We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay anywhere else in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountain Homestay
Ranked #6 of 442 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Won't stay anywhere else in Kathmandu”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've stayed at the Blue Mountain Homestay three times now and every time has been a very welcoming and positive experience. The owner, Mr Buddhi, is extremely helpful with arranging buses and giving tips for exploring Kathmandu on any budget. The young gentlemen who look after the place during the day time are fantastic guys: they cook really lovely breakfasts (included, and not the traditional white bread and butter that most included breakfasts consist of), delicious masala chai and are overall are polite, courteous, friendly and just genuine nice people. It truly feels like a welcoming home here in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell_tims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    35
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
15
135
135
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place is great value for money. It's simple, which is all you need and has a great balcony with family hospitality. We got picked up from the airport, dropped back when there was a stuff up with our visa, and taken back again with no complaints.

We even got to have dinner with the owner on the first night to a traditional home cooked Nepalese meal. There is unlimited chai tea which was some of the best (we craved it when we moved onto India - our next stop).

BUT - the drawback is that it's a little walk to town. Not that bad in the scheme of things but all the action is about 10-15 mins walk away in terms of cafes/bars/shops etc. The gate gets shut after 10 but you can get back in, you will just wake one of the boys up.

I know 10-15 mins sounds like we are travel princesses but most likely if you're going into KTM in the first place you're planning on going trekking. With us being out of town was a bit inconvenient as we didn't anticipate so many things to pick up and organise so there was a lot of back and forth with walking back to the homestay (you don't really drive around here if you can, see the traffic and you'll find out why). In the end it depends on what you're after. If you don't like to be in the thick of it this place is suited to you.

Also to note they own their own travel company, Mt Fuji or something - we felt a bit pressured so we went with Nepal Trek Adventures and Expeditions - was half or third of the price quoted by Mt Fuji - can't remember exactly it was a while ago.

This place suits friends, solo travelers and couples alike.

Room Tip: Try to get the top room with the Cinderella stairs, you'll have the balcony to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have stayed at Blue Mountain Homestay multiple times and have always enjoyed my stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They make you feel very welcome. The facilities are very clean, and the wifi is very fast. It definitely feels like you are "staying at home." I like that this is a little outside the main areas of Thamel, and these are easily within walking distance. I plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Both rooms I've stayed in have been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidplevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff, always happy to help. I was only meant to be there for a couple of nights, but Mr Buddhi was very helpful in arranging an extra 2 days for me.
The Blue Mountain Home stay had everything I needed, would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Location:
The location shown on Tripadvisor is wrong. Check google map it's correct. Owner says trip advisor doesn't fix yet as of Feb2014

It takes 10min walk from Thame center.

Don't stay if you want to come back guest house after 10PM.
They lock front and inside doors after 10. You've got to wake owners wake up if you want to go out and come back.

Check WIFI signal if you stay top floor. You can go onto the internet at patio 2nd &3rd floor.


If you are ok all above conditions, this Guest house can be good choice clean and safe cozy rooms.





Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CCouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namche Bazaar, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

what's nice about this place is it's a few streets away from thamel & hence the chaos that is katmandu, yet you can walk there in about 4mins. It's a fairly low key kinda place, nice double rooms, really friendly staff, very accommodating owner (Mr.Buddhi) almost over the top actually...a little like basil faulty...but in a nice way. nice rooftop gardens with fascinating scenes in the surrounding neighbourhood. The vacant plot next door is a bit of a rubbish tip which is a good reminder of the wicked rubbish problem in kathmandu, while you could look @ this as a turn off, for me it was a good reminder that this beautiful country is suffering from desparate pollution problems & to try your best not to add to it/ but help it if poss. ie: purify your water instead of buying plastic & if you do bring as much plastic/batteries etc home with you to fill up your baggage allowance! i brought 1/2 a bag of plastic bottles/rubbish.
compared to the mountain villages & other south east asian cities this place was expensive for what your getting but katmandu seems to be anyway. so overall we njoyed our stay & stayed again on our return from the mtns. would reccommend

Room Tip: upper rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was a place like a real home stay in Kathmandu. Staffs are very kind and friendly.
The owner, Mr Buddhi gave me some good advises for traveling and helped me to arrange my Chitwan Tour and a flight ticket to Pokhara.
At the final day of my trip, I could keep my luggage until night and take a shower before going to the airport.
I will stay again "Blue Mountain Home Stay" if I visit Nepal again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 203 in Kathmandu
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#2 of 442 in Kathmandu
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tibet Peace Inn
Tibet Peace Inn
#3 of 442 in Kathmandu
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Homestay

Property: Blue Mountain Homestay
Address: Galkopakah 29 | Thamel Galkopaka, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountain Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All are quite room, free breakfast, free wifi, 24 hour hot and cold water, pick up from Kathmandu airport for a fee, families environmental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Mountain Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing