We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiteful locaton with Sunny Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Discovery Inn
Ranked #124 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hotel Discovery very nice because of the simplicity everything. staff to owners all are very flexible , simple and helpful. not only that infront of the hotel nice sunny garden where i enjoy with tea, coffee. Even it is cold time in Nepal, i felt unblock sun rising enter from the garden facing room. Total i stayed one week there, i feel family environment, suppose it is my home far from the home. Thanks Mr. Mahila for serve the hot water and meal when i order in the room. Hotel has quite location from the hustle and bustle shopping market. i feel peace and comfort there and declare to stay there in my next trip to Nepal.

Room Tip: Peaceful warm sunny garden
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordleallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Discovery Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 162 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I travel for work a lot and this in one of the best experiences I have had in a very long time. The staff really go above and beyond what I have come to expect. I arrived early and my room wasn’t ready but I left my luggage with the front desk. When I came back to check in my luggage was already placed in the walk in closet in my room. I knew this hotel included breakfast but I wasn’t expecting a nice dining room with a waitress and a menu with hot items and many choices…and all for FREE.
I locked myself out of my room by accident and when I called the front desk someone was there to help me in less than a minute!! Even the staff in the adjoining pub where really fast and attentive. Oh – and the room was nice too. I would definitely stay here next time I am in downtown Vancouver as you can't beat the location either.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hey frien do u wana goto Nepal ktm plz once chance go to thmel in hotel discovery inn .i was go for looking room in there . Staf are really nice , healpful n honest there . Nice front side garden n small restaurent there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghana_Shyam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hey frien do u wana goto Nepal ktm plz once chance go to thmel in hotel discovery inn .i was go for looking room in there januray 3 just stay 3night that timei feel ilive in my home .
Staf are really nice , healpful n honest there . Nice front side garden n small restaurent there. There was early winter monsoontime is cold in kathmandu so discovery they have good sunny room morning 7 to evening 5 pm sun comes in room .oew really nice this hotel .just today i got indian visa .i am checking out discovery inn for go india.
So all friend i wouldlike recomond budget hotel for u.if you r looking budget hotel in ktm Discovery inn is nice for u.byebye Discovery family
:Gen Zhu china

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genzuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked this hotel in my first trip in Nepal according to my friend's suggestion who was stay 6 months before .i spent four nights like a my family member.All the staff of this hotel are very nice .mr shree krishna who is the boss of the hotel .Not only hotel he took me with his family place .that was 2 hour far from hotel .i enjoy Nepali typical food .thanks for such kind of the hospitality & closeness.
- Bethany

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceje294212, Manager at Hotel Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Bethany,
Thanks for reviews about our hotel, staff and service which really inspiring us to do more good service. On the entire of the hotel team of the Discovery inn, we like to give warm welcome again in our hotel. we are waiting for you
Pradip
Hotel Discovery inn,
Thamel, Kathmandu Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hotel discovery inn is located in the heart of the beautiful city of Kathmandu .it lies withen 20 minutes drive from the airport .hotel is very nice .they provide me comfortable accommodation ,but also friendly service and cheap room for me .
Thanks you Discovery family

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

When I was looking hotel in Kathmandu, encounterly I find this hotel . I very impressed good behaviours of the hotel staff and chillout with the local people in yards .all people whom I meet in the sunny garden infrond of the hotel they were quit friendly and open minded.we share tea, coffee with interesting conversation such as culture, politics about Nepal.
Nice n clean clean room, fast room service, lovely hot shower, free wi- fi are quite significant .I like to recommendation staying there .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santhan33364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#51 of 207 in Kathmandu
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Kathmandu Friendly Home
#111 of 207 in Kathmandu
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.8 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#139 of 207 in Kathmandu
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 207 in Kathmandu
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Discovery Inn

Address: Thamel | Chibhal , Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Discovery Inn is a nice hotel in Thamel for stay. It is conveniently located at Thamel, which is the main tourist attraction center of Kathmandu. We are here to provide you the best accommodations when you come to visit Hotel Discovery Inn and its scenic natural beauty. We provide clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Our services include in room wireless high speed internet, cable color TV with remote control, car or bike parking area, to name a few. Please come to stay in our excellent rooms. Your choice is simple - just try out our hotel and we assure you that you will not be disappointed. We are here to make your stay as convenient as it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing