We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erratic”
Review of Saigon Pho

Saigon Pho
Ranked #81 of 765 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Erratic”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Menu is nice, especially coffee and traditional Vietnamese dishes. But, some problems with under-cooked food, have had to return chicken wings and fish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gweilosimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    49
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing pho!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was amazed at how good the food is given that i had just been to Vietnam. They have a great selection of Hue dishes and the pho is ridiculously good. staff was wonderful and the setting was quiet and relaxed. going back for the third time tonight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank znickyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vietnamese Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First of all, I was quite surprised to find a Vietnamese restaurant in Nepal. Even more surprised was that food was so good that it reminded me I had in Ho Chi Min city a while ago. Later I knew that the Nepalese-Vietnamese couple opened this place recently and making it a good success since the opening. Couple works along with staff, and visit customers table, chekcing out that everything is going well. Loved the atmosphere, service was great and of course food. I loved Bun Thit Noung and Mojito.

I am definitely going back there when I get back to Nepal.

Great job guys!

R

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese in Kathmandu”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My friends and I love to eat at Saigon Pho. The owner is Vietnamese so the food is authentic and delicious. She always accommodates special requests and comes out to chat with us when she has a free moment. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

The Chicken Salad with Glass Noodles is excellent, as well as the Summer Rolls and all of the Pho. They also serve flan, which is quite delicious. Even though I live across town, I often come to Saigon Pho to meet up with friends for lunch or dinner.

The restaurant is easily accessible from Lazimpat Road, even in the midst of massive construction.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nepali47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese Food”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A great option for lunch or dinner.in Kathmandu Saigon Pho offers more than a cafe and the atmosphere and service are a good as the food. Try the Vietnamese fish stew!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Pho also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Saigon Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing