We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWARI SNACKS”

Bhumi Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #135 of 732 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Nepali, Indian, Bar, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Best for Nepali and Newari Cuisine
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“NEWARI SNACKS”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Bhumi is another watering hole along Lazimpat in Kathmandu. Near the French Embassy, Bhumi’s menu sports a representative variety of Nepali/Newari snacks and main dishes. A recent addition to the menu also includes some sandwiches and continental fare.

On a Friday evening, Bhumi is hopping. Locals and expats swarm to the establishment’s comfortable lounge-like atmosphere. However, on this lovely November afternoon, my wife and I chose a spot on the outdoor patio behind Bhumi. We had dinner plans in the evening so we only wanted a snack.

Bhumi does Newari food well and that’s just what we ordered. Several other couples and groups arrived as we enjoyed our lunch. Bhumi is a nice place to hang out. The staff is friendly and efficient and the comfy chairs encourage inertia.

If you want to have a beer and sample Newari cuisine, Bhumi is a good place to do just that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nothing special! :(”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

started with mock tail in strawberry flavour & it was too good. The newari dishes: mixed bara, chatamari, etc were not good. Bara was overcooked. Food was not so tasty. The music was loud and there was lots of noise. The restaurant was not so clean as well.

Helpful?
Thank Everest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bhumi with Friends”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Bhumi is situated in Lazimpat just about 50 meters away from the Shangrila Hotel. The decor and the ambience is fantastic with the the restaurant having concertina doors which can open up to let the breeze in. It has a beautiful courtyard too where one can relax if there isn't too much sun. This little hideaway is great for lunches and dinners as their menus serves excellent Indian, Nepali and Newari food. The service is prompt and the food is impressive and of great value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NimaLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Newari food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you want a proper place to sit and enjoy your Newari food (unlike the small shops in Patan's Krishna Galli), then the is is your go-to place. The prices are reasonable and they do serve other Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes (passable). But Their array of Newari dishes are nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gurung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bhumi is a must!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was in Kathmandu in May with my husband. Currently the city is under construction so it's difficult to walk around and meander. On our first night in the city we left the hotel in search of dinner, we happened to meet an expat just outside that suggested we try Bhumi. We are so happy that we took his advise. Bhumi is just off Lazimpath Road but there is a red and white sign on the main road. The food and service here were incredible. They have a really nice cozy garden patio in the back. They serve up a variety of local specialties. Everything was fresh, delicious and clean. We loved it so much that we went back a second time. Go to Bhumi, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topperllett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhumi Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Bhumi Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing