We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome trekking agency”

Adventure Great Himalaya - Private Day Tours
Ranked #68 of 615 Tours in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Great Himalaya is a government registered and reputed company comprised of qualified and experienced professionals. Adventure Great Himalaya has provided thousands of high quality trekking and tours trips for clients from all over the world.We are an adventure trekking, tour company based in Nepal specializing eco-friendly; trekking, mountaineering, scenic tours, wilderness expeditions, overland adventures, special interest tours in Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan and India.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome trekking agency”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the second time that I have had Babu and his team arrange a fantastic trek for our family. Both have been excellent, professional experiences. Several years ago my family of 4 did a trek including the Annapurna circuit and a portion of the Annapurna sanctuary. Since Babu had done such a great job on that trip, I used his agency again for the latest trip.

I just got back from this year's trek to the Everest region flying to Lukla and then trekking to Namche bazaar, Gokyo, the Renjo La and back via Thame. It was a wonderful experience. I used Babu to hire 2 porters to carry our gear. He provided 2 excellent porters including one who spoke English well. I also used Babu to obtain our plane tickets from Kathmandu to Lukla.

We traveled for over 3 weeks with our children who are now 8 and 12 years old. Babu's agency is quickly growing due to his professional character, extensive experience, and easy ability to personally tailor your trip to what you want it to be.

Babu can arrange for a wide variety of trips including to Safari's, various adventure sports, air and land travel, and plenty more. I highly respect him and his agency. Thanks Babu!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Truly Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just came back from an amazing experience we had with Adventure Great Himalaya and their guide Loches! (Arranged by Babu)
Everything was perfect, we cant think of anything which wasnt.
All the lodges, the food, the service while organizing the whole trip via email , the service provided by Loches during trekking, everything was brilliant.
We were trekking to the EBC , it has been an adventure of a lifetime and we can highly recommend adventure great himalaya, which is a highly professionell, very fair and honest company.
100% Support!

And if you ever end up in the office of Mr. Babu Karki you will be sure to be looked after!
The flexibility to arrange a great time for all is greatly appreciated !

Visited April 2013

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZIGSTAR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EBC - ABC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having initially planned to trek to EBC, a fatal accident 2days before and inclement weather meant we couldn't get to Lukla to start the trek. Babu and his (our) guide Nabin tried their utmost to get us there but, unfortunately, to no avail. However, Babu did not give up. Instead, he planned an absolutely superb trek to Annapurna Base Camp just like that - flights, hotels, porters and tearooms all sorted at the drop of a hat.
Nabin was brilliant - he looked after us and raised our spirits especially after us not managing to do the trek we really went there for. He watched out for the weaknesses in the team and managed our walking around that. He was courteous, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area.

All in all, Babu and his team were excellent - my dad returned this year to conquer EBC and, travelling alone, Babu and Nabin looked after him marvellously. They met him at the airport, took him to the hotel, picked him up and, when the flights to Lukla were, once again, being cancelled, managed to get him up there by helicopter. Unfortunately, my dad suffered altitude sickness whilst at EBC so Babu arranged for him to be airlifted to hospital where, accompanied by Nabin, my dad was met by Babu at the hospital and they stayed with him until he was discharged.
Once again sorting out hotels and even arranging an earlier flight home, Babu and Nabin worked wonders.
Highly recommended and I'm hoping to take my family again next year for the Panoramic Everest Trek, all being well, with Nabin as our guide.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Trekking in Nepal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Babu and his agency were highly recommended to us by a friend and they did not disappoint! The agency were very helpful in planning our itinerary before we left the UK. On arrival in Nepal all our requirements were very well catered for. The trek / accommodation / travel etc were brilliant. I would certainly recommend Babu and Adventure Great Himalaya - this was a trip of a lifetime.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rach6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trekking to Kala Pattar with best Trekking Agency in Nepal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just came back from an amazing experience i had with Adventure Great Himalaya and their guide Nabin.
Everything was perfect, i cant think of anything which wasnt.
All the lodges, the food, the service while organizing the whole trip via email , the service provided by nabin during trekking, everything was brilliant.
I was trekking on the EBC trek to kala pattar which is summited, it has been an adventure of a lifetime and i can highly recommend adventure great himalaya, which is a highly professionell, very fair and honest company.
100% Support!

And if you ever end up in the office of Mr. Karki , try the Masala Tea from next door, its probably the best in Nepal !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Great Himalaya - Private Day Tours also viewed

Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Adventure Great Himalaya - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing