We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and affordable”
Review of Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant - CLOSED

Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant
Price range: $1 - $2
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend and I couldn't resist trying this place after seeing the cute digital sign saying "Recommended by Lonely Planet". The palak paneer was delicious without being too heavy, the paneer dosa was the best dosa I've ever had, and the lassis were perfect, not too sweet or sour. There is a floor sitting area with cushions too. The family that runs this place seem really friendly. Don't miss eating here if you are passing through Thamel!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Meryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 119 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Best Pit stop for Veggies when around Thamel . I loved the experience

Pros
1) Fantastic tasting Veg only food , (even Vegan and other menus available)
2) Value for Money (Thali abt Nepali Rs 200 only ..!!!- Apr 2013)
3) Very friendly service
4) Wide Indian friendly Menu including packaged water
5) lovely place to spend some peaceful time

Con
1) Its a Home with basic Infra - but clean . it could be better
2) Small entrance - you could miss easily

I would surely love to go back to this more more often

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rejenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your valuable review, and we determine to excel, providing the best customer satisfaction, with the improvement of relevant fields...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After having eaten for two days in the 5 star I stayed paying exorbitant rates, I finally found this restaurant and visited it everyday during my stay in KTM. The husband and wife run restaurant is the ultimate. Centrally located in Thamel near Nursing chowk, it has good ambience, good food that is reasonably priced and free wifi for guests. Try this place for sure.
Srinivasan,
Muscat, Oman

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank arsrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Delicious vegetarian menu..... a tasty simple spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Rooms are basic, yet inexpensive and in a great location in the centre of Thamel.

The real charm of this place is the host family whose genuine welcoming hospitality and kindness spur an easy recommendation.

Perfect for backpackers.

2  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Found this place because I went for food but saw they offered rooms and they were the cheapest I could find given that they were perfectly clean (the bathrooms could do with a new lick of paint but this can be ignored!). The food is really really nice, cheap and come in big portions - particularly recommend the all you can eat veg thali, and there is a roof balcony as well, and they bring food up there which is nice in the morning. Only problem I found was the rooms are lacking in natural light but i spent most of my time when in the hotel on the roof so wasn't really an issue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing