We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tasi Dhargey Inn
Ranked #69 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The electric outlet for the AC wouldn't work. The room had only one other outlet, so if you tried to plug in a laptop, you had to have an extension cord/set of plugs, but the TV has only an unnecessarily large plug (as for heavy-duty appliances) that won't fit in the extension cord. They have an adapter, but it has loose plugs and sparks shoot out of it. The carpet is new in one room, everything worn and old in another. The wifi doesn't work as you get higher up in the hotel.

The people are nice and prices are low, but the hotel's in bad shape. I stayed here two years ago, had forgotten why I hadn't returned. Now I remember.

Room Tip: Buildings are close together. If you want to get past looking across the alley into another room, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithHruza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamaprakash, Owner at Tasi Dhargey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Tasi Dhargey Inn!

We apologize for delayed response to your review. Also sorry for your inconvenience stay at our hotel. We always trying our best to keep our rooms well maintained. Yes, that day AC was not working due to load-shedding even we have Generator for back up lights AC is heavy for it.
Extension codes are in every room in good condition. We noticed an adopter in your room was plug out. We really sorry for it.

Keeping in our mind that full satisfactions and value of every guest's money and holidays of our every future guests, we have always put on eyes to our property to keep well maintained.

Things that you have beard will not repeat again so please visit us while you are in Nepal!

With best regards,
Tasi Dhargey Inn Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 127 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Pokhara and on our way back out of Nepal. Good area for shopping and places to eat but the hotel itself is in much need of repair/remodeling. We understand the electric black outs however even when the electric was on, not much else was in our room. The staff was helpful and full of smiles but smiling does not get the work done.
I would not stay here again. We gave them two chances.

Room Tip: go to another place down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby_Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamaprakash, Owner at Tasi Dhargey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Tasi Dhargey Inn!

First of all we would like to apologize for delayed response to your review. Also sorry for your inconvenience stay at our hotel. We understand that room you were staying was need of repair generally and we were on progress of repairing and maintaining other rooms during your stay. Now all the rooms are in good condition.
Of course! staff are still smiling with every one of our guests special care and homely atmosphere.

Keeping in our mind that full satisfactions and value of every guest's money and holidays of our every future guests, we have always put on eyes to our property to keep well maintained.

Things that you have beard will not repeat again so please visit us while you are in Nepal!

With best regards,
Tasi Dhargey Inn Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Tucked into an alley from one of the sub-arteries of Thamel tourist area, Tasi Dhargey Inn is a budget hotel with rooms that serve their purpose. Though without an elevator, the upper rooms are better but do a rather thorough occular inspection (door lock, curtains, beddings airconditioning if needed, and toilet plumbing) before settling in. I paid a daily rate of NPR800 (approx $10+) for a double room on the 4th floor.

The front desk staff are helpful although they would not take the extra mile. There is a hotel restaurant at the ground floor which serves basic meals. Some orders take longer to be served so patience is needed. The waiter is attentive and very friendly. No worries however since there is a myriad of restaurants within a kilometer radius.

If one is on a tight budget, this is one hotel to consider.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors on the front side are better maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Tasi Dhargey inn has very good location in Thamel with all tourist facilities around. The rooms are bit old, though large enough and modestly furnished. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Hotel facilities includes WiFi which works even in the loadshedding time (no eletricity) which is quite cool and not standard even in much more expensive hotels. Restaurant food is good, though given that a lot other places are in short distance, you're not much tempted to use it. The worst thing about the hotel is the vicinity of the rock club, which makes a lot of the noise during the evening and the construction site just beside the hotel courtyard which is noisy during the day. Anyway for the cost the hotel is very satisfactory.

Room Tip: First floow for WiFi signal and on the side oposite to courtyard to limit the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer in der oberen Etage mit Klimanalage wählen damit auch bei kalten Nächten etwas geheizt werden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cmfda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasi Dhargey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasi Dhargey Inn

Address: Bhagawoti Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $12 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tasi Dhargey Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tasi Dhargey Inn Pvt.Ltd. offers value-for-money rooms in Thamel, Kathmandu. Free Wi-Fi in public areas and free local calls are provided. There is also a rooftop garden with views of the Himalayas and Kathmandu City. Carpet and parquet floor furnished, rooms come with air conditioning and with ceiling fan, a sofa and a TV. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower. In-room dining is possible with room service. Tasi Dhargey Inn Pvt.Ltd. is 3 km from the city centre. Tribhuvan International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Free parking is available. Day trips and car rentals can be arranged at the tour desk. The hotel also provides laundry services, luggage storage and a 24-hour front desk. The on-site restaurant serves Nepali, Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes. Snacks can also be enjoyed at the rooftop garden.Free transfer from airport to hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tasi Dhargey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing