We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recovery at the Tibet Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Traveling with my two daughters, 9 and 13 years old, was always going to be an interesting solo parenting experience, my wife needing "time out" to work on a PHD. But having all travelled in Nepal before I thought things should be ok.

A late monsoon week of rain, colds not healed from home, and dodgy tummies meant something had to give. So given we always stay in Boudha when in Kathmandu, the TIbet International Hotel presented as a "healing" option for our final 3 nights of a 13 day visit.

A tight budget meant a small room for three but due to the season not being in full swing, an upgrade to a suite was organised as one was vacant. Immediate spacious ease!

The rooms are beautiful with an interesting large historical framed photo from "old Tibet". There are prayer wheels here and there, TIbetan architecture, and fantastic Stupa and mountain views (when clouds clear) from the sixth floor public terraces. All this made my first Kathmandu hippie digs in1986 at the long gone Monumental Lodge on Freak Street seem another life away.

And then there are the staff, who seem genuinely happy that your there. A sentiment sometimes missing in the modern Nepal experience at times. From Santosh, the operations manger, through to the service staff and the security guards, who saluted you and offered a "Namaste" on leaving and returning to the premises, you felt you were surrounded by an old world charm.

However, five minutes before leaving for the airport, my daughters, who absolutely loved the place,always felt secure and appreciative of wifi, had healed enough to go hard ball at each other whilst their father, was starting to feel a tad stressed at ensuring that their bags were packed and the thought of negotiating the departure from Kathmandu airport, fell into a departing from holiday trap. Result, a short sharp family melt down.

Thinking that all the good momentum had dissolved, I was more than surprised to find that the organised ride to the airport was a spacious and well presented hotel van, and that the manager and reception staff were waiting on the entrance landing with a traditional Tibetan katah scarf for each of us. A lovely departing gesture. The girls apologised, I apologised and we drove off to the airport healed and happy.

Trips number 11 and 12 to Nepal are already planned and the TIbet International Hotel will feature in each. A highly recommended combined Tibetan/Nepalese experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Carroll,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such detailed review about us on Tripadviosr.
Your review comes as a “Dashine” gift to us. Thank you for such wonderful “Dashine” gift.
We are encouraged and motivated by your words. We will thrive.
We look forward to seeing you and your family at HTI in future.

Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tibet International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 612 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel and staff are amazing nice and high quality.All staff very kndly and helpful. We made early checkin in the early morning and we didnt pay any extra for room.Its kindly. We had huge room and bed. Room equipments comfortable.Room celaning service quality good. I bought daily tour package at hotel tour desk and price cheaper than cirty center travel agency. Hotel reserved to us new minibus with AC. Driver guide us in day trip. Breakfast superb and service for 5 stars..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Tayfun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Tayfun,

Thank you for writing a review which is not exaggerated. We are flattered to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Tibet International immensely and had a memorable experience.
We look forward to having you back at HTI in near future.

Best wishes
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel gets everything right.m the reception area is immaculate, face towels and complimentary drink were offered upon arrival. We were upgraded to a suite as the hotel was quiet and the room was great. Big bed, tv, good shower, complimentary water and free wifi.

The restaurant serves good and reasonably-priced food. We stayed here for our anniversary and the management surprised us with a free cake at the end of our meal, which was a nice touch. The terrace on the top floor serves a really good breakfast with just about everything you could want on offer. It starts at 6:30am which is useful if you have an early morning flight. The hotel is a fifteen-minute taxi ride from the airport.

The spa is worth a trip, if just to claim your free 25 minute massage. It's really just a few treatment rooms rather than a spa (no jacuzzi, steam room or sauna) but the massages are very good.

The only thing I think the hotel could improve upon is the free wifi service which is quite intermittent. Some of the budget hotels in Kathmandu have more reliable wifi than here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Omid,
Thank you for writing a review about us. It is a pleasure to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest stays a memorable experience. Your word of appreciation has boosted us to work harder and we will keep thriving.
Regarding Wi-Fi, it was an issue from the source but now w have rectified fined it.
Hope you will present us an opportunity to show you our improved form.
Best Wishes
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here about 4 nights in August - the staff was great - lots of little gifts - cookies, tea, wet towels etc. the restaurant was great also - and my room was HUGE! But - my king was two twins so a bit uncomfy in the middle...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Linda,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us at TripAdvisor.
It’s always a pleasure to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest's stay a memorable experience. Regarding adjoining bed, our management team solved the problem. So kindly be assured that so such issue will arise in future.
We hope see you at HTI in near future.
Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My self and 3 others had to come to Kathmandu earlier than expected. As I was very sick. The manager Mr santosh and the staff were very good. They accomadated to all our needs and made sure that I was comfortable. As I was going to be room bound they upgraded our room to a larger suit to ensure I was comfortable.
It was worth our stay.
Only issue was wifi was restricted to one user at a time. It would be great if they had free wifi.

Room Tip: Book the boutique suit as it is very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Shama,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a positive review about us on Trip adviser.
It’s always a pleasure to hear that we succeeded in providing our guest a memorable experience during their stay at Hotel Tibet International. We look forward to having you back at HTI in future.

Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is close to the airport, very well maintained with beautiful rooms and an incredible roof terrace view on the nearby Bodnath Stupa. Only thing to improve is internet connection speed, but who needs this when in Nepal?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the short and perfect review. We are glad to hear, your stay at HTI was of a memorable experience. Kindly be informed that our management has rectified the minor setback and now we have high speed Wi-Fi available.
We look forward to having you back at HTI soon.

Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here twice in August 2013 and both were excellent stays. I have spent several hundred nights in hotels over the last few years (usually Hiltons and Marriotts) and this hotel is certainly up to international standards. In addition, the staff were extremely helpful and seemed genuinely happy to see me. When I checked in, I mentioned that I was planning to fly to Pokhara but didn't have tickets yet. Within about 10 minutes, they had booked my flights and had my tickets waiting for me in the morning. On the way to the airport, they arranged for a stop at one of the temples near the airport so I could do some additional sight-seeing and the price was the same as the usual airport transfer.

The hotel restaurant was also very good and reasonably priced. I paid around $12 for appetizer, main, and a few drinks.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carrie_in_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Oshiro,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us on Trip Advisor. It’s always a pleasure to have you at HTI. We are happy to be able to make your stay a memorable experience.
Thank you for appreciating our sincere hard work and for recommending us. Your confidence in our service has boosted us to keep thriving. We look forward to having you back at HTI.
Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,188 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $73 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing