We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay while you are in Kathmandu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #21 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The only place to stay while you are in Kathmandu!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

In October a friend and I planned a group trek to Nepal. Out Hotel was already booked by the organizers in the Themal area of Kathmandu, however after looking on line at the hotel I decided I needed to upgrade a bit, since I knew the trek would be difficult and I wanted a bit more amenities. We were definitely not disappointed. We stayed 3 nights before the trek and 5 after! It was incredible. Everything was perfect. Hot Water (which can be a luxury in Nepal) was never lacking. This hotel is owned by Local and not a big chain. That makes it even more charming. The have a wonderful restaurant for breakfast and lunch with a spectacular view of the Boudhanath, one of the holiest Buddhist sites in Kathmandu.
We managed to get a suite and with the 2 of us and all our trekking gear it was definitely worth it.
We were on the 5th floor and found that there was little to no noise, which is pretty incredible seeing that Kathmandu can be extremely noisy. Definitely worth the extra money.

Room Tip: stay on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBrown123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking your item out to write such detailed review about us on trip advisor. We thank you for choosing HTI. We are glad to hear that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable experience. Your words of appreciation have boosted to work harder and we will keep thriving.
We look forward to having you back in future.

Best regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    144
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
78
180
104
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

the hotel is centrally located in kathmandu warm hospitality great food and service! the hotel also offers a great discount on spa services and i was also given a free jet lag massage for 15 mins which was very relaxing. the hotel is walking distance from budha stupa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that we were able to make your stay at HTI a memorable experience. We look forward to having you back in near future.

Best Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton Under Edge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Tibet International either side of a two week trek and being close to the airport it was ideal. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive and the room was good quality,if you want a quieter room ensure you ask for one at the rear of the hotel.My wife had a treatment at the Spa next to the hotel which was excellent and great value,highly recommend at the end of a two week trek.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank prhjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest stay a memorable experience. We will keep thriving.
We look forward to having your family back at HTI in near future.
Best Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after a wet trek and it was brilliant. The room we had was very large with a lounge area, good size bathroom (with lots of hot water) and a big comfy bed. The staff go out of their way to help and are forever smiling. The cleanliness of the room was superb and we were looked after as if we were royalty. The breakfast had many different choices and freshly cooked omelettes or pancakes were available. A great view of the Boudha Stupa from the roof-top restaurant. Laundry service is efficient also. I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such positive review about us.
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us at HTI was memorable and would lie to visit again.
We look forward to having you back at HTI in near future.

Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here two single nights either side of a 6-day trek in the Annapurna region. I did not choose this hotel as it was organised by the trekking company, and therefore I shared a twin room with one of the girls on the trek.

The room was large with comfortable single beds, bathroom not too big but fine for a couple of nights. There was sufficient space in the room for 2 of us to spread out all our stuff and our trekking packs and get everything repacked before and after.

The shower was lukewarm, however I'm not going to hold this against the hotel as I have found this to be the case all over Nepal. It wasn't cold when we were there so it wasn't an issue.

I am taking off one point as the quality of the breakfast was not that nice. There was no omelette station and some of the food looked a bit ropey, plus the tea / coffee was super weak. The food we had at most of the lodges on our trek was better than this.

I hope the rooms have good insulation on the windows as I have to confess we were somewhat noisy on our final night (in high spirits post-trek). They kept the bar open late for us and after that we sat out on the balcony.

With regards to location, this hotel is ideally situated for the airport and also for the Bodnath Stupa. I was quite glad we were round the corner from it as I'm not sure I'd have seen it otherwise, and it is worth seeing. Bear in mind though that the hotel is not in central Kathmandu so it will be a taxi ride to Thamel and other sites - about 600NR.

The only other small niggle was that our key card for our room broke about 4 times - this wasn't a major issue over the two nights but had we been there for a week it would have been v irritating. As it was, it was only a minor concern.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time out to write such detailed review about us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to visit again in future.
Regarding the breakfast, thank you your suggestion.
We will work hard to improve upon it.
We are open to suggestions to improve our service.

Best regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Tibet International and the hotel is very well located to be near the Boudha Stupa. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff is very friendly and smiley and make you feel at home.
Internet wi-fi is available only upon request and they give 1 coupon per guest which can be quite annoying.
the hotel is 20 min away by taxi from the well known Thamel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest stay at HTI a memorable experience.
We will keep thriving.
We would love to welcome you back at HTI anytime in future.

Best Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I traveled to Nepal for the first time for a business trip and was looking for comfort, cleanliness, and value. I found this and more at Hotel Tibet. I've never felt more welcome or more like family at a hotel; the staff was more than concerned about our comfort, safety, satisfaction, and they were eager to help us make the most of our first visit to Kathmandu. We were offered a massage upon check-in, which was wonderful given the long, long travel from New York. I enjoyed morning meditation sessions with a guru before beginning my work days, and a surprisingly large breakfast selection. We had the best dinner of our trip in the restaurant here; the restaurant at the nearby 5-start Hyatt was nothing compared to Hotel Tibet! The rooms were beautifully decorated, cozy and clean, and my room had an amazing view of Boudha Stupa. I would recommend this hotel to family, friends, and colleagues.

Room Tip: The top floor with the terrace facing Boudha Stupa has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such a wonderful review about us.
Your word of appreciation means a lot to us and has boosted us to keep thriving.
Its pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stays at HTI and had a memorable experience.
We look forward to having you back in future.

Best Wishes
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,073 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Property: Hotel Tibet International
Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing