We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the best place to stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Astoria Hotel
Ranked #145 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not the best place to stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I WOULD ADVISE PEOPLE TO FIND ANOTHER HOTEL CLOSER TO TOWN AND ONE WHICH RAN ITS GENERATOR WHEN THE POWER WAS DOWN
This hotel has the items it says on the website but they do not work, they have a generator which they say they cannot get diesel, therefore no air conditioning no tv and am unable to charge laptop and or phone as there is no power, as the main power supply in kathmandu only works for about 3 hrs during the day, and then turns on again at 1.00 am until 4.00 am them no power again until about 3.00 pm until 5.00 pm if your lucky. I stayed for 3 days and for 3 days no hot water for showering, and no light in the bathroom when the power is out, they state that someone left the hot tap running, they did when told about it on the second day offer another room to shower in. Also they did not inform me by supplying vouchers or by telling me that the price included breakfast.
The staff in the property where very nice and tried their best and the food was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorianepal, General Manager at Royal Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your feed back and I apologies for inconvenient cause during your stay. Regarding the power cut off, this is a national crisis in Nepal except few luxury hotels in Nepal, most hotel are out of full electricity supply, we have been lucky this year as we had only 5/6 hrs power cut , In the past we were out of power 18 hrs each day. However we do have a battery back up light for each room. It is a reality that we had to queue for diesel during the February-May(hot weather) as all the industries are operated by diesel plants resulting fuel shortage in the station. We have noted your comment seriously and try our best to improve the services and look forward to welcome you again assuring you the excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naalehu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

With the new year having arrived, I'm thinking back to when I was in Nepal and in need of extra help because of my fractured ankle. I'm so grateful to Manager of the Royal Astoria Hotel, Nagendra, and his staff for all they did to make me functional and comfortable! I will never forget their kindness and consideration from finding an ace bandage to crutches and meals served in my room. The list could go on and on. I'm very happy to be able to write this review and recommend this hotel strongly. I go there almost every year. Mary Carroll, Chair, Nepal Foundation

Room Tip: ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorianepal, General Manager at Royal Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mary ,

We are proud that we are able to satisfy your requirement at Royal Astoria Hotel. This is our great pleasure to welcome you again at Royal Astoria Hotel from 6-7 and 20-27 September 2013.We always welcome your feed back and strive to offer our customer best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Hard to get there... Taxi's makes a few U-turns before finding the place.

You need to take a 30 min - 500-600r ride to get to Thamel. The taxi ride is a capharnaum as you must drive through traffic jams and extreme pollution to get to Thamel. I suggest a mask! And add 1000-1200r to your daily hotel budget.

The hotel offer car and driver for hire, but they actually make affair with an agency in Thamel for which they take a big commission. So a 4000r ride can cost you 2500r if you organize it yourself.. But again, the driver you hire must find the hotel, which is not an easy task. Catch22 thing!!

The internet worked 50% of the time. Since the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, you can't find alternatives for the WIFI. Thamel as many WIFI cafes.....

The hotel is beside a High School. So lots of noise from the school yard. Not better than Thamel, for this point.

The view is ok.... Nothing magical.

The beds are as hard as a Tatami... You could practice Judo on them. Couldn't sleep without turning 20 times in the night because of aches.

To conclude, we have found that this hotel does not offer more quality or tranquility than staying in the center. For the same price in Thamel you can find very nice hotels, having private garden for peace and quiet. And no more need to drive 60 min in the pollution to get in and out of Thamel.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the opposite side of the school yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We were bumped here at 1am and were pleasantly surprised by the courteous service, clean, quiet rooms and sample breakfast.

The only downside is it's distance from downtown Thamel.

Room Tip: The hotel itself is in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bollidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Northfield
Hotel Northfield
#143 of 194 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prince Plaza
Hotel Prince Plaza
#109 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bagmati
Hotel Bagmati
#110 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Brihaspati
Hotel Brihaspati
#178 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nepal Tara
Hotel Nepal Tara
#119 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Everest Mount Holiday
Hotel Everest Mount Holiday
#134 of 194 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Astoria Hotel

Property: Royal Astoria Hotel
Address: Bansbari, Hattigaunda, Kathmandu 981, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built "Royal Astoria Hotel" is a truly international hotel, located in the most quiet and pollution free area of Bansbari , Hattigaunda, Kathmandu, 5 Kilometer north from Thamel. One and half Kilometer from Australian, American, Thai, Bangladesh and Pakistan Embassy. We are only 15 minutes drive from the international airport. Easy access to all tourist attraction. The private balconies offer Budhanilkantha (sleeping Vishnu) temple, Shivapuri National Reserve, Kopan Monastry and Boudhanath. Astoria has 25 tastefully decorated Deluxe rooms all featuring private bathroom, Cable TV, IDD telephone. Wi-Fi & Cable internet access and writing desk makes your business simpler, you can mix your own drinks from our well stocked mini bar. Air-conditioning can be set to your preferred level. Pure air, well lighted, clean & comfortable rooms and twin or double bedroom studios equipped with air condition, refrigerator, kitchenette with two ring electric hob, electric kettle for tea/coffee are available for those who wish to stay longer. Royal Astoria Hotel offers a ADA compliant room for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing