We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Discovery Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Discovery Inn
Ranked #115 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Actually, iam not good to review where iam staying but some places more impressive and memorize. Hotel is not expensive and no luxurious. For the economic and budget views it is I can say standard tourist hotel. It was my first time my travel in both Asia and Nepal. I heard this hotel from my friend recommendation. Really people are nice, happy mood to welcome me. After my Nepal travel , I have to go India and looking for visa. Hotel staff help my Indian visa process and took me embassy. Specially , Mr Raj show the city center by is motorbike. I like monkey temple originally it name is Swambhuath. Fantastic city views from the yard of the stupa. Like a relative , they help my Nepal travel, suggestion. I taste Nepali triptical thali called Dhal bhat , tarkari was very nice. They show me Nice bar, restaurant around thamel. Simple , standard , clean and peaceful location are other significant of the Hotel.

Room Tip: front sight corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    25
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
31
55
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

. i was stay this Hotel Discovery Inn on february 10 for 2 nights. i really liked this hotel likewise my home in Nepal.All staff are eally kindly n helpful .
any time they ask me you have some problem like this . i m very proud of them . Now i stay in Bhaktpur city for 2 days .so i rembember Discovery Inn . Mr, Pradip who is the manager of hotel suggested me abt bhaktpur ..that information is very helpful for me . i like that hotel they have hot n cold shower,free wi fi . small garden and coffee cafe. i miss discovery Inn .
Serin

Room Tip: roof top room no 501
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was in nepal first time February 1st from delhi.when I reached kathmandu that time I don't know this hotel .I meet 1 nepali girl in flight .we talk for time pass .then she recommended hotel Discovery Inn for good budget hotel .I catch one cab n told abt.hotel .Cab's driver know the hotel n drop me in hotel.
There is nice hot room ., cold n hot shower , , roof top terrace small garden with bananas trees .the all staff are more helpful and good attractive attitude s.they give me all information about Special places of ktm. In the small restaurant on the garden offer me nice nepali coffee.
I use all time free wi fi .
They make me tourist bus ticket for pokhara .so I will leave tomorrow morning this hotel .
When finesh my tour .I will be back again this hotel .
Ghosh s.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sauha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I like first sunny garden when I first going to enter the hotel lobby. Then, simile face of the people were around the reception. They are quite ready to carry the bag pack to the room. I enjoy hot shower as well as I I been in the room, then down for welcome drinks which I already promised drink after shower. They politely ask my planning and eager to share instantly their experience of different touristy repeated places. Within 5 days staying I saw many hotel while I look round the city but I had no mentality to change. I first give my priority getting knowledge about culture, places, temple, people, food. During my stay , I already soluble with all staff of the hotel , so I felt homely environment there.

Room Tip: front side of the room are cosy and eary sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

measure at the the view of the prices hotel is good and budget touristic classes. staff and management are flexible. They have a garden but not well management, still warm and sunny. our kids happy to be there. just there are available tea and basic breakfast in the garden restaurant, we don't mind for that, there are many branded restaurant near the out street from the hotel. Over all , nice and good places due to the quiet location even is is Touristic crowded places. I really like to give thanks kitchen staff and receptionist called Mahila who serve the hotel water and nodule soup if we ordered.Simply, it is nice places, if you are looking standard tourist hostel in thamel.
Maire

Room Tip: steet and garden view front site room are early sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

when i stay at the hotel i merely meet the travelers mainly from the outside the Nepal, specially from the western continent. I visit many places in south east asia, south asia , but in Nepal things are different. I really happy to meet many travelers there are great chance to introduces there. In lobby and garden i meet solo travelers, group travelers and family. In the standard of Nepal, Hotel discovery inn very nice and budge table hotel in the town. General English speaker person but very polite entire hotel team. Even load shedding time in Nepal, they suggest us the routine and remind the situation very politely. I stayed total 5 days in this hotel, i find over all nice impression there.
See you ...and Thanks !!

Room Tip: Front room of first floor very excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suaighesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I saw many hotels in kathmandu valley before going to Nepal travel, then i found Hotel Discovery inn have a best discount offer the room. Before book, i directly call to the HOtel then i fixed the room prices before determination the booking. I arrived kathmandu then directly go to the hotel by catching the taxi from the Hotel. I had nice stay there and tomorrow morning i found many travelers who have also same planning as mine then i got great opportunity share views which help solidarity my planning. Even cold season i had strong determination to go upper mustang trekking. Hotel person recognized the tour operator , finally i booked 10 days trip. I like to great appreciated for all hotel team of Discovery. After my trip, they mange the car for the city tours of kathmandu and Bhaktapur. if some body my friends going to ask me, i like to give the name of HOtel discovery Inn.
Cheers!!

Room Tip: front face room of hotel great and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#62 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Kathmandu Friendly Home
#102 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#88 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Discovery Inn

Property: Hotel Discovery Inn
Address: Thamel | Chibhal , Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Discovery Inn is a nice hotel in Thamel for stay. It is conveniently located at Thamel, which is the main tourist attraction center of Kathmandu. We are here to provide you the best accommodations when you come to visit Hotel Discovery Inn and its scenic natural beauty. We provide clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Our services include in room wireless high speed internet, cable color TV with remote control, car or bike parking area, to name a few. Please come to stay in our excellent rooms. Your choice is simple - just try out our hotel and we assure you that you will not be disappointed. We are here to make your stay as convenient as it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing