We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place like HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountain Homestay
Ranked #6 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place like HOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Blue Mountain Homestay is recommended to all who plan to have a short or long stay in Nepal.

My friend and I booked and we NEVER regret it. We got an airport pickup from the friendly Mr Beg and safely reached to our homestay at night.

They served free delicious breakfast and tea/coffee everyday.

The location is great, 10 mins walk from the busy streets of Thamel where you could do your trekking shopping or out for restaurants.

Room and toilet are so comfortable, the blankets will give you a good night sleep. The shower has heater and no problem with the cleanliness.

There's a rooftop garden where you could chill and read a book.

Mr Buddhi is such a nice man and he always make us feel like home. Serve us with the famous nepali dinner, DAL BAAT.
If you need to trek, Mr Buddhi and his guide will help you along. No problem,he could assure your trekking in Nepal will b a smooth one.

His friendly workers,Mr Beg, Milan and Kumar are always smiling and happy to be serving you. Whatever you need, be assure they be more than glad to help you!

We greatly appreciate your warm hospitality, Blue Mountain Homestay! I can never forget my moments there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feedee_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    35
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
13
126
130
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Buddhi and his family for just over a week.

On arrival at the house we were greeted with chai and shown to our big double room. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room given it was only £10 a night. The room itself was clean, well equipped and had more than enough storage for your things. There is a shared bathroom at the end of the corridor which has the luxary of instant hot water via a solar powered system. Clean fluffy towels are supplied by the home too, when you have been using a travel towel for months these are like heaven :-)

The house is situated away from the hussle of the main streets which gives you less noise but is only a short walk away from Thamel where you will find all the restaurants and shops.
There are pretty outdoor sitting areas on each floor so you can take your breakfast in the sun, or just chill and take in the area.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and consisted of tea/coffee, toast, eggs how you like and fresh fruit salad. Plus not forgetting the chai/coffee throughout the day.

The boys Kumar and Milan are always happy to assist and help you in anyway. They are from the same village as Buddhi and he is assisting them to learn English, go to school and hopefully become a trekking guide in the future.

We dined with Buddhi and the boy's on our last night and enjoyed a gorgeous local meal.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't like staying in sterile hotels. This is a home and a well loved one at that X

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLife050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arriving in the overwhelming Nepal, Blue Mountain was the perfect place to be staying.

The rooms are cosy, we had a beautiful rooftop room with terrace all to ourselves, the beds were comfy, only a short walk into Thamel but down a nice quiet street and every time we got back from the crazy streets of the city we were greeted warmly with an offer of free tea, coffee or juice.

My boyfriend and I loved staying at Blue Mountain and the host Buddhi and his lovely staff organised bus to Kathmandu with absolute ease.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I had my final exams in kathmandu and stayed in blue mountain homestay for 11 days. My experience was very good. Mr. Buddhi and his staff are extremely friendly. The rooms were clean and the services provided were excellent. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Aby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Travelling alone, I stayed here for two months whilst volunteering and would never consider living anywhere else. It is cliche, but it was really a home away from home as it does have that family feel. It was really comforting to come home every afternoon to Buddhi, Milan and Kumars' superb hospitality and friendly face as we'd share jokes and conversations regularly learning about the local history and culture. They were always willing and ready to help make my stay more comfortable. This is the real way to travel. It is a very short walk to Thamel, convenient but quiet. The place is safe, clean and well kept, the rooms are generous in size. I would definitely come back to stay here and would without hesitation recommend this place to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, in the deluxe room which was the last they had available at short notice. On that note, even in low season they're very busy, so do book early. The proprietor also kindly collected us from the airport, for a small additional fee which made life much simpler.

Located a 20 minute drive from airport and 5 minute walk from main tourist strip (trekking agencies, restaurants, shops) its well situated.

House is relatively modern, spacious and clean. Our room was on the rooftop, with very pleasant al fresco table and chairs from which to enjoy copious amounts of complimentary Nepalese tea and breakfast - be it in the sun or monsoon showers overlooking great views.

Room was spacious, but fairly basic. Clean sheets, Nepalese TV channels, functioning but not powerful private shower, but just fine for what we were after. Would advise others to take a mosquito net though as there were plenty of bugs in the humidity and one wasn't provided (which is fairly standard).

Staff were excellent. The proprietor and the boys he employs are so friendly and couldn't do enough for us: helped with flights, treks, laundry etc etc.

Would recommend to others in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemountain36, Owner at Blue Mountain Homestay, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Respected Guest !
Thanks you for taking time to write review our home stay hotel. I'm glad that you had a good experience overall and hope we will be able to exceed your exceptations during future visit.On behld of Blue Mountain Home stay hotel,thank you for your custom and we hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards!
Buddhi jung Basnet
&
Blue Mountain Home stay team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a really great stay at the Blue Mountain Homestay!
It has a very good location - very close to the Thamel, but not as loud and crowded as directly in the center. Besides it is not too big, with a really warm, familiar and relaxed atmosphere.
On the beautiful roof-deck with many plants it is also nice to relax after a long day!
Everyone at the Blue Mountain Homestay is very nice and helpful. Mr. Buddhi, the owner, also has a travel agency, so don't hesitate to ask for advice for trips and trekking tours - he can organize it for you!
Another sign for the great hospitaility there is that you can order tea, a refreshing drink or milk tea (my favourite) all the time.
I enjoyed my stay there very much and I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia0039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemountain36, Owner at Blue Mountain Homestay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We value your input as it provide the means for us to monitor our performance and to improve. Hope yours staying period of our home stay hotel were safe and enjoy your happy life.
Regards!
Buddhi jung Basnet.
Managing Director.
Blue Mountain Home stay.
Kathmandu Nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#42 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#3 of 432 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrims Guest House
Pilgrims Guest House
#8 of 432 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Homestay

Property: Blue Mountain Homestay
Address: Galkopakah 29 | Thamel Galkopaka, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountain Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All are quite room, free breakfast, free wifi, 24 hour hot and cold water, pick up from Kathmandu airport for a fee, families environmental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Mountain Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing