We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tibet International

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #17 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights...It was lovely...the staff were great...nothing was too much trouble..the food was fab..the breakfast one of the best we have had...the beds were squishy and comfortable the bath full of hot water and lovely bubbles...all in all a great stay and we will be back next year with out a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliwooscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Gillian,
Thank you for your honest review. Your words of appreciation have boosted us to keep thriving. We look forward to meeting you again next year.
Best regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    136
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
75
175
101
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sohar, Oman
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed two nights with my wife at this hotel. The staff were wonderful. A warm welcome and a great hospitality!!

Its just at a walkable distance from the Great Boudha Stupa one of the world heritage sites.

Food was good. The room was facing the Airport at a distance. The rooms were clean. WiFi was free, but breakfast was charged.

Breakfast was on the roof with a view of Kathmandu city and the distant mountains.

Room Tip: We had room facing the airport and distant mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHAILESH KUMAR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Sailesh,
Thank you for your review.Its a pleasure to hear that we were able to make you and your wife's stay at Hotel Tibet International a memorable experience. To make your next visit more memorable and relaxing, may i suggest our meditation class at morning and spa.
We look forward to having you back at HTI.
best wishes
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed in a Hotel called Hotel Tibet Pvt. Ltd. though I intended to stay in Tibet International. Hotel Tibet was also good, but this hotel would have been better. I visited the hotel after realising the mistake and had lunch in their rooftop restaurant. And what an amazing experience that was!!! The view was breathtaking, mountains on one side and the boudha stupa on another side and top it all the airport side on the distant southern side. And each side was better than the other. The food was the best that I had in Kathmandu. I ordered a dish called Chicken Gorkhali and it was simply put - out of the world. The staff was helpful, friendly and very easy going... another plus point. Next time in Kathmandu, i wont think of another place to stay. Hotel Tibet International it is!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArupJSarmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time out to visit us and to write an honest review about us.
It’s sad that you were not able to stay at HTI but Hotel Tibet is also a part of HTI.
So, we are sure you must have enjoyed their service and hospitality.
We at HTI would love to serve you in near future. You can also make direct booking through our Hotel Tibet International website.
We hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently had a night's stay at Hotel Tibet International while on a short weekend trip to Kathmandu. To be honest, I did not have my expectations set too high, after experiencing a similar hotel in Dhaka a couple of years ago, but boy was I wrong.

The hotel itself is set along a busy main road. I arrived on Sunday morning at 8 and it was quiet. Some shops were open along the street but not many. The folks at the reception were not only welcoming, but provided hot towels and a drink while waiting to check in. It was not a busy weekend and I was given a room early in the morning. The room was on the fourth floor facing the courtyard, facing the opposing block. The room was simple and well maintained. The hotel provided 2 large complimentary bottles of mineral water, and there was a minibar with soft drinks and chilled water. There were no shortages of power points in the room, one on each side of the bed. The bathroom was simple, functional and water pressure strong, although it took around 2-3 mins before the water warmed up. Basic amenities, such as soap, shampoo, a shaving kit and toothbrush was provided.

The hotel also provided wifi access with a decent speed, although it was only limited to 1 device per room at any one time. I guess this is to preserve the bandwidth so that internet access was not too slow for other guests.

I can not praise the front desk staff quite enough. They were friendly, sincere, and provided sound and adequate advice when visiting the Boudhanath Stupa and Themal. I was more surprised that they remembered our excursion and even inquired about our visit after we returned to the hotel. Exceptional service which I never expected to encounter in Nepal.

Hotel also provided currency exchange service, the USD-NPR rate at which was better than those advertised in Thamel (94.97 as compared to 94.77 in Thamel).

I'm really happy with the selection of this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone who was thinking of visiting Nepal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lingamair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Tsung,
Thank you for taking your time out to write such detailed and honest review. Its pleasure to see that our hard work and effort to walk the extra mile to make our guest stay at Hotel Tibet International a memorable has been notice and appreciated. We take great delight in hearing; our standard of service blew your mind.
We would love to have you back at Hotel Tibet International, any time in near future.

Best regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel during my 5-day stay in Kathmandu in July 2014. The hotel is about 2-min walking distance to the Boudha. You can enjoy breakfast at the hotel with a great rooftop view of the Boudha and surrounding areas. I got a free upgrade to a suite with complimentary wifi. The staff is extremely friendly and the room service food is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Stephanie,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the standard of our service and we were able to make your stay at HTI a memorable experience. We will keep thriving.
We hope to see you soon in near future.

Best Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the Boutique suite of Hotel Tibet Int'l for 2 nights on 22nd & 23rd June 2014. To begin with we had a complimentary pick up from the airport. On arrival at the hotel the check in was quick. The feel of the suite room was fantastic. The bed was comfortable and bathroom spacious. The staff was very courteous and addresses your concerns immediately. Their spa is good too.
Now a few cons. Since we are vegetarians, there is very little the hotel has to offer. We were entitled to complimentary b/f but hardly had any choices available, and if there were, the taste was not that good.
One more concern, the picture quality of the TV channels in the rooms was pathetic. We complained on this and it was attended too, but with no result. I think the hotel should go in for its own dish antenna for better picture quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shashankburman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Shashank,

Thank you for your honest review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Tibet International and would also like to apologies for the small inconvenience caused.
Please be assured that our respective department is already upon the case to make our guest stay at HTI a memorable experience in future. Hope you will give us a second chance to show our improved form.

Best regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I am a surgeon from California and was working in Nepal for about 2 months, with frequent stays in Kathmandu. I had stayed at Hotel Tibet International in January as well, and was eager to come back to the hotel this past summer. I cannot say enough about the staff at Hotel Tibet International. All the staff members recognized me and remembered me by name. They were all incredibly helpful and went out of their way to be this way. The hotel itself is extremely comfortable with all amenities provided. I had traveled to Nepal before 4 years ago for a trekking trip and had stayed in Thamel. I prefer Boudha, the area of Hotel Tibet International, as it is a bit more calm and relaxing. I will be excited to return back to Hotel Tibet International - as I now see the staff there as friends, rather than anything else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shailvi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Shailvi,
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you are delighted with our standard of service. It’s always a pleasure having you at Hotel Tibet International. We hope to see you soon near future.
Best regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Property: Hotel Tibet International
Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing