We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #47 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had stayed here to celebrate new year eve and had a blast during my one night stay here. had booked club room with the facility of club lounge with mind blowing treatment of food and wine. room is good with every amenity u r looking for service is just amazing too and vicinity of hotel is just fantastic and iam sure will plan for my next stay here very soon.

Room Tip: book club room to get the excess of club lounge to treat urself with good food and drink of ur desir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhuwannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Bhuwannp

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the services and the amenities offered to you as our privileged Club Room guest and our gala New Year Event.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu - Soaltee on your next visit to Kathmandu, Nepal.

Warm regards
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    415
    131
    29
    13
See reviews for
140
217
69
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Let's face it, Kathmandu is not normally a place you would go to looking for some of the finer hotels in Asia. Most are old, badly managed or beset by inefficiency.

The Crowne Plaza is not a new property and I believe it was recently refurbished. The coffee shop now looks a lot nicer than a year ago, and the food is really good. You look forward to getting up early to hit the lavish buffet breakfast.

The service overall is good, with attentive staff easily dispensing 'Namaste' as you pass them. They are helpful when they need to be. However, as with so many hotels in South Asia, their problem-solving skills are below standard and they require plenty of time and patience to do things outside their usual routine. Holding an event here is still a challenge as holding one in all Nepal hotels.

The rooms are nice according to the Crowne Plaza, but no mini-bar, which was a surprise. Otherwise, everything works well., and the room has a very good TV screen and channel selection.

This place is a far from the airport, so allow sufficient time to get there. The area surrounding it is, well, sort of a mess. But this is Kathmandu, where pockets of grandeur exist amongst a sprawling, busy city. I like the Crowne Plaza for a restful stay in Kathmandu. It is one of the better accommodations in the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Chattan

Thank you for sharing your feedback !

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and especially enjoyed the food and beverage offerings, ambience and service of our new coffee shop. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to write about it.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm regards
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Most rude, arrogant, antagonistic desk staff I have ever dealt with. I experienced three arguments with staff. The first regarding extending my stay an extra day. I checked with four different staff members over a period of three days to make sure arrangements had been made. I was told no problem. Not one of them actually did anything. I was called the last day and asked why I was still there, and told I would be charged a higher rate for that day because I had not made arrangements. The second involved the plumber. The toilet in my room would flood to the top, but not flush. He told me that the handle needed to be pushed again when it reached flood stage and then it would work. All the toilets were like that, he said, and acted like I was crazy. I started using the toilet in the lobby, which ironically did not flood. The third involved my last meal; I was part of a group that had arranged for our meals to be provided. I went to the lunch room with other group members. The waiter tried to charge me without telling me, because they considered me no longer part of the group since I stayed an extra day. No need to tell me that, no apologies for misunderstandings. Instead, they yell at me in the lobby "What part of English do you not understand?" A fourth incident involved an unusually high credit card charge I received later for a phone call I had made, but they simply chose not to respond to any of my communications asking for clarification.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Thom64,

Thank you for your review. We would like to follow up with you on your experiences at the hotel.
I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your stay.
I look forward to hearing from you and of being of further assistance,
Thank you,

^Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is the best hotel in the region , all services are of top quality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habibrahmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Habibrahmat

Thank you for spending time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel, and your satisfaction with our services.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Kathmandu, you will give us an opportunity to extend our warm welcome back to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathamandu - Soaltee.

Warm regards,

Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This dated hotel is stretched in many ways, the building facilites and the staff!
we had rented the seminar room for 2 weeks and we were told to clear out by 5 pm sharp because there was another function in the same room. Our group of 40 had to collect all their belongings and just move!
The staff is stretched because there are so many guests. they are willing to help but are raced off their feet. rudeness has been experienced as well!
Finally the hotel rooms need refurbishment badly, seems to be overdue
Recommend another 5 star hotel in town!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaohuPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Laohu Basel

We are thankful to you for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our services.

Please be informed that we are in the process of upgrading our facilities to provide experience and a level of quality that is expected from Crowne Plaza Hotels.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Kathmandu.

Warm regards
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I just came back from Kathmandu today and I would like to complain about your reception staff Binod Khanal.

As a cabin crew, we are given the chance to stay at your hotel with free breakfast and free internet inside the crew lounge. However, everytime I check-in these layover hotels I prefer to have my own internet connection in the room even if I have to pay for it. What I didn't like though was that I was charged twice in 1 day for 24hour usage of this wifi.

Money is never a problem for me. What upsets me most was that your staff, Mr. Khanal, was very hostile and unaccommodating to this issue. I asked him why I have been charged twice when our stay was even less than 24 hours. He said that the procedure is that you will be charged for every device that you use to connect to the internet. I told him I was not informed about this and it wasn't even stated at your hotel's website. I used both my laptop and my iphone to connect to the internet. He simply dismissed it by saying that this is how it's always been and he said he'll just forward it to the management. This staff didn't even show any concern at all and he was really rude. He even told me smugly, "you should've just used the crew lounge."

Having heard this, I simply gave him my credit card instead of the cash that I was holding which was amounting to how much I thought my bill was in Nepalese Rupee. He swiped my card and punched in the bill total of NPR 4325.64 ( NPR1360 charged twice for the 24hour internet, NPR950 for room service minus NPR190 crew discount, plus service charge and 13%VAT). He didn't even try to comprehend how unreasonable the situation was. He wasn't even facing me properly that's why I wasn't able to get his complete name. I was really upset with how disrespectful he has been.

Another thing, around an hour before I checked out I decided to avail the free breakfast buffet in the hotel. In the middle of breakfast, everyone could hear one of the guests shouting in front of the reception area and I saw where that man was standing: In front of exactly the same spot I was in when I checked out, most probably in front of the very same staff I'm complaining about.

Working before as a front desk receptionist, I am familiar with the hotel system and I know that he could have done something else to pacify me as a guest. He could have emphatized with me at the very least. Perhaps being a crew member did not earn me any respect since we were staying at your hotel for a discounted rate unlike other paying guests.

All in all I could say your hotel has improved as compared from my last stay, especially the Garden Terrace breakfast buffet. However, this incident has dampened what could have been a much better layover. I hope you can do something about your internet policy and I certainly hope you could give your receptionist some advice on how to treat your guest properly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank clouds f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Clouds f

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback about your experience.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay. Please be assured the same has been shared with the team for further improvement on what went wrong and re-train our team members, if that need arises.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Kathmandu.

Warm regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHAKA, BANGLADESH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

we enjoyed the stay there. the food served in the dinner & lunch was good, but we didn't get any variety throughout our 3days stay. the cultural performance was quite enjoyable. we just felt like staying more days......:)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MORSHEDULMANNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,529 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,057 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#77 of 201 in Kathmandu
465 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,079 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#64 of 201 in Kathmandu
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing