We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #21 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have to rave about this hotel. location is perfect- a 5 minute walk to Boudhnath Stupa. Comfort level exceeded all my expectations. Professionalism of the staff is outstanding . Food in the Shangri la restaurant and breakfast at the Norbhulingka terrace is so good with croissants made fresh every day! A beautiful view of the Stupa and Buddhist chants played as we eat . The best Momos we had in Nepal were here. A beautiful courtyard and good access from one building to the other, 24 hour room service and most importantly , true hospitality from the heart. A hotel with soul! I will be back!Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street as they can be noisy. The ones facing the courtyard are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nishiKualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Lall,

Greeting from Hotel Tibet International.
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback and great review. We are very delighted to learn you had memorable experience with us.
We will continue to work hard to proof our self worthy of your every praise.
We look forward to serve you at HTI soon.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 626 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a first time to Nepal and for business as well as a day or two to explore, I was tempted by the reliable surroundings of the hotel across the road - part of a large chain internationally. The reviews I had read about The Hotel Tibet International were compelling though. And with good reason.

From the cold of Beijing it was nice to step off the plane and into the most immaculate of hotel buses to be greeted by driver and hostess, complete with water, a fresh towel and conversation during the journey to the hotel itself. Even by the time we had left the airport it was clear that the welcome I was given was only the start of a memorable stay in the city.

Tea was made on arrival at the hotel, check-in was simple and the room was perfect. The hand painted decorations throughout the building make this the only place to stay in the city. Together with a comfortable bed, hot and powerful showers and the quiet of the hotel courtyard to look out onto, everything was just as it should be.

Currency exchange at reception made it easy to ensure the right notes were exchanged for dinner and the first night in the city. I chose dinner at the hotel - a wise decision. Later that week I had the chance to meet the chef personally and thank him for the series of meals I ate there.

I needed to get across the city the following morning but with the start of a strike, taxis were hard to find. Perseverance from the reception staff and a genuine keenness to help were finally rewarded with a ride. Without this help, I would not have made the appointment.

The following day proved to be more of a challenge but again, thanks to the generosity of one of the staff, I got to see parts of the city many others never will, from the back of a motorbike. No effort is too much for staff at this hotel. Their attention is a lesson to us all.

There is talk of problems with hot water and electricity outages - there were no inconveniences while I was there at all.

The rooms are wonderfully reflective of the part of the world I was in with a charm and character that I have not seen in the rest of Asia so far.

But for me, what makes a hotel is the staff. It has been commented here already that visitors feel they have a family to return to after a stay at The Hotel Tibet International - for good reason.

Leaving was a sad experience but one that will make my next trip one to look forward to.

My thanks to the manager who gave his time to chat with me throughout the week. The chef and his lovely food. Sonam, well driven sir! Thank you. And finally Dolmah; thank you for your time and conversation during the week. Yourself and those you work with are an inspiration to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWA954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Anthony,

Greetings from Hotel Tibet International.
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
I am pleased to hear that our effort to exceed expectation has been noticed and you were kind enough to share your memorable experience with us on trip adviser.
I have shared your wonderful remarks with our staff and it is highly appreciated by all.
We look forward to having you back at HTI.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful hotel, immaculate. Amazing breakfast especially the fresh made omelets & pancakes. The staff were always smiling, friendly & accomodating. We stayed an extra night & recieved a free massage which was lovely although not as friendly. They made us a cake when they found out it was our honeymoon which was cute! A little far out of town but the taxi ride into town was worth the 400rp for the experience! The boudda stupa a must & very close by. Thank you for a lovely start to our honeymoon & time in Nepal. Brett & Raquel, Albury, Australia

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaquelButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Raquel and Brett,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at HTI and had a memorable experience.
Once again we would like to wish you a happy married life and prosperous future.
We look forward to serving you in future.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My stay at Hotel Tibet International was truly wonderful. I left knowing that I would return to a family there-- the staff were all authentically kind and caring for my needs. I felt like they understood the beauty of their country and their own individual hearts and served me from this place. I would highly recommend anyone stay here that is looking for the comforts of a loving, clean, and compassionate home while traveling. The spa was wonderful for nurturing self-care. The fact that the Boudhanath Stupa is a block away is an extra treat!! Namaste.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Leah,

Thank you for sharing your superb experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you felt like a family at HTI and we succeeded in caring your every need.
Family members are always welcome at Hotel Tibet International at any time.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is great. It is authentically Tibetan, which is so nice. The service is excellent from start to finish. Rooms and the rest of the facility are nice. Atmosphere great. Breakfast terrific. The chef comes out to greet people and is clearly committed to his craft. The largest Tibetan Buddhist shrine (stupa) outside of Tibet is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel, and there are hundreds of monks surrounding this shrine at any given time (plus hundreds of little tourist shops as well.) The Stupa and its surroundings are like an oasis from the noisy busy sectiosn of Kathmandu just outside of this area. The street the hotel is on is busy and not the most touristy of locations, which can be a plus or a minus depending on what you're looking for. Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Ms.Anna,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a wonderful review about us.
We are delighted to note that our goal to make every guest stay a memorable experience was successful.
Thank you for recommending us.
We hope to serve you soon at HTI.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great vacation in Kathmandu. The hotel has excellent rooms, a very individual character + very friendly people - ready to assist. Besides the quality of the property, the upkeep is also excellent. The breakfast provided is of really good quality + sumptuous. The view of the Boudha Stupa from the breakfast terrace sets the tone of the day really well. The Wi-Fi connectivity is also good.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites on the 6th Floor are really good and have an individual terrace to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bharat1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Mr. Bharat,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you had a memorable experience with us at Hotel Tibet International. We will keep thriving. We hope to serve you soon in near future.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel Tibet is a beautiful and peaceful sanctuary in central Kathmandu. Just a 10 minute walk to the Boudha Stupa, a World Heritage site where you can circumambulate with the monks and devotees at sunrise, as has been done for centuries. The staff is warm and friendly, the rooms cozy, lovely and friendly and the food is well prepared and tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hokhmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you writing a review about us. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with us at Hotel Tibet international. We hope to serve you soon.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 210 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
3 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
589 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $92 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing