We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #52 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Many of the hotels in Kathmandu are a little tired and the same has to be said of the Crowne Plaza Soaltee

The rooms are large but old fashioned. The shower over the bath with discoloured grouting and plastic shower curtain finishes off the outdated look. The club lounge was also only open from 6pm to 7.30pm

The staff were very very good, the food was also good.

The location was also good given that taxi's were easy to get and unless you stayed in the very centre of Thamel you have to get used to the congestion and the enormous pot holes.

If I were to go to Kathmandu again, I would recommend Dwarika Hotel but it is significantly more expensive in all areas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

While we always strive to deliver a perfect experience, I do apologize for your experience with the allocated room and the discomfort you faced during your stay.
We have noted your observations and are addressing the same. Please consider this to be an exception to our usually high standards. On the separate note, please be informed that we are carrying out an ongoing product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our guest.

We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    411
    128
    28
    12
See reviews for
135
212
66
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

First, the service from assistance at the cab stand, security at the door, bar service, meal service and room attendants was amazing. Truly amazing. Kuddos to the staff.

The rooms are large, and do provide you the open for some fresh air. Given the breezy conditions, I found the fresh air very nice in the evening. That combined with air con that was less than ideal made the window operation that much more appealing.

Room condition was good; they were a bit dated, but the mounted flat panel tv was a nice touch. Beds were very comfortable and selection of pillows was excellent. Internet however, both for charging 500 rupees per hour PER DEVICE along with power outages that occurred constantly, make utilizing the internet worthless at the hotel. That was very, very disappointing for a Crowne Plaza. Download speeds were far higher at restaurants such as Fire and Ice where wifi was free.

Food was good at all locations. My colleagues and I ate all restaurants on the property during our 10 day stay. Breakfast buffet really was amazing.

Also, make sure you ask for Mr. Sanjay as your taxi driver. He was both respectful, used the horn very little (trust me that comment will make sense when you arrive), and was a very courteous/safe driver.

All in all I would recommend the Crowne Plaza. Nice distance from Thamel (thankfully), and great property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the court yard and pool. Quite and great views of the sunset each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to write about it . Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu -a leader in excellence.
We have noted your feedback on the internet service and the same has been taken up with the team. We assure you that we will give this feedback the seriousness it deserves and will work on it.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager




















We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I reserved a 'club' room since the ad invited me to enjoy browsing the Internet in the exclusive club lounge. In fact, I had to pay extra, and the connection was painfully slow, even slower than at most other hotels in town. I had to argue with the front desk in order to ensure my breakfast was included.

On the positive side, it is one of the few hotels in town with an exercise room (not a priority for trekkers, but perhaps a requirement for some business travellers). I also had a QUIET, comfortable room.

Most of the guests seemed stressed by this hotel - but maybe I'm just projecting. The service is pretentious and overdone. It's a burden just to track down your luggage to get the porter to carry it to your room. Then, just try to get someone to collect your collect your luggage when you check out!

This is all very strange to me, since I know Nepal very well and its people are so charming! So, don't judge this wonderful country based on your experience at the Soaltee.

Room Tip: Don't believe the description of the rooms and services. This is a quiet location, far from ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepapedemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thanks so much for pointing out the disappointing aspects of our product and services. We are indeed very grateful to you because it is feedback like yours that allows us to evaluate the systems set in place and take corrective action where necessary. However, we are pleased to know that you found the room comfortable.
We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were choose the right choice to stay in Crowne Plaza Hotel, Kathmandu. Nice and clean hotel. Far away from the busy town,Tamel. ( only 10-15 minutes away ). Service here was good. Staff is helpful. House keeping was provided a good clean in our room during our stay. Breakfast here is the top with variety choices. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayEkkathattanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are very happy to know that you are delighted with our infrastructure. Our property represents the true magic and spirit of Nepal and to make ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.
Your feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard on exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Let's be honest: even the locals will readily admit that Kathmandu is "the worst place in Nepal". The day I arrived there was a strike, meaning it took 2 hours from airport to the Crowne Plaza, after which it was impossible to go anywhere in town. Our business meetings had to be held in the hotel, which was just fine, since it was positively the most peaceful, pleasant, visually appealing place I'd seen during my short visit to Kathmandu.

The comfortable lobby (indoor and outdoor) and large gardens make it a great place for a meeting - strike or no strike! The food in the restaurants (we ate at the lobby restaurant and Kakori, the Indian restaurant) was excellent (note: I love Indian food).

Internet was a bit touch-and-go and didn't work outside the main room/lobby areas. But it was never a real problem and besides, it was the best connectivity I found in Kathmandu!

The pool looked excellent although I didn't have time for a swim.

A few additional dollars invested and this would be a 5-star joint!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by our team.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again at Soaltee Crowne Plaza on your next visit to Kathmandu, Nepal.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fazilka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went on family vacation to Kathmandu with my parents to celebrate their 25th Anniversary this was the gift to my parents by me. I am so pleased that I choose hotel Soaltee for stay in Kathmandu. Kathmandu is a very nice place and is famous for temples- Pashupathinath temple and Baudhnath. The hotel made our stay memorable in Kathmandu.Special thanks to Bonas from nepalonsale.com who provided us a very good Nepal package at prices under our pockets
Soaltee hotel is rated 4 star hotel where you can experience the natural beauty of Nepal. The hotel‘s large landscaped grounds echo mountains beauty of Kathmandu valley. The hotel provides the cozy atmosphere with vibrant gardens surrounding open veranda. The hotel is located in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from places and temples of Durbar Square, 4 km from Pashupatinath temple and 3 km from Swayambhunath Stupa. We took taxi from outside hotel to visit these places at very cheap rates.

Hotel staff was friendly and efficient especially at the reception and on the door. We had very cozy check in process and were taken to our rooms. Rooms offered to has following features-

1. It has panoramic view of mountains and village.

2. It was quite spacious and elegantly furnished in the Nepali style.

3. It was provided with king size bed, sofa, wardrobes, TV etc.

4. Attached bathroom with hair drier and all useful toiletries.

5. AC was also there but not required at all.

The hotel also has swimming pool and massage centre. You enjoy floating in pool gazing the mountains. I also tried rejuvenating therapy in the massage centre which was very relaxing.

Quality of the food was very good especially Chinese food was amazing at the China Garden. My parents liked the Indian food in Indian restaurant Kakori. Breakfast was only served in buffet so no other option for breakfast.

We really enjoyed the hospitality of the hotel and highly recommend it as the luxurious stay in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank navita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.
It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.
We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think my review for this place would have been different if I had been traveling with someone but as I was traveling alone, I found the location of this hotel to be very difficult for me. It seemed to be away from the other hotels in the area and not near the city centre. The rooms, amenities, and service were good - as good as one would expect from a Crowne Plaza anywhere in the world but for the price I paid, I actually would've liked it to be even a bit nicer. The restaurant while yummy was pretty overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADesai90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu !

Thank you so much for the great and concise review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We agree that our Hotel is little away from the city. On the contrary, there is an easy access to world famous Swoyambhunath ( Monkey temple), other world heritage sites and city center via taxis and the location does offer a calm and serene atmosphere.
Beside location we hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#62 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#73 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing