We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #47 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent three nights at the Crowne Plaza Soaltee with a tour group and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a very large property with several different wings, a casino, and many other ammenities. The hotel is modern and well maintained and our room was quiet and comfortable. Kathmandu experiences frequent rolling blackouts, but the hotel has its own generators and is able to maintain power. However, probably because of the heavy use of generators the air conditioning did not work as well as I would have liked. I was so disappointed in the high cost of using wifi and the fact that although my messages went into my sent box they were never received. I don't know why this happened. There are several restaurants. We had a nice meal in the Italian restaurant and ate several times in the coffee shop, which had a very nice variety of menu items and very attentive service. The included breakfasts were very good and offered a wide selection of hot as well as cold items. We would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Soaltee to anyone whose travels take them to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

We are very happy to know that you are delighted with our infrastructure. We have tried our best to ensure that the property represents the true magic and spirit of Nepal and to make ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best. At the mean time , please be assured that we have noted down your feedback on air-conditioning and internet connection in your room and are addressing the same.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    415
    131
    29
    13
See reviews for
140
217
69
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The room are clean , and most of the staff very friendly. The club is a joke (limited food selection , and a very very lasy waiter - on the contrary his subtitue is top) . Overall it was ok, but I would most likely not return here , even as a gold ambassador member. Don't stay have a room close to the generator, very noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid the one close to the generators (facing the mountains)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have noted your feedback on our Club Lounge Offerings and staff efficiency and the same has been taken up with the team. We assure you that we will give this feedback the seriousness it deserves and will work on it.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

We truly hope you will give us a chance to reinstill your confidence in our property and will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A nice property indeed but what's really amazing and something that makes this property stand out among other similar hotels are its excellent variety of restaurants. You can actually enjoy a different cuisine for each meal if you're spending 3-4 days in the property. The only little downside is its location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gshroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and especially enjoyed the food and beverage offerings.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu a leader in excellence.
We have also noted your feedback on the location of the hotel and agree that it is a little away from the city. On the contrary there is an easy access to "Swoyambhunath" (Monkey Temple), other "World Heritage" sites and the main city via taxis and the location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our very first time in Nepal.We were met at the airport by the agent and driver who took us to this hotel.The service is outstanding, inspired by the Nepalese charm and hospitality.The staff from the doorman, bellboy, and manager were wonderfully welcoming.Room is clean, well maintained and quiet. Breakfast is plentiful with an excellent variety and pancakes, noodles and eggs are made to order. There are also nice souvenir shops and diverse restaurants around.Now for the down side. If water from the shower gets onto the floor, it immediately collects. There is no drainage or outlet for water to flow out. The only thing is to mop it out with our bath towel after showering. It is also located a little distance off from the main areas. Our stay though is extremely satisfying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 646Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us recently with your family. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. It brings us immense pleasure & delight that you have extended your gracious compliments to our team of associates, who have been recognized for their hospitality, resourcefulness & warmth.

We have noted your feedback on the location of the hotel and agree that it is a little away from the city. On the contrary there is easy access to Swoyambhunath and the main city via taxis and the location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere. We have also noted your feedback on our bathroom and are addressing the same.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is probably one of the best hotels in Kathmandu, slightly away from the main attractions though. We stayed at this wonderful luxury hotel in September 2007. The hotel is very well maintained. Our room was quiet spacious with a double bed, sofas, reading table and chairs. The bed was very comfortable. The view from our room was marvellous. The hotel is very clean and tidy throughout. I really enjoyed their buffet breakfast as it was very good with lots of items to choose from. The garden’s landscape was nice with a big swimming pool in it. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubliahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel has lots of diverse restaurants and good amenities for visitors to feel comfortable. It id nice that you can walk down the street to stores if needed or enjoy a late night casino for entertainment.

The health club/gym is decent, but not the best or latest equipment. Decent Internet connection, but a little higher than normal price.

The one disappointment is how warm the rooms are in February. There is no air conditioning at this time of year and the rooms can get stuffy and as warm as 25 degrees Celsius if you leave the lights on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza !

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback about your experience.

Your analysis about our property and services made us aware about your satisfaction and dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our services.

Once again I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and take this opportunity to invite you back for your next lodging needs and experience the difference.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

a. Modern hotel with modern amenities.
b. Good breakfast spread and value for money.
c. However no free airport transfers or wi-fi.
d. Not suitable for business travel as located far-off from the main city.
e. Value for money for tourists travelling to Nepal.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfreak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and amenities offered. We have noted your feedback on the location of the hotel and agree that it is a little away from the city. On the contrary there is easy access to Swoyambhunath and the main city via taxis and the location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere.

The team at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,535 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,056 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#78 of 202 in Kathmandu
466 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,081 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#66 of 202 in Kathmandu
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing