We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for the Money”
Review of Peak Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peak Point Hotel
Ranked #116 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel to stay at. 24 hrs hot water, staff are very cooperative and friendly (deven). Room was neat and clean. wi-fi facility is available 24hrs and its free of cost. Location of hotel is also nice and nearby some of the touristic attraction. Breakfast was nice and freshly prepared. They have also got tours n several adventure trip packages which we can easily go to without any hassale.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had highlighted to us where we have failed in our service.

We take pride in listening and knowing our guest’s needs and to ensure that our guest's needs are met wherever possible. We will continue to be responsive to our guest's evolving needs as well as work harder to deliver better value to our guests.
Breakfast time is real busy time for the kitchen staff, from preparation to serving and we are trying our best to cope in all aspects. In view of your feedback we will definitely think of some other alternatives to improve our service.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Peak Point, and Re-discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

peak point hotel is of good value, friendly staff, clean room and strategically well located within tourist attractions. They also provide good travel assistance tomop other major temple sightseeing within kathmandu valley and also great himalayan views in nagarkot. i will certainly coming back again for subsequent visit. Many thanks to Sujan,Manish,Devendra
karki,Gopal,Leo and others for their kind assistance to us.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and greetings from Peak Point Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Our team at Peak Point wishes you all the best.

Stay Peak Point, and discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Namaste! I've stayed in Peak Point Hotel for two nights in the middle of December. Hot shower was available 24 hrs. same as Nepali tea to make you feel warm.
Hotel is located in the heart of Kathmandu and tourist hub of vibrant Thamel, just around the corner you can find restaurants, shops and everything you just looking for. Quite close to Swayambhunath Stupa and Durbar Square, airport around 20-30 mints.
Room was clean, tidy and confortable with bathroom attached, TV and air conditioning in the room. The breakfast was also included prepared by friendly kitchen staff. Occasional power cuts but after time you can used to it as it problem in whole Kathmandu. There is really good free WI FI and PC access in the lobby.
To be honest they forgot to pick me up from the airport, but complimentary drop off was provided.
Front Desk by Deven and Gopal like in 5stars hotel, that guys will make your stay brilliant :) What makes this place unique is staff. I truly want to say thank you as well to Sujen, Snish and Leo and other guys for great Nepalese hospitality.
In case this hotel is busy they have sister hotel Kathmandu Home on the opposite side of a similar standard and service.
Great place to stay in Kathmandu especially if you are there for the first time.

Room Tip: take deluxe room to feel more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabelpenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel!!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Our team at Peak Point are delighted that they have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest.
We also thank you for having place your trust in us to arrange your travel itinerary within Nepal, and with every satisfied customer, we know that we are delivering the right product and service that all travelers to my beautiful country expects.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Stay Peak Point Hotel, and experience……

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a first time visit to nepal from 20th-25th december and we booked peak point hotel for that duration.

The hotel services were great. The staffs were friendly and tries to accomodate to our requests where possible,without hesitations.We felt very much like home.

Best thing i liked is that we were served with 'chai'whenever we felt like having one,and that was great considering December is a cold mth.

Like the cleanliness of the rooms too..

Cozy and nice hotel in the heart of thamel...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mysorerani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and greetings from Peak Point Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Our team at Peak Point wishes you all the best.

Stay Peak Point, and discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Peak Point Hotel is a great place to stay, helpful and friendly staff, good value, clean and its near shopping area. Hotel arranged our tours to Pokhara, Nagarkot and other famous tourist areas in Kathmandu. Thanks to Sujen, Manish, Gopal and Leo for taking great of us.

Room Tip: Great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karennara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel...

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our team at Peak Point are delighted that they have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality.

Just as you are excited about the opening of our sister hotel which is just across the road from where Peak Point is situated, we are also looking towards the opening in July with much anticipation. Hotel Kathmandu Home is the name of our new sister hotel and hope you would be coming back soon to enjoy the facilities.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Peak point hotel is a budget hotel and therefore should be reviewed as one. We stayed there for 6 nights in total as we had to cut our trek short early as my girlfriend got altitude sickness, but here refers an honest and practical review of the hotel from our experience so you can manage your expectations wisely.

Location - hard to beat as slap bang in middle of Thamel but away from main road so less fighting with noise of local bars and shops. It is in a developing area with new hotels springing up close by, so occasionally construction work can be heard in daytime. I strongly advise that you take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as it can, like all hotels in Kathmandu, be a little noisy at night. My girlfriend and I were fine however sleeping without ear plugs throughout our stay.

Rooms - big, comfortable and well laid out. Water sometimes temperamental but works fine 95% of the time.

Food - only had included breakfast but typical Nepal version of Continental or American brekkies, perfectly fine and filling.

Staff - this is what sets Peak Point apart from other budget hotels. Sujan, the manager is friendly, polite and very helpful. He organises treks as well as helping with management of hotel. The reception staff never stop smiling and are very caring and attentive. Was a pleasure to greet them every day. The young boys working as porters/kitchen are some of the hardest working hotel staff I have encountered in over 95 countries travel. Nothing is ever a problem with the staff here.

Power - occasional power cuts, again a problem in all of Kathmandu. 'Loadshedding' as it is known, is common but only for a few hours a day. The notice of planned cuts in Thamel is posted on the hotel notice board on first floor which is useful. I hope the government get this ongoing problem fixed, for the sake of the local people that are so used to being on and off power. Really was never a problem for us.

In short, it is an excellently located hotel, with more than adequate facilities and rooms for the budget price. The wonderful hotel staff make the hotel friendly and approachable every day. It is used if booking a trek with Alpine Club of Himalaya trekking agency, which is a handy inclusion pre and post trek that some other trekking agencies do not offer. It is not the Hilton, but for the price you could never expect it to be. It has everything a modern traveller/trekker needs when arriving in Nepal.

Also kind of hotel to offer pick up from airport (for free). Just tip the driver as you see fit.

Remember this is a budget hotel, so cannot be criticised as some seem to do despite the bargain price paid. Worth a stay, there's nothing terrible about this hotel at all

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lucian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel !!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel.
We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and we strive to improve on our facilities and services to meet the needs of our guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Stay Peak Point to experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My adult sons stayed here over Christmas. The price was very reasonable. They suffer with the same electrical problems you find throughout Kathmandu but try to deal with them a sense of humor and a sincere apology. The. Complimentary
Breakfast was excellent. The front desk guys Deven and Gopal were great and accommodated us in anyway they could . I truly want to thank them and the hotel for a super stay

Stayed: December 2013
Thank frankie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point !!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Though a budget hotel, we, our team at Peak Point, take pride in delivering great value to our guest and would be delighted to go the extra mile to create a great experience for our guest.
Breakfast, we do have a few options, although simple and basic, it does kick start your adventurous day. However, we regret that we are unable to provide you with toiletries such as hair and body shampoos as these products are considered luxurious.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#52 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 209 in Kathmandu
705 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Point Hotel

Address: Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 9572, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peak Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Point, which was opened in 2009 is an inner city hotel, it oozes personality and charms as it was created with the discerning traveler in mind. Our 20 charming rooms are of cosmopolitan class where we have integrated the flow through of space & light, the softest hues of earth, the sparkles of precious metals and ambient lightings to embrace the concept of less is more. To add to the above, our location is the key factor, as there is none other than where Peak Point is....Peak Point Hotel is situated at Thamel and just 5 minutes walking distance to get to the Green Line Bus Station. Also walking distance from Kathmandu Durbar Square (Historical Place). It takes 25 minutes from International Airport to Hotel. Peak Point has 15 standard rooms, 15 deluxe rooms and 5 suite rooms. We do have free airport pickup service which is most essential for the customers to feel comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Peak Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing