We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a magical tibetan experience in kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we stayed here for 7 nights and enjoyed everything about this hotel. the staff are so helpful and fun to talk with...it is worth staying here just to interact with them.
the decor of the hotel is just beautiful...lots of authentic tibetan paintings and carvings. the rooms also have a tibetan feel to them, along with all the amenities one could ask for, and internet speed was quite good, and free.
we stayed in a deluxe room and it was very spacious, like a suite. agree with other reviewers that it is ideal to get a room facing the courtyard, as it is very quiet.
we obviously recommend this as a great place to stay in kathmandu, and will stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christyndougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Loughlin,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such wonderful review about us.
We at Hotel Tibet International would like to wish you a very happy New Year.
We are pleased to be informed that you had a memorable experience with us.
We hope to serve you at HTI soon.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tibet International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 612 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

When they say, it's the people that makes the difference, well this place is all about it and even more. Yes the staff is really nice and helpful but even the managers take very good care of the customers. But, there is more to it, the room are well appointed, brand new, clean and very spacious. We absolutely loved our room. The location is perfect, close to the stupa. You could'nt ask for more...!!

Room Tip: It can be a litte noisy in the night because of the dogs in the area, they bark all night long, but...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenoraPatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Ms,

Thank you for taking you time out to write such wonderful review about us.
We are glad that our team effort to make your stay a memorable experience was successful.
We hope to see you soon at HTI.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A two minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, Hotel Tibet International totally lived up to my expectations in every way. Food + Spa+ Room Decor + WiFi + Staff & Courtesy

The Airport (10 mins drive) pick up was done in style ... which made for an interesting start to my Nepal trip. Tastefully done Rooms (Bathrooms could have been more lit & a tad bit more spacious)

Staff : Very Helpful & Warm.

Foodwise ... An A++
Great Tibetian & Chinese food at the Shangri la restaurant. Must try the authentic Tibetian Momos + Thenthuk

Roof top b/f setting with the view of the city skyline + Boudhanath Stupa was much appreciated.

Tip : Must try Khapse cookies at the Reception + Healing Hands, Shambala Spa : Total Rejuvenation !!

Room Tip: Higher the floor , the better !
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mashanka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Chahal,

Thank you for your encouraging words. We will continue thrive for excellence.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a great place to stay. My husband and I were there for 3 nights in July and had a wonderful time. We ate breakfast overlooking Boudhanath temple on the roof top which offers sweeping views of Katmandu. The temple is only a few steps away. The hotel is about 15- 20 minutes away from Thamel but for us that was a plus since that section is loud and crowded. Its like staying in Times Square versus staying in Gramercy Park. If you plan on seeing the temples, why not start close to Boudhanath? For the price and the level of comfort you receive here, I would not stay anywhere else. It was our first trip to Nepal, and hopefully not our last. The staff was extremely attentive. The hotel is brand new- the walls were literally painted by hand with intricate and gorgeous art. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The internet works very well- a must for us. And there is shopping in the hotel square- a big rug shop which I only saw at the end- I would have bought stuff there had I known about it.

Room Tip: Some reviews said they didnt like their room - we didnt have an issue. The first room we got was per...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monicahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Mam,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such a wonderful review about us.We are delighted to hear that you had memorable experience with us at our hotel and loved every thing about it.We will be more then happy to serve you on your next visit to Kathmandu.

Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

What a great experience! The hotel staff made all the extra effort to make a trip that was going bad to one of the most awesome experiences ever. Every single staff person at Tibet International was welcoming and caring.
Brilliant service!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank B5rnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Louis,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us.
your words have encouraged us.We will do our very best to make every guest's stay a memorable experience.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for six nights.More than I liked is the
staff, friendly, ready to satisfy all your needs. I want to thanks in a special way Miss. Dolma Lhadon for her kindness.
The room was clean, confortable and quite facing the hotel courtyard. The brekfast selection was good and the breakfast terrace with the view of the Boudha Stupa very nice.
I had a chocolate bisquit every evening in my room; it is really kind.
The Boudha Stupa is a short walk from the hotel.
I want go back to Hotel Tibet International if I find myself in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcomufly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Pistochini,

Thank you for your encouraging words.i have conveyed your message to our hotel staff especial to Dolma Lhadon. We will be eagerly waiting for your return to our Hotel Tibet International.

Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel,for 2 nights before we started our charity walk to base camp,rooftop was beautiful,as was the breakfast each morning,rooms were nice and large with really good size bathroom,all clean and spotless,welcome drinks on arrival, staffwere very helpful,not much to do outside of hotel,streets were very dark and dusty,as lots of roadworks taking place all over city, as in other comments,the Boudha stupa is only accross the road,and is trully magnificent,few nice little cafes as you walk around stoupa. good views from the rooftop terrace as you enjoy the sun while you have breakfast, food was good here. would recommed you give it a try.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Jim,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is very encouraging. Your visit to Nepal was with a purpose and we wish you all the best.

We hope to see you again in future.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $73 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing