We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best coffee in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saigon Pho

Saigon Pho
Ranked #80 of 715 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best coffee in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

i live here in the neighborhood and discovered this place a couple weeks ago. very good food, big portions, nice atmosphere, friendly staff but what i really wanna point out is the vietnamese coffee with condensed milk. excellent. take the flan as well, will make you very happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raphael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We are in town for a short trip and LOVE Saigon Pho! Everything we have tried has been delicious! The wait staff is quick and attentive, and the owner is very kinda and a pleasure to talk to! The flan is fantastic! Don't leave without trying it!

Helpful?
Thank montez7417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great, Cheap Vietnamese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I am currently renting an apartment in Lazimpat and came across this restaurant while exploring the area, and have been there twice in the last few days. It has a decent selection of vegetarian dishes, and they are very inexpensive. I got a big plate of food for only 3 USD, and it tastes delicious. The staff is friendly and I will definitely be going back many times during my stay here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good food, we really enjoyed our lunch and that's what matters. Pho (noodles) portion was big, good for sharing. Ambiance is okay. I felt it a bit pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
205 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Huge and delicious Vietnamese soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Saigon quality this is not, but it would be a tall order. As it is, the food at this friendly and pleasant restaurant opposite the Shangri La hotel is overall good, and the pho (Vietnamese noodle soups) are just wonderful. They're huge too, two people could easily share one bowl. I would also particularly recommend the green papaya salad. And try the Vietnamese coffee, which percolates in front of you and comes with condensed milk: surprisingly good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cloudtail10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Pho also viewed

Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Saigon Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing