We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful not to visit on their chef's day off”
Review of Lhakpa's Chulo

Lhakpa's Chulo
Ranked #273 of 761 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Restaurant details
gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Be careful not to visit on their chef's day off”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The restaurant is tucked away in the bylanes of Jham Sikhel on the outskirts of Kathmandu.
Its difficult to find because the signage is poor and not many people even in Jham Sikhel know about it. But we had gone on the advice of good friends who know Kathmandu and who travel a lot. So we took the trouble and the time to locate the place and were welcomed by a homely , warm atmosphere. We took one of the tables in the garden and ordered what we had come looking for, steak.
The steak and the other beef dish were both tough and unchewable. We sent the steak back and the replacement was only marginally better.
When we enquired we were told it was the chef's day off and even the sous chef was away. Maybe our steak had been cooked by the cleaning lady, or one of the waiters. For a restaurant whose reputation spreads as far as among the cognoscenti of Delhi, we were sorely disappointed, and returned hungry.
Our advice to restaurants to deal with the chef's day off is to tell diners what dishes are not available. Its better than trying to pass off substandard, inedible dishes and ruining your word of mouth reputation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwriter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food and attractive setting in Jhamel”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It is located in the expat enclave of Jhamel (not to be confused by the touristier Thamel). Can be little difficult to find, it is on a side street opposite to Jhamel’s Roadhouse Café.

The place is very nice and clean. Brightly lighted with pastel walls. Clean bathrooms. Attentive and efficient service.

I’ve tried for appetizer the spicy potatoes. I was warned by the waiter that they were indeed spicy, and he was right. However I didn’t find the taste particularly distinctive apart from the overpowering chili and some hint of parsley. For main course I had the steak Diane, this is basically a pepper steak or Au Poivre. The steak was tender and the pepper sauce delicious. I didn’t care for the fried potatoes that came with it, heavy oil tasting and neither the side of vegetables.

For my experience I will recommend Lhakpa’s. Particularly if you want to give the vegetarian Kathmandu’s fare a break

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smertios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Terrific place that stands out. Filled with mostly expats and tourists, the menu is relatively small (by Nepali standards) but the food is uniformly good. Ambiance is terrific. Choices are mostly Italian, with a bit of Indian, Chinese and Thai. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerrywesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistent Food & Service”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This place has an amazing atmosphere and serves very good food... the Rosti and nachos are a must have...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious food, cozy atmosphere in a quiet courtyard”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

What's not to like? We have eaten dinner here five times in the last 12 months and it is a quiet retreat in "Jhamel." If you are a meat eater, their steak Diane with brandy butter sauce and their other meat dish with gschnatzeln or something like that are both outstanding. If you are veg, their pasta is good, or you can make a meal from several appetizers. They have good enough music that we have asked them for the title of the CDs they are playing. In the winter, they always have a heater going, in the summer, there are umbrellas and mosquito coils provided by the friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelermt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lhakpa's Chulo also viewed

Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Lhakpa's Chulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing