We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern amenities, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #48 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed January 23, 2013

a. Modern hotel with modern amenities.
b. Good breakfast spread and value for money.
c. However no free airport transfers or wi-fi.
d. Not suitable for business travel as located far-off from the main city.
e. Value for money for tourists travelling to Nepal.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Travelfreak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and amenities offered. We have noted your feedback on the location of the hotel and agree that it is a little away from the city. On the contrary there is easy access to Swoyambhunath and the main city via taxis and the location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere.

The team at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 919 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

When I travel in Nepal on my own I prefer to stay in one of the small guest houses, but when I travel with a group of tourists, as a Tour Leader I have to make sure that everything runs smoothly, so I stay at the Soaltee and I always feel at home. The staff are always genuinely friendly and we all feel very welcome.
The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the food great. The garden is also wonderful; it's like an oasis in central Kathmandu, just a 20-minute walk from Durbar Square!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Soaltee Crowne Plaza.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our product and services rendered. Your feedback on our team member is indeed very encouraging to keep working hard on exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Loved our two-night stay here. Good food, some nice shops on the property without overly-aggressive sales people. Comfortable, clean and quiet room. Only unhappy surprise was that smoking is still allowed indoors in places in the hotel - not pleasant, but then again, not much worse than the air in the rest of Kathmandu. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Close to city and Durbar Square, Patan City, stupas, etc. Loved all the flowers in bowls around the property.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissSeaweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you so much for the great and concise review!
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having just trekked to Everest Base camp, an incredible experience but mentally and physically demanding, we felt we deserved a little comfort. We don't usually go for big chain hotels, but knew from how we felt after climbing Kilimanjaro that the only way to guarantee a decent bed and much needed supply of hot water is to 'suck it up' and go for this type of hotel. We chose the Crowne Plaza over The Hyatt on price and the fact that they were prepared to put our daughter in the room with us, which again kept costs down.
The grounds are beautiful and with a Hindu wedding going on whilst we were there, we saw how creatively the space can be used.
Room was comfortable and there was always hot water and a flushing loo! Such a treat after trekking.We had breakfast twice and also sampled 2 of the restaurants. The food was excellent. Yes it is expensive compared to eating in Thamel but not extortionate even comparing to the South African rand.
Treatments in the beauty salon were on special offer and certainly incredibly reasonable. So we could enjoy some welcome pampering after our exertions.
Staff were friendly and helpful. I think it was the first time they had been asked to track down Chabad in Kathmandu as we wanted to attend a Friday evening Sabbath service. They also helped us with our online check in and double checked our flight times which had changed since we had booked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

Please allow us to showcase our warm hospitality to you and your near ones, again soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nested well within the city, it manages to be away from the hustle bustle (3Km) , spread over a large green well landscaped ground with the surrounding mountains offering a very peaceful view. The rooms are both old and new - the hotel goes back many years. Ask for the rooms with Verandahs (Balcony). Service / Breakfast / Amenities etc are good but follow a leisurely pace. 'China Garden' does serve some very delectable and authentic Chinese cusine. The are other choices - Italian, Indian, Tibetan etc which are also easily available. The Casino is located at the back of the hotel mainly for tourists - lively on weekend nights. With a large grand conference hall, well spread open grounds, a service oriented staff - the hotel is very friendly for large groups and events. Some of the best launch events and high end weddings are held here regularly

Room Tip: Ask for gate view or mountain view rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztec05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed that the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.
We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed in this wonderful friendly hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is a retreat from the bustling city. We enjoyed all aspects including the rooms, food services, location and a real plus was the wonderfully friendly service from everyone we encountered. Yes Wifi is expensive, but acceptable. We enjoyed the breakfasts and dining in the hotel and the restaurant 'attached' to the hotel as well. Just outside the hotel property there is friendly fair tourist shopping available as well. Well worth your consideration when staying in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.


Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and the accommodation is definitely not equivalent to what you would pay for in other countries. Rooms are dated. Wifi is expensive. Breakfast is okay. Staff service is average. I would recommend the Hyatt, which is in the same price range, over Crowne Plaza.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are thankful to you for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our offerings.

We have taken note of your comments that you found the room assigned to you was not satisfactory as you found it little old. Whilst we continue to receive generally very positive feedback from our guest about our product and services, it is very unfortunate that on this incident, we have failed to meet your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our discerning guests.
We have also noted your feedback on charges of our offerings and would like to share that our prices are competitive vis-à-vis similar standard hotels. As a hotel, we just do not provide a product but also an experience and a level of quality that is expected from Crowne Plaza Hotels.

The team at the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience with upgraded room category on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,570 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#65 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#92 of 205 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#8 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,099 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#68 of 205 in Kathmandu
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $132 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing