We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tibet International
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
$34
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nepalaya(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$16
$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
$77
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveler rating
469
155
18
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
155
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboudhanath stupatibetan decorrooftop restaurantjunior suitewonderful hotelclose to the airportmodern amenitiestop floorhotel is locatedfew minutes walkstreet noisean oasisthe hustle and bustlelaundry servicecomfortable staykathmandu valleyspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 647 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is overall good, but my 5 stars is for the lady working at the front desk on Nov 30, 2012, who helped us (two girls) to arrange a taxi to the airport late at night. I appreciate her sincere help and care in that cold evening. She gave us each a scarf when we stepped out the door, that made us feel warm and comfy on our way out. Too bad I didnt ask for her name :). Thanks a lot! It is the details that makes the difference.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for taking your time out to write a review. We are delighted to be informed that you had a memorable experience with us at our hotel . We truly appreciate you encouraging words and we will continuously thrive to achieve that goal.
Our teams have already taken action regarding the slow internet. Rest assure that you will feel no inconvenience during your next visit.

Regards

Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights after a Himalayan trek so were much in need of relaxation and a soft bed! The hotel provided both. We missed our transfer guide at the airport and had to take a Taxi to the hotel, the concerned guide had already phoned the hotel and they were watching out for us. They were genuinely pleased to see we had not got lost on the way and were wonderfully helpful at check in. Biscuits and a hot drink were almost instantly provided.

The room was good, large enough not to feel cramped, a couple of comfy chairs to sit in, a very comfortable large bed and a bathroom with tub and over-tub shower which was super-powerful. There wasn't any hot water first thing in the morning though, which was a shame, but there was a large group on a tour staying and I suspect they were all up just before us and used it all. The TV had many channels - lots of Indian ones, but a couple of British language channels were avaliable. Enough to see the headlines and watch a corny film just before dropping off at night. Who wants to sit in front of the TV on holiday anyway!

The breakfast selection was adequate, not huge but a selection of pastries, breads, fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, cooked food - Chinese and western choices provided. Crispy bacon was delicious! The omelette chef was great too, did a mean scrambled eggs for me. The breakfast terrace is lovely, parasols give enough shade from the sun and it has a great view out to the Stupa. Nice and quiet too.

We were a bit disappointed with the Shangi La restaurant though. This may have just been bad luck but as there was a large party of Chinese guests the only option on our first night was a Chinese food buffet. It was very tasty to be fair, but having eaten nothing but rice and noodles on the trek with limited choice, we were really looking forward to sitting down with a menu and eating something a bit different. Buffet dining just didn't quite hit the mark.

It was similar on the second night, there wasn't even space in the restaurant to seat us at 7.30. We were told we would have to wait until 9.30. Not quite what you expect when you are a guest at the hotel - but to be fair, after complaining gently, we were given the option of eating in the hotel bar. Not ideal tables to eat off, typical bar tables but not too bad. We both ordered steaks and they were delicious, well presented with good chips and well cooked vegetables. The waiter was also very helpful and genuinely wanted to ensure we had a good time. We had a bottle of wine - treated ourselves to a bottle of Chateauneuf Du Pape which was very reasonably priced. We also had lunch just before leaving for the airport. We sat down and ordered at 12, but the food did not arrive until 12.40 despite us being the only two in the restaurant. I'm well aware that time means different things in different places, but having told them at the start that we had a car coming at 1, we had hoped not to have to rush our food.

It's not too far from the airport - varies a lot with notorious Kathmandu traffic of course, but both there and back journeys took less than 1/2 hour. As others have said it's easily within walking distance of the Stupa but taxi rides needed for elsewhere.

We had a room facing the hotel courtyard, not the street and it was quiet enough. You could hear dogs howling occasionally at night but no traffic noise at all.

Our in-room safe didn't work initially, they sent a man to fix it as soon as we reported it, he was stumped but found someone else to fix it the same morning.

We had an evening turndown service too and they left a chocolate biscuit and a couple of woven charms for us which was a nice touch.

The staff were all brilliant. From the moment we arrived to the time we left (and were presented with scarves as we left) they were always smiling, attentive and keen to do whatever they could to ensure we had a great stay. Even when the restaurant was full or when all we could choose was the buffet they were so nice and keen to try to make sure we still enjoyed our dining the potential disappointment we could have felt was minimized.

We would go back to the Tibet International if we find ourselves back in Kathmandu. Despite the restaurant niggles, the overall experience of comfort, relaxation and the genuine hospitality and desire to ensure you have a wonderful experience displayed by the staff made our experience a genuinely relaxing and pleasurable one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. MUCH quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doc-nic-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and encouraging us with your feedback.
We are happy to be informed that our effort to make your stay more comfortable and memorable has been noticed and appreciated .
We apologize for all the inconvenience cause during your visit to Shangri-la kitchen.
Unfortunately, We missed to recommend our Norbhulinka Terrace Café for Continental Menu.
Rest assure that we would suggest such options when we have group in Shangri-la Kitchen
Looking forward to serve you in future at our hotel.

Regards

Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Hotel Tibet International is by far one of the best accomodations I have enjoyed in a very long time. From the moment you walk in the door until you leave the staff and surroundings help you feel at home in a peaceful, comfortable nurturing surrounding. Stepping off the chaotic streets of Kathmandu our entire group was treated like family for a few weeks visit. Early mornings were spent walking with the monks and locals at the Boudanath Stupa, a World Heritage site just a block or two walk from the front of the hotel. Upon returning we were treated to a wonderful breakfast on the rooftop dining area overlooking the city and after the fog lifts, the peaks of the Annapurna range.For the Buddhist traveler, many monasteries are in the vicinity and cabs are easily arranged to go to the other parts of the city to experience temples and the wonderful shopping for artisan gifts. Will most definately make my way to this hotel again when in Kathmandu and a great start off and return after trecking or travel to other places in this diverse country. Thanks to Tsering and the staff!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. If you want quite stay away from the street view though ear plugs work wonderful and the views are interesting.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ananda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Ananda,

Thank you very much for taking your time out to write a such a wonderful review about us. We are delighted to hear that you felt like a family among us at our hotel. Family members are always welcome at HTI.

Regards.

Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel twice, when we arrived in Kathmandu and after our Annapurna trek. The hotel is very nice and the staff is very attentive. They want to make your stay as pleasant as they can. The restaurant is also good, not expensive either. Rooms are well appointed and spotless. We had a very pleasant stay.

I also want to highlight that a person in our party forgot his ebook and only realized it once we were at the airport on our way out. He called the hotel to put it in a taxi but they took the initiative to bring it themselves to ensure it got to us safely. This is attention to service!

My only encouragement to improve would be to review their billing procedures and how they can make corrections at check out. There was an error in the bill and it took upwards of 30 minutes to fix it (I also saw the same issue a day earlier)

The hotel is near the World Heritage Boudha Stuppa. I went for walks there every morning and enjoyed mixing with the Nepalese people. There are a lot less tourists than in Thamel around this area. On the other hand, you are away from the night life and entertainment of Thamel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be quite noisy. Ask for a room at the back
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brozas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Sir,
I am pleased to hear that our effort to exceed expectation has been noticed and you were kind enough to share your memorable experience with us on trip adviser.
Rest assure that our team has come up with solutions to provide smooth billing procedure without any delay.
We hope to show you our improved form on your next visit.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The only reason I've given this nice hotel 4/5 is the fact that it is too far away from the city center (around 25 minutes in a taxi via a horrible road).

The hotel is clean, comfortable, breakfast is served on the 6th floor terrace offering a wonderful view of Kathmandu, and the staff are super friendly. It also has a very nice terrace on the second floor where you can spend a nice quite evening.

It is a walking distance from one of the most famous and largest stupas in the world, the Boudha Gate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NadaAbandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Abandha,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review. we really appreciate your encouraging words. Be assured that the city will be better for travel after the repair of roads. Hoping to have you back at our hotel soon.

Best Wishes

Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews