We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the best option in Kathmandu considering the standard in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've been traveling in Nepal for about 12 days and have stayed at a number of hotels including 3 in Kathmandu. I also travel frequently and have stayed in hundreds of hotels in the US and around the world from budget accommodations to five star ones... so I think I have a good basis for comparison here. Of the 3 hotels I stayed at in Kathmandu, Hotel Tibet International was my fave of all the hotels I was at and well worth the price. If you're in doubt, keep the following in mind about this hotel and Nepal:

- "cheaper" hotels in Nepal have blackouts and do not use a generator (at least not right away). The blackouts get annoying after a while, esp when it's hot and muggy in your room and you are dying to turn on the AC. This isn't an issue at Hotel Tibet International as they turn on their generator right away.

- cleanliness standards are not the same in Nepal as in first world countries. Several times I was promised a clean room at other hotels by my guide, however, when I went in, the room was old, there was dust on furniture or baseboards, insects (dead and/or alive), etc. When you compare a room like that to the city itself, it looks clean (that's just how filthy Kathmandu actually is), but when you compare it to first world standards, it is dirty! That said, Hotel Tibet International is not like that at all. In fact, it was the only hotel I stayed in where I felt the room was clean enough to actually take a bath!

- other hotels also have old towels, dim lighting, cramped spaces... all of which may seem "fine" for Kathmandu standards, but if you're at all used to Western comfort or the Western idea of what a comfortable room should be like, you should to stay at this hotel instead.

- the internet connection was so good at this hotel, I could actually video chat using it! This was rare for Nepal as hotels that promise internet often offer spotty service... or non existant service once you get to your room.

- they offer free meditation class at 7:30am! I've yet to see this at other hotels.

If this hotel were in the US, it would get a solid 4 stars - probably comparable to a Sheraton or Westin type of hotel. The staff is super friendly, breakfast is OK (it's a buffet with eggs/pancake cooked to order), there are actually elevators here (a lot of hotels in Kathmandu don't have elevators), they give you a welcome drink, the room has a quiet AC, two bottles of water... and if you get a higher floor (5th or 6th), you might have a view of Asia's biggest stupa. If not, you can go to the terrace on the 6th floor and see it there.

Things I didn't like about the hotel:

- The location is not the best as the area around it is filthy and there are beggars; unfortunately, this is just a reality of the city. If you were in Thamel instead the streets are cleaner and sans beggars since it's the "tourist" area.

- You have to cross the street to get to the stupa (only a 3 min walk away) and the drivers are crazy in Kathmandu so crossing the street is scary especially in the middle of the day. There aren't a lot of restaurants/shops immediately on the same street as the hotel - you have to go to the stupa for that.

- If your breakfast isn't included, it's about $12USD. That is a lot for this city considering you can eat a good lunch and dinner for around $17USD a day per person.

- They charge a lot to have laundry done in-house (like $2-$3 per item) and there weren't ready laundry options in the area. If you were to stay at hotel in the Thamel area instead, laundry is only 50 rupees/kilo.

- No one mans the bar during opening hours so you have to call the front desk to tell them to send someone up to the bar. It's not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but it is a bit of a nuisance if you're hoping to get drinks right away! When the bartender arrives, however, he does of course, offer great service.

That said, I'd recommend this hotel to people who seek Western cleanliness/comfort in a crazy, hectic city and don't mind taking a cab to other places of interest. I know there are other "luxe" hotels in Kathmandu -- the Hyatt comes to mind -- but the Hyatt is even farther from the stupa than Hotel Tibet International so I can't see why you'd stay at the Hyatt instead (you'd pay more to be farther away and for potentially mere incrementally better service/room... doesn't seem worth it). If you're looking for some thing more luxe than this the next step would be something akin to a Ritz Carlton which they don't have in Kathmandu anyway.

So anyway, to sum up - this is a great hotel option when you consider what is actually available in Kathmandu. If you've got higher standards for a hotel room, it might not be available in Kathmandu. The only downside is the location but if you don't mind taking a cab, it's not a big deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the stupa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justwanderlustblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation. Your words have done justice to our service. It’s our pleasure to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest stay at HTI a memorable and everlasting experience. We look forward to having you back at HTI soon in near future.
Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 624 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

My group, Acupuncturists Without Borders, stayed at this hotel and loved it! The staff were fantastic, the rooms lovely, the breakfast was the best we had in Kathmandu. I highly recommend this hotel. My only wish is that there were a swimming pool out in the back area! Then it would be hands down for this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaF799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Diana,
It was a pleasure to have Acupuncturists without Borders at our hotel. We are flattered to hear that we once again succeeded in archiving our goal to make every guest’s stay a memorable experience. We will keep thriving.
We would love to have you back at HTI in future.

Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place was fabulous and the service couldn't have been better. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. It is a safe area as we walked lots at night and never felt intimidated or uneasy. The rates seem a little expensive but let me assure you there is good value. Their recommendations were perfect and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gino E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us at Trip adviser. We are delighted to hear you had a memorable experience during you stay with us at HTI. Your words have encouraged us to keep thriving. We also look forward to having you back at the hotel.
Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

$100 is quite expensive for the room in Kathmandu (and it did not include the breakfast).
I have to admit that I expected more for that money.

We arrived, checked in and were given the keys to the room. When we opened the room – it was occupied by someone.
We were given the keys to another room.
That room was very small and although the hotel seemed to be pretty much empty (we only saw one other couple at the breakfast) they did not propose to upgrade us.

The location is bad – there is absolutely nothing to do except visiting Boudhanath Stupa.

Breakfast was good but then again it was $20 extra.

We stayed in the room 501– I do not recommend it. It is directly below breakfast area – so there is some noise and smalls in the morning.

On the plus side – room was very clean and there was reliable electricity and hot water.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOPOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your suggestions to improve upon our services.
We are extremely apologetic with the inconvenience created during check in.
Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel Tibet International is a very nice place to spend some time in Kathmandu. Location just 5 min walk from Buddanath Stuppa is great, inside the Tibetan area, not overcrowded with tourists.
The terrace on the 6th floor is gorgious for early breakfast with a wonderful view on the stuppa, or a drink when the light starts to decline.
General comfort is very good, with the little thing that makes hotel not belonging to a chain much more personal, and every single staff is caring and trying his/her best to accommodate all wishes from the guests. It really is a nice atmosphere, and made my stay really enjoyable. (and I am demanding and picky!)
Thank you to all the staff!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quite nice and fresh, hence no need for air-cond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Sophie,
Thank you for your encouragement. We at HTI are delighted to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest stay a memorable experience. We will keep thriving.
We hope to see you soon
Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

In April we stayed in Hotel Tibet International 4 nights in a room facing the courtyard. Once we entered the courtyard the busy life of Kathmandu was left behind and it was a peaceful experience. The staff is extremely service minded and made us feel at home right away. The decorations are very nice. The roof top terrace is super when eating breakfast or when enjoying a beer at sunset. From the roof top one can see the Boudhanath Stupa. The food at the restaurant is excellent. The hotel is located close to the airport and a 20 min taxa drive from Thamel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are sunny and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnetteB1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Anette,
Thank you for your words of encouragement. We are delighted to hear that you felt our hotel extremely welcoming and well looked after during your stay in Nepal @ HTI. It is indeed our pleasure to be able to serve our guest to its best level providing a memorable experience. We look forward to serving you.
Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice hotel in Kathmandu. Place to come back to. Not a chain hotel. Pluses are the very nice and caring staff - some like friends after the first minutes - as well as well equipped rooms to the yard. Also fantastic breakfast, IF! you are a friend of local food. International choice not recommended, but local one is fantastic
They could improve a little on cleanliness.
I like the location. Two minutes walk to Bodanath Stupa, various monasteries in walking distance.
Traffic and quality of streets and air in Katmandu is hell. So the hotel's location is also good to go to Bhaktapur and acceptable to go to Patan.
Extraordinary restaurant. Very good quality massage center next to it.
Nice experience overall. Hope, we can come back

Room Tip: Rooms to the yard. Road in front unbelievably noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geht_net_gibts_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience with us at HTI. We will keep thriving.
We look forward to serve you soon.
Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 209 in Kathmandu
408 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $89 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing