We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #48 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Location”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think my review for this place would have been different if I had been traveling with someone but as I was traveling alone, I found the location of this hotel to be very difficult for me. It seemed to be away from the other hotels in the area and not near the city centre. The rooms, amenities, and service were good - as good as one would expect from a Crowne Plaza anywhere in the world but for the price I paid, I actually would've liked it to be even a bit nicer. The restaurant while yummy was pretty overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADesai90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu !

Thank you so much for the great and concise review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We agree that our Hotel is little away from the city. On the contrary, there is an easy access to world famous Swoyambhunath ( Monkey temple), other world heritage sites and city center via taxis and the location does offer a calm and serene atmosphere.
Beside location we hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    411
    128
    28
    12
See reviews for
135
212
66
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel; we stayed there for two nights. Breakfast buffet was exquisite. Hotel is isolated from the city noise and has nice peaceful surroundings. Room, bathroom, hotel lobby and restaurant were very comfortable, nicely maintained and decorated. Hotel staff gave us a great service. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remisza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

We are delighted to note that you found the hotel location very ideal with excellent rooms, Lobby Restaurants and friendly staff. It is our constant efforts to extend personalized services to our guests and it is always a pleasure to see that it is so well recognized.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was 2nd visit to Soaltee Crown plaza and it was very good experience ,ideal for both Tourist as well as Business People , If you are on vacation , you have very good campus and spoiled for options of resturant , you can spulge money in next door casino which assured great evening even if you are not gambler. If you are on business , then book for Club Rooms as you have access to lounge with Happy Hours option and condut your business without have office actually you save a lot if you are going to meet lots of people.The property is quite spacious and was informed that they recently redoing furniture which is still in great shape compared to other old hotels i visited. Ths hotel is ideally suited for conference packages as you can accomodate as much as people as you want and Hotel has choice of conference rooms which are quite spacious and well desiged for big meetings / functions.Staff is well trained and helpful and assures you pleasant stay , prices offered by Travel Desk as quite competitive for Airport Drop and local sight seeing and provide good vehilces you don't have to exxplore any further .
if you are longer stay ,carry handset so than you can use local Nepal number which is cheap for communication with local taxi operator in the event you get lost somewherre. If you are Hindu , then please attend aarti at 6 PM at Pashupatinath temple which is around 8 kms ( 30 mins) from hotel which is nice experience .

I would specially recommend the bar in the lobby which is open facing lawns ,you can have drinks and enjoy Hukka inthe evening or you can have sun bath in morning and just relax.

Over all Great place tostay in Kathmandu and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ufo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had stayed year last year and was right in staying here once again. Good Hotel, nice location and surroundings. Food is good and so is the breakfast.
Friendly staff , would come back next year again.I am a priority member was upgraded and even given a late check out which was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NimeshMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our product and services. We appreciate your continued loyalty towards IHG brand and let me assure you that it is our utmost focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I organised a conference for 200 people here, and stayed for a week. When you enter the hotel complex you might not be impressed as entrance to the complex is modest.
It's very well designed hotel with a big lawn between lobby area and pool. Every morning I loved walking in this lawn as grass had fresh dew. Rooms are spacious and prince wing has more modern rooms.
Staff is polite, eager to serve and always greeting with Namaste and Dhanyavad.
Fantastic Nepali, Indian and Italian food is available, I really enjoyed my dinners at Al Fresco (Italian).
Location is very peaceful, no traffic noise or any other sort of disturbance.

Overall, I have come back with great memories!

Room Tip: Rooms in Himalyan wings are old and quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you very much for showering such high praise on our infrastructure and our services.It brings us immense pleasure & delight that you have extended your gracious compliments to our team of associates. It is our constant efforts to extend personalized services to our guests and it is always a pleasure to see that it is so well recognized.
Corporate meetings are events that we always focus on.Your feedback convinced us that we are journeying in the right direction and encouraged us to continue our special efforts towards corporate events.

Please remember us for any future accommodation needs, we would love more opportunities of doing our best for you.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent three nights in the Crowne Plaza Hotel while touring the area of Kathmandu with a group of NU Alumni. This hotel was a survivor of the chaos of Nepal's civil war, and there were very few hotels to do so. Thus, this is the best hotel in the area, but that said, it is in need of refurbishing. Although the grounds, the lobby and dining areas are bright and clean, the rooms baths, and hallways need lots of work done to bring them back to a 4 or 5 star level. And new elevators are sorely needed. With the exception of the doormen, and one waiter, the staff seems unfriendly to the point of acting resentful if asked a question. The breakfasts in the main dining room, and the dinner served in the Chinese Restaurant on lobby level were very disappointing. However, there is no where else to stay when touring the Valley of Kathmandu.

Room Tip: This hotel has two elevators, and from all reports the rooms are all much the same. The air is terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you very much for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your experience thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our offerings.Your constructive feedback has given us plenty of insights on the areas we can further improve.
On the separate note, please be informed that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our valued guest.
Once again I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and take this opportunity to invite you back for your next lodging needs and experience the difference.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a wonderful first 3 nights there, however, our room was changed on the fourth night and it was soooo hot!!! they definitely have a problem with their air conditioning which in an asian country is super important. other than that, great place, good breakfast and dont use their travel agent. she is useless and overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

While we always strive to deliver a perfect experience, I do apologize for your experience with the AC blower and the discomfort you faced during your stay.
We have noted your observations and are addressing the same.Please consider this to be an exception to our usually high standards.

We’ll be honored if you could give us opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#62 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#72 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing