We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great friendly owners”
Review of Festoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Festoon Hotel
Ranked #44 of 470 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is in an ideal location and is great value. The rooms are basic but have what you need. I was first put in a room with a shared bathroom and once they had room I was moved the next day. The owners are genuinely friendly guys who will help give honest advice and they do breakfast on the rooftop at a bargain price.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank nloakes90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 200 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here already before, but now for a longer period and i must say: in the chaos of thamel, kathmandu it is so nice to have this quiet guesthouse which feels as home. Very friendly people, nothing is too much!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank joyceBhaktapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Kathmandu! Really good for the price... The service is amazing ! They make you feel right at home! A special thanks to Ramesh in the Recepation and Babu in the Travel desk... These guys really make your day... Everyday! All the staff is very courteous and tend to your every need...
thank you guys

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Babu, Ramesh, Gakul are really nice person at festoon and extremely friendly atmosphere at hotel, me staying much longer than originally intended. I felt really at home here amongst great staff and other travellers. It's in an excellent location and offers great value for money, and the rooftop really nice and can see all round vally,,,, see you on june Festoon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The location's ideal, convenient access to buzzling scene yet away from the night noises. Sleeping quality doesn't reduce! The value's reasonable for the spacious and airy room. But what makes the stay lovely is the friendly staff! Their smiles and helpfulness can't be beaten. In other words, it's about them of which draw guests to return for more than one time stay. Following trips to elsewhere in Nepal, this accomodation remained the choice whenever I returned to Kathmandu.

Tidy room, hot shower, fine ventilation, noise-free, and so forth are without a doubt in defining comfortable stay, but the staff and service contribute to the overall pleasantness. There are many thumb-ups! Of one, the staff kindly offered me boiled drinking water - having learnt that I'd a bad cold.

For those into encountering great staff, this is the place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank twjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Amazing hotel, great staff, very clean rooms, lovely beds, hot showers. Great views from rooftop of Monkey Stupa. Hotel is in street but fell very quiet from the husstle and busstle of the city or the street. The room is pretty spacious and clean. Especially, the people there are super nice!it was my second time where i visited,...
thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I found staying here very helpful before and after my trek in Nepal. We kept some belongings locked into the owners office while we were trekking. The owner was very honest and helpful towards us - he'll get you whatever you need or find you someone who can. There was a great restaurant called The Garden nearby (good food and prices). There was a hot tea place right outside the front door which was priceless in the morning. There was a bakery a block away that sold things 1/2 price after 8 pm. Also very close to stores if you forgot anything or need anything for trekking. I loved it here and would definitely stay again if had another opportunity to go to Nepal. The hotel is rustic compared staying in western hotels -eg. I don't remember having a shower curtain or heat in the room - but it did have a western toilet and was clean by Nepali standards. Can't beat the price and honesty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostGaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#142 of 210 in Kathmandu
65 reviews
0 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#90 of 210 in Kathmandu
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
676 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Lily Pvt. Ltd
Hotel Lily Pvt. Ltd
#77 of 470 in Kathmandu
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festoon Hotel

Address: Thamel-16, Z-Street, Kathmandu, Nepal | G.P.O Box 6711,, Kathmandu 6711, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $12 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Festoon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festoon Hotel is "Where Luxury Meets Affordability." We sure haven’t been to Hotel California but Eagles would certainly love this hotel as much for, despite that we do not have the Stars, we have bountiful of flowers to offer every of our prized customers with warm smile and welcoming embrace. In a world where luxury is often directly proportionally to the amount of green loads in your pockets, two of us young entrepreneurs undertook this sprightly onset with one objective of offering quality service in modest price. Hence our tagline: Where luxury meets affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Festoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing