We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$81
Hotels.com$81
Expedia.com$81
Travelocity$81
eDreams$81
Trip.com$137
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,278 results
Traveler rating
556
507
157
38
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
556
507
157
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden terrace duty manager swimming pool star hotel room service bit dated breakfast spread the hotel staff new wing front office comfortable stay excellent hotel monkey temple durbar square property ihg indian
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 1,278 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Loved our two-night stay here. Good food, some nice shops on the property without overly-aggressive sales people. Comfortable, clean and quiet room. Only unhappy surprise was that smoking is still allowed indoors in places in the hotel - not pleasant, but then again, not much worse than the air in the rest of Kathmandu. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Close to city and Durbar Square, Patan City, stupas, etc. Loved all the flowers in bowls around the property.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissSeaweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at The Soaltee Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you so much for the great and concise review!
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having just trekked to Everest Base camp, an incredible experience but mentally and physically demanding, we felt we deserved a little comfort. We don't usually go for big chain hotels, but knew from how we felt after climbing Kilimanjaro that the only way to guarantee a decent bed and much needed supply of hot water is to 'suck it up' and go for this type of hotel. We chose the Crowne Plaza over The Hyatt on price and the fact that they were prepared to put our daughter in the room with us, which again kept costs down.
The grounds are beautiful and with a Hindu wedding going on whilst we were there, we saw how creatively the space can be used.
Room was comfortable and there was always hot water and a flushing loo! Such a treat after trekking.We had breakfast twice and also sampled 2 of the restaurants. The food was excellent. Yes it is expensive compared to eating in Thamel but not extortionate even comparing to the South African rand.
Treatments in the beauty salon were on special offer and certainly incredibly reasonable. So we could enjoy some welcome pampering after our exertions.
Staff were friendly and helpful. I think it was the first time they had been asked to track down Chabad in Kathmandu as we wanted to attend a Friday evening Sabbath service. They also helped us with our online check in and double checked our flight times which had changed since we had booked.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at The Soaltee Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

Please allow us to showcase our warm hospitality to you and your near ones, again soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nested well within the city, it manages to be away from the hustle bustle (3Km) , spread over a large green well landscaped ground with the surrounding mountains offering a very peaceful view. The rooms are both old and new - the hotel goes back many years. Ask for the rooms with Verandahs (Balcony). Service / Breakfast / Amenities etc are good but follow a leisurely pace. 'China Garden' does serve some very delectable and authentic Chinese cusine. The are other choices - Italian, Indian, Tibetan etc which are also easily available. The Casino is located at the back of the hotel mainly for tourists - lively on weekend nights. With a large grand conference hall, well spread open grounds, a service oriented staff - the hotel is very friendly for large groups and events. Some of the best launch events and high end weddings are held here regularly

Room tip: Ask for gate view or mountain view rooms
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztec05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at The Soaltee Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed that the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.
We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed in this wonderful friendly hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is a retreat from the bustling city. We enjoyed all aspects including the rooms, food services, location and a real plus was the wonderfully friendly service from everyone we encountered. Yes Wifi is expensive, but acceptable. We enjoyed the breakfasts and dining in the hotel and the restaurant 'attached' to the hotel as well. Just outside the hotel property there is friendly fair tourist shopping available as well. Well worth your consideration when staying in Kathmandu.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at The Soaltee Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.


Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and the accommodation is definitely not equivalent to what you would pay for in other countries. Rooms are dated. Wifi is expensive. Breakfast is okay. Staff service is average. I would recommend the Hyatt, which is in the same price range, over Crowne Plaza.

Date of stay: December 2012
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at The Soaltee Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are thankful to you for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our offerings.

We have taken note of your comments that you found the room assigned to you was not satisfactory as you found it little old. Whilst we continue to receive generally very positive feedback from our guest about our product and services, it is very unfortunate that on this incident, we have failed to meet your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our discerning guests.
We have also noted your feedback on charges of our offerings and would like to share that our prices are competitive vis-à-vis similar standard hotels. As a hotel, we just do not provide a product but also an experience and a level of quality that is expected from Crowne Plaza Hotels.

The team at the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience with upgraded room category on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews