We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home stay, with a lovely family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountain Homestay
Ranked #6 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic home stay, with a lovely family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Bhudi and his family for 2 nights. Before I arrived in Nepal I contacted Bhudi about arranging flights to Lukla and trekking permits, he always emailed back promptly and I was impressed with his service, so I decided to stay at his home stay. The cleanliness was good, the bed was comfy, the shower was hot, breakfast on the roof terrace was nice and the free flowing Nepalise tea was delicious. We had dinner with Bhudi and his family one evening, they were so welcoming and friendly to us. We ended up getting Bhudi to book us a guide for our trek, the guide was called Riwati, he was brilliant, always happy and always smiling and he really made our trek a good one. Our flight was cancelled to Lukla on the first day of our trek due to high wind, but Bhudi has friends at the airport who looked after us and got us flown to Lukla in a helicopter, Bhudi really does go out of his way for his customers! The home stay is only about a 5-10 minute walk from the main tourist area, but with much less traffic and bustle. I would definitely stay here again, it was a great start to my trip to Nepal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarmSand-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    35
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
13
127
130
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
planet earth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

super nice owner and staff plus unlimited masala chiya and coffee. also not as noisy as in thamel center, but close and also not far to indian embassy.

great rooftop terrace :)

thanks mr. budhi & co

dont feel like writing 200 characters.what for? sjlfjsalfdjdsjfl;asjdflasjdlf;jsaldfjl;asjdfasjdflajsdlfjsadlfjasfldjalsdjflasjdlfjfasdjlsajdfljsadjfl

Room Tip: all rooms are fine :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed kinda long there but it was as comfortable as my home.
The hotel owner and the hotel boy take care of every single guest carefully.
and the price is also reasonable and cheap.
I especially liked the garden on the 3rd floor.
I took many photos of it in order to imitate for the garden at my home, haha

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Kim_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We meet and stay in Blue Mountain homestay.
It was a very comfortable and quiet place of peace with very gentle and hospitable host.
Thanks a lot for mr. Buddhi and wife for such wonderful homestay. Everything was good and clean, all services and athmosphere make you feels like home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

So we meet owner of the place, mr. Buddhi, after our january trek and was amazed by him and his house.
This place are situated very close to Thamel and in same time at very quiet and peaceful area.
House have all facilities, nice furniture and great garden on the rooftop. In same time the owner of place are really hospitable people
So...definetely will see you next time in Nepal there!
Dhanebad!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staphorst, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Last week I have been one night in the Blue Mountain Homestay before I flew back to the Netherlands. This is realy a nice place to stay with friendly people, a nice and good room with a nice place to sit at the rooftop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I found Blue Mountain Tours and Travels through google search before we visited Nepal last December. When I contacted them, I got a good response from Mr Buddhi Jung Basnet (Managing Director of Blue Mountain tours). When we reached Kathmandu, Mr Buddhi Jung Basnet came to the hotel to meet us. He was well planned and explained everything very nicely about the tours. So, we went ahead and booked the Kathamandu, Pokhara and Chitwan tours with him. The drivers he provided us for the tours were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend Blue Mountain tours to anyone traveling in Nepal and we plan to use them again as our tour guides when we return to Nepal in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWorldAwaitsYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#4 of 432 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrims Guest House
Pilgrims Guest House
#8 of 432 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Homestay

Property: Blue Mountain Homestay
Address: Galkopakah 29 | Thamel Galkopaka, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountain Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All are quite room, free breakfast, free wifi, 24 hour hot and cold water, pick up from Kathmandu airport for a fee, families environmental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Blue Mountain Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing