We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines Dinner”

The Heritage Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #314 of 714 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Valentines Dinner”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had our Valentines Dinner here on our 1st Anniversary. Excellent food and services. The band was 'rockin' and played my special request 'I'm Yours' for my special lady. Fantastic atmosphere and the Boss/Owner is a super cool guy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Most Under-Rated Restaurant in Nepal”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Located in the heart of Thamel, in a Heritage-listed, Newari-style building is the Heritage Restaurant. Enter the building thru an archway off of the street and take an immediate right and begin climbing up the 100 or so stairs (no lift) to this roof-top gem. **plenty of indoor or outdoor seating-your call depending on weather**

It is our favourite spot for dinner as there are so many choices for food and ambiance. We prefer to sit up on the very top of the already high-perched outdoor dining area as it commands such an amazing view of the surrounding cluster of buildings, terraces, balconies and apartments. (keep an eye out for the Monkeys that swing past on their nightly run to steal food and goodies from unsuspecting households and businesses- but they won't bother you at Heritage....usually)

The menu range is superb with authentic Newari dishes offered right along with caesar salad (have it with chicken), or my choice most nights: beef tenderloin with mashed potatoes, mushroom gravy and extra (steamed) vegetables $6! Give the desserts and coffee here a pass though and head over to Himalayan Java (5 min walk) for an Affogato and some cafe goodies after your amazing dinner.

There are many amazing staff members here but these 3 really try hard to make your experience a good one. They are an asset to the place and I miss their kind hospitality, extended to us over a couple of months earlier this year. They are......(in no order): Dilip, Umesh & Sudip. YOU THREE ROCK!

If you find yourself in Kathmandu, go here. You will really love it. (Arrive before 6:30pm and you can have the place a llllllll to yourself usually) Or during the day it is completely deserted usually...

HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“NEW MENU?”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Yep. The Heritage Kitchen and Bar also has a new chef and a lot going for it. Heritage is based in a lovely Newari-styled building in the heart of Thamel. The new menu features Nepali/Newari, Thai and Continental dishes, but is not overwhelming.

On this lovely Sunday afternoon, my wife and I parked ourselves at a table on Heritage’s outdoor terrace overlooking the street. We were just looking for a snack and ordered appetizers – a Heritage platter and plain lentil bean cake. The platter was a small assortment of grilled meats seasoned Newari style. Of all the items on the platter the chicken and local sausage were particularly tasty. The service was businesslike and effective.

As we only sampled a few items on the new menu, this review is more about Heritage’s potential. However, based on our experience, we’ll be back for dinner soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best restaurant so far - authentic Thai Nepali and Western food in the heart of Thamel”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We ate here the first time and will keep coming back . Reasonable prices, great service and most of all great food . Better than the usual guidebook recommendations

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Odette_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Gillis-Waas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place you have to visit.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Freshly and delicious meals are served over here. The restaurant is breathing Newar. You can not only chooce Thai, Chinese, Indian or Western style of meals, but also very delicious Nepali dishes. Nepali/Newar meals you will not find elsewhere.This place is worth to call " The Heritage kitchen and bar". The restaurant is situated on the roof top, but before you go up, do visit the shops on the ground floor. You will find there better souvenirs than in the rest of Thamel. This is a place for every type of costumer. Groups who came back from trekking, expeditions or other big or small adventures can ask for a room where they can share there pix while having a great time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_van_den_Berghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heritage Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to The Heritage Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing