We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food and a Good Atmosphere”

Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar
Ranked #37 of 828 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mix of Asian and Western menu with more than 50 precisely selected delicious recipes in great ambiances of Nepalese art & architecture of outside and inside seating areas in Thamel. You will have a Himalayan Organic freshly roasted coffee with the great varieties of breakfast in the morning or dinner in the evening. Kathmandu Grill & Wine Bar offers unforgettable taste of pork or lam or chicken grill with exclusive choice of world class wine. In addition you have an option of multiple recipe of Indian menu crispy nan and tandoori. Restaurant is featured with 200 people capacity with garden seating area, private dining, smoking and non smoking area, a meeting hall of 40 people capacities & Free WIFI from 2 dedicated lines.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Encounter and it was enhanced by the delicious food and wonderful service at Kathmandu Grill. All staff are very friendly and willing to accommodate special requests. Food is tasty and fresh and the Thupka soup was delicious!!!! Prices are reasonable and it's definitely worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank anya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hello Anya !

We are pleased to receive your nice review and your satisfaction with our services. We are glad to know that you like our hotel, restaurant, food specially thukkpa soup and overall dedicated teams who are always willing to render best hospitality to our valuable guest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food at our Kathmandu grill restaurant and bar. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 253 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Staying at the Hotel Encounter for a week, I ate several meals at the restaurant, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, especially the morning shift. The menu has a wide variety of choices, both Nepali dishes I'd never heard of before and more Western options. Sometimes they run out of something but that happens with a large menu. The courtyard is well maintained as well. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling on a budget who still wants to stop at a nice restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Hello Richard !

Feels great to hear your review and thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant time at our "Kathmandu Grill" and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for liking our restaurant, foods, staffs, prices, environment.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Occasionally, you find yourself double checking that you ate at the place where all of the other reviewers did. We were disappointed with the food at the Hotel Encounter's Kathmandu Grill. We had tikka chicken as they were out of tandoori and vegetable Briyani rice. Both were poorly spiced, not sufficiently warmed when served, and neither of us felt well later. We cannot recommend the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Y1964oung,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused as your bad experience with us completely ruins it. I understand your feelings.We are investigating this matter and finding the points where we were lacking. As you said the meal that you order was not so nice,we will definitely try our best to train our staffs and if necessary will add more service people at the restaurant.

Moreover, we thank you for your feedback if you had not share it then we will not get a chance to improve our self. We will definitely try to provide you more better service in your next visit. We look forward to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Love the open court yard dinning area. Staff are very friendly and provide good service. Food is good, and is cooked in a very sanitary environment. Prices are cheaper than similar restaurants in the Thamel area. Highly recommended this restaurant!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank RangerRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear RangerRobbie !

Feels great to hear your review and thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant time at our "Kathmandu Grill" and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for liking our restaurant, foods, staffs, prices, environment.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stay at Hotel Encounter during my visit to Kathmandu in Feb 2014 with my wife.We had our daily breakfast at this restaurant.The nepali breakfast was exceptional nice.The staffs were very friendly and helpful,especially Uttam.We did try out a few other restaurant in Thamel area,but still none can beat the nepali curry that served here.Highly recommended ,especially for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ngeesheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hello ngeesheong,

We are pleased to receive your nice review and your satisfaction with our services. We are glad to know that you like our grill bar, restaurant, foods specially breakfast and nepali curry and overall dedicated teams who are always willing to render best hospitality to our valuable guest.

Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging with your sincere appreciation. Your comments will be shared with our entire team specially to Mr. Uttam and they all are proud to hear about your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kathmandu Grill Team
Golkhupakha,Thamel, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Kathmandu Grill Restaurent & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing