We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Wonderful Service”
Review of Kathmandu Grill

Kathmandu Grill
Ranked #22 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mix of Asian and Western menu with more than 120 precisely selected delicious recipes in great ambiances of Nepalese art & architecture of outside and inside seating areas in Thamel. You will have a Himalayan Organic freshly roasted coffee with the great varieties of breakfast in the evening, or dinner in the morning. Kathmandu Grill & Wine Bar offers 24 hours of service unforgettable taste of pork or lam or chicken grill with exclusive choice of world class wine. In addition you have an option of multiple recipe of Indian menu crispy nan and tandoori. Restaurant is featured with 200 people capacity with garden seating area, private dining, smoking and non smoking area, a meeting hall of 40 people capacities & Free WIFI from 2 dedicated lines.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Wonderful Service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I spent the past three days at the Hotel Encounter and ate many meals at the Kathmandu Grill. While there were a lot of other restaurants in the Thamel district, I kept returning to the Kathmandu Grill because the food was delicious and the staff was friendly. I also like that the kitchen is situated behind a window and in full view. It is a very professional operation; it is clear that the chefs take their work and their restaurant's cleanliness very seriously. In terms of breakfast, I would recommend ordering off the menu rather than going to the buffet. I found the farmer's breakfast to be a really good value for the money. Over all, I would recommend the Kathmandu Grill. It is a quiet, peaceful place, tucked away from all of the crazy hustle and bustle of the Thamel district.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheresaU617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear TheresaU617 !

Feels great to hear your review and thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant time at our "Kathmandu Grill" and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for liking our restaurant, foods, staffs, prices, environment.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    38
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Food and a Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Encounter and it was enhanced by the delicious food and wonderful service at Kathmandu Grill. All staff are very friendly and willing to accommodate special requests. Food is tasty and fresh and the Thupka soup was delicious!!!! Prices are reasonable and it's definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Anya !

We are pleased to receive your nice review and your satisfaction with our services. We are glad to know that you like our hotel, restaurant, food specially thukkpa soup and overall dedicated teams who are always willing to render best hospitality to our valuable guest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food at our Kathmandu grill restaurant and bar. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff and wide variety”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Staying at the Hotel Encounter for a week, I ate several meals at the restaurant, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, especially the morning shift. The menu has a wide variety of choices, both Nepali dishes I'd never heard of before and more Western options. Sometimes they run out of something but that happens with a large menu. The courtyard is well maintained as well. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling on a budget who still wants to stop at a nice restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello Richard !

Feels great to hear your review and thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant time at our "Kathmandu Grill" and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for liking our restaurant, foods, staffs, prices, environment.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Tasteless and disappointing”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Occasionally, you find yourself double checking that you ate at the place where all of the other reviewers did. We were disappointed with the food at the Hotel Encounter's Kathmandu Grill. We had tikka chicken as they were out of tandoori and vegetable Briyani rice. Both were poorly spiced, not sufficiently warmed when served, and neither of us felt well later. We cannot recommend the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Y1964oung,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused as your bad experience with us completely ruins it. I understand your feelings.We are investigating this matter and finding the points where we were lacking. As you said the meal that you order was not so nice,we will definitely try our best to train our staffs and if necessary will add more service people at the restaurant.

Moreover, we thank you for your feedback if you had not share it then we will not get a chance to improve our self. We will definitely try to provide you more better service in your next visit. We look forward to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent service with great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Love the open court yard dinning area. Staff are very friendly and provide good service. Food is good, and is cooked in a very sanitary environment. Prices are cheaper than similar restaurants in the Thamel area. Highly recommended this restaurant!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RangerRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear RangerRobbie !

Feels great to hear your review and thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant time at our "Kathmandu Grill" and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for liking our restaurant, foods, staffs, prices, environment.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Grill also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Kathmandu Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing