We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in town!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Discovery Inn
Ranked #115 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best hotel in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Home far away from home.the best price for those guest who are staying for a while.peace and quit and it's middle of the heart of Kathmandu.room is clean and service is excellent!!it was wonderful stay.thank you so much for your hear felt service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank balkrishna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceje294212, Manager at Hotel Discovery Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thanks very much so effective and valuable your reviews on Trip advisior. Your satisfactions is our motto. Because of your reviews we feel new energy for progressing , improving service. we again like to see you in our hotel discovery inn. Have your nice days and journey.

Pradip Sapotta
Hotel discovery inn,
Thamel,Kathmandu Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    25
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
31
55
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

: In my two weeks trip in Nepal I stayed Hotel Discovery in 3 nights. After trekking of Annpaurna , just I pass one night there. In conclusion or average my opinion, it is best hostel in the heart of the city Nepal. They provide me the local tour ideas and car rental for the city tours kathmandu. Rooms are very clean, environment of the hotel is quite. Very convenient location. Near the hotel there are other neighboring 4-5 hotel. I feel comfort to go outing the thamel city for food and shopping. 15 minute far from the hotel there are Garden of dreams and other popular recommended restaurant. At the time of the departure, I got car drop to the airport. In the average , budget hotel categorize , this hotel is best in my experience and opinion.
Thanks

Room Tip: fronteside of tha room very better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon36582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I did not pre booking in this Hotel, just I find this name from trip advisor. Then I look around the thamel, asking in the street. One man shows me the direction. I find the room in $8 per night. I stayed this hotel 5 days. Hotel staff respect me as a guest and offering a welcome drink Milk tea. Mr Krishna who is hotel owners as well as other staff used to ask me “Sister”. They also teach me , this meaning in Nepali “Bahini”. Also they expose and inform the annual sister festival Tihar. They invited me to see and feel Tihar festiaval in coming September. Actually I did not know when I come , but I feel there are brother home. Hotel staff very kind and provided me the hot water and updating information. I like to give thanks also Mr. Raj who had been already in many trekking and give me the ideas of the Annapurna poon hill trekking. Even iam single , I got great confidence from him. I booked rafting and paragliding very cheapest prices from the hotel travel desk. I finally go India from sunali after visiting Lumbin , the birth places of Buddha. Really I like to give high recommendation staying that hotel and again come back there .
Marrie Stewart

Room Tip: rooom 403 is very nice which is front site of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieestewart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceje294212, Manager at Hotel Discovery Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Mariee,
Thanks so much for your so great inspiring reviews about us. Really , it give high enthusiasms for all hotel staff and management team. of course , we like to give more and more service for our Guest and feel like a family. we feel we success in some extent to give some good service. our Motto is-' Come as a Guest, Go as a friend and family". Thanks and welcome again and again!!
Pradip Sapkota
Hotel Discovery inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharamasala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is located in a quiet but central place in the heart of Thamel. It has an undistrubed view over a pleasant garden.

The hotel provides comfortable clean rooms with all facilities at a very reasonable price. The staff are helpful and knowledgeable on all issues and extremely cheerful, hospitable and friendly! They can organize pick-up services, trekking and other excursions. Advance booking is also easily done.

There is a very welcoming atmosphere and if one could enjoy breakfast in the garden it would be perfect! I would have no hesitation in either recommending it to others or coming back again myself!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achouxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

In my trip in Nepal, i have multiple chances to choice the budget hotel in Thamel and all parts of Nepal such as chitwan, pokhara, Lumbini, Bhaktapur, Dhulikhel. I find all the places is good. In thamel, i feel more crowded in my staying but i luckly found quiet location hotel Discovery inn. I did my yoga and mediation even in room . some hotel staff talking about the trekking, tours and interesting places. Iam bit wonderful spiritual country but talking about the travel only. Also people of the hotel have a traditional religion but not practice. I heard the interesting stories about the culture and marriage ceremony. Really, i went there as a guest like a other customer, but i feel homely environment. I enjoy the garden with chatting my laptop where is access good internet. specially after shower , i preferred sun bath. if you like to budget accommodation i like to recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room 404 if you are single or couple which is front side and early sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Best location n best place Senter of thamel very good environment very good n smiling helping people felling like a home..small Best and chip hotel in thames.
# they have very good environment.
#they have very good and clean room.
#they have very good service.
# they have free wi-fi service

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajuthapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

: I booked three night at hotel discovery inn, I got free pick up from the Nepal airport to this hotel. I really enjoy saying my total 5 days there. Hotel seems big from the street , attracting from the little bit distance. I got room N. 303 in third floor, where I enjoy early sunrise inside my room and outlook views of garden and street. I feel, quite, easy , comfort there and excellent sunbath in the room. I got tea , breakfast if I order in the room. Really nice kitchen and staff. I buy from them rafting, bungy jumping, chitwan and pokhara tour. More than that chitwan safari I like more. Elephant safari and direct face of the one horned rhino. Thanks for good direction and valued information of my Nepal trip itinerary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walker N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#62 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Kathmandu Friendly Home
#102 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#88 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Discovery Inn

Property: Hotel Discovery Inn
Address: Thamel | Chibhal , Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Discovery Inn is a nice hotel in Thamel for stay. It is conveniently located at Thamel, which is the main tourist attraction center of Kathmandu. We are here to provide you the best accommodations when you come to visit Hotel Discovery Inn and its scenic natural beauty. We provide clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Our services include in room wireless high speed internet, cable color TV with remote control, car or bike parking area, to name a few. Please come to stay in our excellent rooms. Your choice is simple - just try out our hotel and we assure you that you will not be disappointed. We are here to make your stay as convenient as it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing