We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast
patan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at Sagarmatha for 2 months in late 2012.
The location is ideal for anyone working or spending a significant time in 'Kathmandu'. Technically the apartments are in Patan, south of the river from Kathmandu, and therefore more peaceful and not touristy. Sanepa is a very secure spot, an area of foreign embassies, INGOs, residences and schools.
The apartment is walking distance to Pulchowk and Patan durbar square, the International club and other sports and social facilities, with views of the mountains on clear days and of Swayambhunath daily.
Gyanman and his family provide seamless service, uninterrupted by the load shedding schedule. Single, double and three bedroom apartments are available and housekeeping attends everyday ensuring high levels of cleanliness.
Breakfast each day is fresh and varied, unlike many hotel buffets, and brought to your room.
Wifi is available throughout the building with back up wirelss dongles available from reception when the modem fails.
The laundry service returns clothes within a couple of days unless a speedier return is requested.
Each apartment is equipped with tea making and basic cooking facilities, including a fridge, should you not want to eat out, though there are Korean and Japanese restaurants within 2 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Since the apartment is off the main road, no side is particularly quieter than another. the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyanman, Owner at Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Respected Ms Saeeda Sirene B.,

We are very please to have you with us. We always wish you stay with us long and Just want to let you know " We are always looking forward to welcome you at our door step. We miss you and We would like to show our sincere thank for your wonderful review. As you know, we love this job and This is our kind a temple and guest are our god. we do worship everyday to make all our guest happy. Truly this is our life".

Once again thank you very much for your kind business and support towards our SAGARMATHA APARTMENT BED & BREAKFAST.

WISH YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL LIFE.

THANKING YOU.

SAGARMATHA MANAGMENT TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
13
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at Sagarmatha for 7 months, almost all the time I was living and working in Kathmandu, and I was sorry to leave it at the end of my stay in Nepal. The apartment was well-situated with fine views, and well-furnished; and if occasionally some little thing did not work, the staff were always quick to repair it and get it going again. They also cooked very good breakfasts, delivered hot to the apartment, and in many other ways, too, they were very friendly and extremely helpful. The surrounding area, Sanepa, is also very pleasant and well-served with shops and restaurants. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone to stay at Sagarmatha, whether for a long stay or a short one.

JamesK

Room Tip: Top floor and looking N over the city to the Himalayas for a fine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Dear all,

For about six weeks (due to work for the ILO) I stayed at the apartment 22 on the top floor and it was very pleasant. Clean, proper, well equipped, good kitchen, great bed and beutiful views also. Moreover the family is extremely friendly and accommodating. The place is very well recommended. Enjoy it and thanks to the owners !

Best regards Ronald

Room Tip: For me, the higher the better. But I have not seen the other apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronaldernestberghuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyanman, Owner at Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Respected Mr Ronald Ernest Berghuys,

First of all we would like to show our sincer thank you for your kind review on tripadvisor. We are very thankful to Mr Rum Gurung, Who recommend you about us. Also would like to let you know that, we always looking forward your next vist to us. Each and everytime, we are updateing our property each and everyday to make sure our guest feel comfortable with that.

Wish you have a wonderful and hope to see you soon.

Thanking You.

Sagarmatha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent two months in a three bedroom apartment with two other interns. We very much appreciated all the services provided and the friendly staff made it feel like home. The space is kept very clean and all the furniture was comfortable.

The only concerns were the lack of privacy of the three bedrooms, as you had to walk through one bedroom to get to another. This would not be a problem for a family or for good friends. Also, the tempo service to Kathamndu was irregular, making it difficult to get to work on time.

The apartment is located in a great area. There are many great restaurants, bakeries, and small shops all within walking distance and it is a very expat-friendly area, so you are able to find all the items you may be searching.

I really can't emphasize enough how friendly, warm, welcoming, and helpful Gyanman and his family and staff are. They are terrific people and I'm so happy to have met them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorganneKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I enjoyed very much the month I spent there, everyone was nice, helpful ans friendly. The only disadvantage was, in my opinion, the lack of intimacy between the three bedrooms and the location of the place; it was indeed difficult to reach the city center with tempos, due to the low frequency of the vehicles in the neighbourhood, making us take taxis.
Anyway, very good place, I advise it to anyone who wishes to spend à long time in Nepal!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naci_hello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had an excellent three week stay at the Sagarmatha Apartment Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were clean, the service excellent, and the breakfasts delicious. The apartment is located within walking distance of numerous restaurants and shops, and Patan's Durbar Square. Gyanman and his family were extremely helpful in facilitating visits around Kathmandu. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here for about two weeks. Gyanman and his family really took care of us. Everything, from the breakfast to the cleanliness to Gyanman's genuine care for our welfare was fantastic. The apartment is not too close to any sights. However, there are good places to eat nearby, and it is a fantastic place for a longer stay when you need a home base. My oops on the pool rating. There is no pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkanaganJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyanman, Owner at Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear REspected Mr Jhon Janmaat,

Thank you very much for your review. We rally appricate your valuable time you spend to write review on tripadvisor. Sorry the pool is seperat buiness. Is is next to our property. But we do have pool table as you know for our guest for little entertainment.

Looking forward your next visit soon.

thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#27 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ward-2, Sanepa | Lalitpur, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at SAGARMATHA APARTMENT BED & BREAKFAST don't just provide you with ready to check in service apartment units, but strive our best to create and deliver a customized, hassle-free, and homely living experience for you. Our Apartment offerings are as mentioned below. *FULL SERVICE APARTMENTS* We also provide bigger suite apartments with 2 or 3 bedroom, private /Attached bathrooms, living room, kitchen and dinning, balcony, terrace garden with a lawn. All our service apartment units are furnished and has attached bathroom, equipped kitchenette, wooden parquet flooring, whereas most units have a balcony and huge windows to assure maximum inflow of fresh air and light. *LOCATION*We are ideally located in Jhamshikhel Road, Pulchowk (Just opposite of DAN RAN Japanese Restaurant and just behind of VESPER WINE HOUSE) which is a safe and convenient neighborhood with many international organization including the United Nations head office located in a walking distance.About 5 minutes’ walk around and one can find above 30 different Restaurants/cafes/ serving various cuisines, Lounges/Bars/Wine Houses, numerous supermarkets, (convenience/grocery/Fresh-veggie/ bakery) Stores, hospitals/Pharmacies, Banks/ATM lounge, Child Play school/ Day care center, Travel agency, Hair Saloon, Tailor, Fitness center (Gymnasium, aerobics, yoga, massage) , Easy Access to public transport facilities or 24 hours stand-by taxi service and many more.Actually, everything that one requires for a comfortable stay is available just few steps away. *APARTMENT AMENITIES*• Fully Furnished Apartment Units, (Each and every units has own private: Living Room, Kitchen, Bathroom with shower, Bed room with Q.S. Bed/Twin Bed and Balcony).• Assured Back-up supply for Lights, Satellite TV, and other Gadgets at all times.• Paid Utilities: Electricity, Wireless Internet, LP-Gas and H/C Water• Self-Cooking or Cook Facilities, Refrigerator, Oven, Cookery & Cutlery.• Communication Services(Local/STD/ISD Calls) and Postal Services.• In-Premises Security Guards with CCTV Surveillance for all common areas.• Laundry/Dry Cleaning, House-Keeping and Maid Service.• Vehicle On-hire, Domestic/International Flight Ticketing, and Airport Transfer.• On-Call services (Medical, Massage, Beautician, Baby-sitting. etc.)We always think for your comfortable stay with us. For your comfort with us we will do all necessary work. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sagarmatha Apartment Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing