We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Nearby Hotels
$140
$123
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
$159
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$121
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$105
$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$22
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$285
$240
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveler rating
362
448
142
35
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
448
142
35
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal frescochina gardengarden terraceindian restaurantduty managerswimming poolold wingnice poolroom servicebreakfast buffetbit datedbeautiful propertythe hotel staffcomfortable stayfront officehouse keepingrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

When I travel in Nepal on my own I prefer to stay in one of the small guest houses, but when I travel with a group of tourists, as a Tour Leader I have to make sure that everything runs smoothly, so I stay at the Soaltee and I always feel at home. The staff are always genuinely friendly and we all feel very welcome.
The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the food great. The garden is also wonderful; it's like an oasis in central Kathmandu, just a 20-minute walk from Durbar Square!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Soaltee Crowne Plaza.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our product and services rendered. Your feedback on our team member is indeed very encouraging to keep working hard on exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Loved our two-night stay here. Good food, some nice shops on the property without overly-aggressive sales people. Comfortable, clean and quiet room. Only unhappy surprise was that smoking is still allowed indoors in places in the hotel - not pleasant, but then again, not much worse than the air in the rest of Kathmandu. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Close to city and Durbar Square, Patan City, stupas, etc. Loved all the flowers in bowls around the property.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissSeaweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you so much for the great and concise review!
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having just trekked to Everest Base camp, an incredible experience but mentally and physically demanding, we felt we deserved a little comfort. We don't usually go for big chain hotels, but knew from how we felt after climbing Kilimanjaro that the only way to guarantee a decent bed and much needed supply of hot water is to 'suck it up' and go for this type of hotel. We chose the Crowne Plaza over The Hyatt on price and the fact that they were prepared to put our daughter in the room with us, which again kept costs down.
The grounds are beautiful and with a Hindu wedding going on whilst we were there, we saw how creatively the space can be used.
Room was comfortable and there was always hot water and a flushing loo! Such a treat after trekking.We had breakfast twice and also sampled 2 of the restaurants. The food was excellent. Yes it is expensive compared to eating in Thamel but not extortionate even comparing to the South African rand.
Treatments in the beauty salon were on special offer and certainly incredibly reasonable. So we could enjoy some welcome pampering after our exertions.
Staff were friendly and helpful. I think it was the first time they had been asked to track down Chabad in Kathmandu as we wanted to attend a Friday evening Sabbath service. They also helped us with our online check in and double checked our flight times which had changed since we had booked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

Please allow us to showcase our warm hospitality to you and your near ones, again soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nested well within the city, it manages to be away from the hustle bustle (3Km) , spread over a large green well landscaped ground with the surrounding mountains offering a very peaceful view. The rooms are both old and new - the hotel goes back many years. Ask for the rooms with Verandahs (Balcony). Service / Breakfast / Amenities etc are good but follow a leisurely pace. 'China Garden' does serve some very delectable and authentic Chinese cusine. The are other choices - Italian, Indian, Tibetan etc which are also easily available. The Casino is located at the back of the hotel mainly for tourists - lively on weekend nights. With a large grand conference hall, well spread open grounds, a service oriented staff - the hotel is very friendly for large groups and events. Some of the best launch events and high end weddings are held here regularly

Room Tip: Ask for gate view or mountain view rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztec05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed that the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.
We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed in this wonderful friendly hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is a retreat from the bustling city. We enjoyed all aspects including the rooms, food services, location and a real plus was the wonderfully friendly service from everyone we encountered. Yes Wifi is expensive, but acceptable. We enjoyed the breakfasts and dining in the hotel and the restaurant 'attached' to the hotel as well. Just outside the hotel property there is friendly fair tourist shopping available as well. Well worth your consideration when staying in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.


Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews