Pokhara. While the breakfast was very good the lunch and dinner at Casino was among the worst I have ever had in a supposed 5 star property. On all 4 nights I noticed whenever I went for a bath or just to pee the water just never drained out but simply stayed which was a huge put off.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

As we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations, we were both surprised and disappointed to find that you were not satisfied with your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that occurred. We have noted with concern your experiences and observations and have shared with concerned team members including the Casino Management. Kindly do not consider this as a reflection of our normal standards.

On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our valued guests.

The team at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Didn’t expect a quite stay after witnessing the chaos in Kathmandu. To my surprise the atmosphere was very calm. Surrounded by quite a lot of greenery. I stayed in three different rooms on different occasions. Rooms were clean and comfortable. But, the fittings were not good. Never knew which one would break!
Food was delicious. Staffs were very helpful in arranging transport for sightseeing. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bean_venu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed, the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. The location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and especially enjoyed the food and beverage offerings, ambience and services. At the mean time we have noted your feedback on fittings of our furniture and are addressing the same .Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Soaltee is away from the hustle and bustle of the city and is surrounded by beautiful gardens. The staff will call a taxi for you and if you ask them they will advise you how much you should pay to your destination .The swimming pool is also very beautiful. I stayed in the old wing of the hotel. My room was dated but however it was clean. The staff were also very accommodating. I ate at the Indian restaurant at the hotel and had a delicious meal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing for a more modern room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingnomad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and services.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all time.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What an amazing property, with wide variety of satellite TV channels. Fantastic options for restaurant. In the heart of the City but away from the crowd. I visited this hotel in Spring of 2012. And look forward to visit again next year in Winters, as recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for not only staying at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu but also sharing your experiences.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When you arrive in Kathmandu chaos, commotion and confusion welcome the traveler. This hotel is a haven of peace, a greenery oasis, far away from the hustle and bustle of the city life, but within walking distance. Though rooms may be a bit dated in the old building, the hotel is up to international standards and it adds some charm to the property. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom is also spacious and amenities are of good quality.
It has several restaurants , with Chinese and Indian cuisine specialties. Excellent food and service, though a bit pricy for Nepal standard of living. Breakfast is very good, with a great variety of products. There is a terrace where smokers can have breakfast in the open air. It’s great to have breakfast with great views to the hotel gardens. A big swimming pool welcomes guests, especially in the after-noon after a long day out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The overall experience of our four day stay was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed , the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. We have tried very hard to ensure that the property represents the true magic and spirit of Nepal and to make ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.

It is heartening to know that you liked most aspects of our infrastructure and our food and beverage offerings and also found our team friendly and helpful. Our service is our strength and your feedback encourages us to strive harder to create moment of delights for our guests.

The team look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all time.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its one of the best or rather excellent hotels to stay in Kathmandu. Its a 5 star hotel but if you compare the tarriffs then it is much cheaper compared to 5 star tariffs in other countries. Best location. a huge open area, beautifully made, Very good rooms, excellent service and great food. The choice of food is also pretty wide. Excellent halls for any corporate event. All in all the best hotel in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you get a garden view then it would further add to the experience
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for not only staying at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu but also sharing your experiences.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the services and facilities offered at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

Again thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu .

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,570 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#65 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,087 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#92 of 205 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#8 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,099 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#68 of 205 in Kathmandu
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $132 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing