We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, bad a/c”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #50 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, bad a/c”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a wonderful first 3 nights there, however, our room was changed on the fourth night and it was soooo hot!!! they definitely have a problem with their air conditioning which in an asian country is super important. other than that, great place, good breakfast and dont use their travel agent. she is useless and overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

While we always strive to deliver a perfect experience, I do apologize for your experience with the AC blower and the discomfort you faced during your stay.
We have noted your observations and are addressing the same.Please consider this to be an exception to our usually high standards.

We’ll be honored if you could give us opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    402
    127
    26
    11
See reviews for
130
208
65
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was my first tour outside the country with my wife so wanted to make it a memorable one. After looking at all the reviews and consulting with our travel agent we finally decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. It took around 30-40 minutes drive from Tribhubhan International Airport to the hotel and is located in the city. One can easily move to all parts of the city from the hotel and is quiet convenient. After entering the hotel premises we were assured that what we have booked for our stay in Kathmandu is worth choosing.

Service: The service of the hotel in one word is superb! The all time smiley helpful staff with their traditional greetings "NAMASTE" whenever you pass or meet them is one thing which I will always remember. 24/7 service by the staff without any hesitation is what have made the hotel to go extra in delivering world class service. Whenever asked for anything we got it within a short period of time.

Rooms: The rooms are quiet spacious and well furnished with all the modern amenities like ironing, hair dryer, TV, freezer etc. The washroom was also well maintained and had all stuffs that were required. At first we took odd number rooms in the 4th floor facing the rear side of the hotel with mountain view. The problem was that the rear side of the hotel had diesel generators which were making sound (though at night it was ok). Then we asked for room change and were shifted to even number room in the same floor with front side of the hotel with garden and mountain view which was simply beautiful. But this room had some kind of smell but was handled by the house keeping service quiet well after complaining.

Food: Food specially the complementary breakfast was mind blowing. What not u have in the breakfast! Ranging from fresh juice, fruits, breads, salads, indian food like dosa,idli, sambar, western food like lemon fish, poridge, sausages, french toast, baked beans, soups, boiled/poached/omlette, cornflakes etc. It actually only a part of the items that I have mentioned here in breakfast. So the breakfast is one of the best thing that you will enjoy while staying in this hotel with some awesome view of the mountain if you sit outside the restaurant. Regarding lunch and dinner, we had complementary from the hotel casino which was also quiet good. Though the lunch and dinner did not offer such a variety like the breakfast but still were quiet good in quality. They also had few restaurants like Kakori, Alfresco and China Garden offering authentic Indian, Italian and Chinese cuisine but as we had complementary food in the casino so did not had the opportunity to taste the food in those restaurants.

Hotel interior and exterior: The hotel is built in a huge land with ample amount of greenery all around and had a garden view which is amazing. We stayed in the Himalayan wing of the hotel which provides good view of both garden and mountain. The pool side of the hotel also provides a relaxing environment (unfortunately the pool was under renovation and was scheduled to open within March '13). The reception and lobby area was quiet spacious with bright lights and giving a majestic ambiance of the hotel. Beside the lobby area is the Rodi bar which is also quiet nice. The hotels also had souvenir shops both inside and outside the hotel (but inside the hotel area) which offers quiet a variety of things to buy (though little expensive from the outside city shops. The hotel also have some tour operators who can provide good advice and at the same time arrange good sight seeing facilities though would cost a little higher.

Overall: All in all this hotel is recommended for any kind of trip (business, pleasure, etc) and is worth staying. Me and my wife really enjoyed our 3 nights stay at the oldest 5 star hotel in Kathmandu with some memorable experience to cherish through out our life :)

Room Tip: Go for higher floor. Go for even number rooms. Go for the front side with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaluddin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Soaltee Crowne Plaza.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your detailed feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in a club room at Soaltee. This hotel is a nice place to relax after all the great and fun hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. It is located about 15-20 min drive from Thamel area and approximately 45 min drive from the airport.

Room was nice and clean, although bathroom will need upgrading soon. Staff was very nice and helpful, breakfast great and lounge services (club room) very nice. Laundry services reasonably priced.

There is WiFi, but it is charged 1200 NPR/day++ (not 24 USD as indicated in some sources).
Unfortunately the connection is quite bad and felt a bit bad having to pay for that.
We mentioned this while checking out, but did not get any kind of response what so ever.

Tip: hotel cars operate the hotel area and charge 400 NPR for a ride to Thamel. If you wlk to the gate, you'll get a taxi for 200-250 NPR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed that the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.
It is heartening to know that you liked most aspects of our room and our food and beverage offerings and also found our team warm and helpful. The team is our strength and your feedback encourages us to strive harder to create moment of delights for our guests.
We have noted your feedback on our bathroom and internet services and are addressing the
same. On a separate note, please be informed about the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our valued guest.
My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

wow! a must come expression once you enter into the hotel.lovely green ground and well maintained .....such a preaceful place and the hotel stuffs are just a call away to help you out..the breakfast was mind blowing :)....ate with all herats content...it was our first trip(me and my hubby) and worth spending the money for this hotel.... i thank my hubby for choosing this hotel as i was not very sure where to stay due to the cost...he insisted and we stayed there and i just can say loved it!but there was a little thing...sometimes a bad smell was coming in the room.... they tried to fix it up but was not very effective,,, hope they will overcome it ! have seen highest number of white poeple coming and staying there.... wonderful !but there is generator noise in odd numbered rooms most probably... try to avoid those

Room Tip: even numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanakaislam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
676 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was on a business trip attending an international conference; the Hotel was the venue for the conference, hence I chose to stay in the hotel. I spent 3 nights at this hotel. The property is well maintained and is presented with a very nice garden to walk around in the morning. Though the property is several years old, it seems to be maintained well, barring the lamp shades in the room. The room is well appointed, spacious and is equipped with ample amenities. Though the charges for WiFi is bit expensive, it is worth paying for it as the data services on the mobile network is not consistent. I had food in the Indian restaurant as well the Chinese ; besides Fresco. The food is excellent. The staff at the hotel are very friendly. Currency exchange is 24x7, smooth , easy and professional. The rates across Kathmandu are same ( for INR), so its perfectly fine to buy NPR in the hotel. The hotel can organize a cab for you if you wish to go to Durbar square or anywhere; at reasonable rates. I hired the cab three times during my stay and every cab driver was courteous, pleasant and helpful. The Casino attached to the Hotel is a toy casino , nothing much of excitement out there. The shops around the hotel offer ample stuff for you to choose if you love shopping.
At about 130US$/night, breakfast included, airport transfer included, this is a great value for money ! Will sure stay in this hotel whenever I visit Kathmandu next !

Room Tip: The hotel is equipped with large diesel powered generators for mitigating the power outages. Avoid r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghuraman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience of a comfortable stay at our hotel. As you have noticed , the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the city. We ensure that the property represents the true magic and spirit of Nepal and ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.
We are very pleased & proud that you enjoyed the services and facilities offered at our hotel. It is definitely a goal of ours to “wow” all of our guests and provide the best value for their money. We have noted down your feedback on room lamb shades and are addressing the same.Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We look forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Manditatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Maybe because the atmosphere in Nepal was so friendly and calmer than in India (our previous destination) our arrival to this huge Hotel, with well kept gardens was a shocking surprise. Rooms are spacious, very comfortable and silent. Constant blackouts in Kathmandu are offset by the Hotel generators, and your experiences with lack of power are pretty short. It has a reasonable gym (below our expectations, but operational), several restaurants - specially the Italian in the outside, that offer all you may taste at very reasonable prices. Close to Hotel gate you also find many shops and tour agents (in case you want to arrange a flight around the Everest or a visit to some of the nice spots in the city surroundings). Staff is helpful and breakfast is outstanding. There is also a Casino very close. A very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Try not to be close to power generators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puhma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We are happy to note that our product and the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction.
It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent three nights at the Crowne Plaza Soaltee with a tour group and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a very large property with several different wings, a casino, and many other ammenities. The hotel is modern and well maintained and our room was quiet and comfortable. Kathmandu experiences frequent rolling blackouts, but the hotel has its own generators and is able to maintain power. However, probably because of the heavy use of generators the air conditioning did not work as well as I would have liked. I was so disappointed in the high cost of using wifi and the fact that although my messages went into my sent box they were never received. I don't know why this happened. There are several restaurants. We had a nice meal in the Italian restaurant and ate several times in the coffee shop, which had a very nice variety of menu items and very attentive service. The included breakfasts were very good and offered a wide selection of hot as well as cold items. We would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Soaltee to anyone whose travels take them to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

We are very happy to know that you are delighted with our infrastructure. We have tried our best to ensure that the property represents the true magic and spirit of Nepal and to make ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best. At the mean time , please be assured that we have noted down your feedback on air-conditioning and internet connection in your room and are addressing the same.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#69 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing