We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff and good place to stay”
Review of Peak Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peak Point Hotel
Ranked #112 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Peak Point Hotel is a great place to stay, helpful and friendly staff, good value, clean and its near shopping area. Hotel arranged our tours to Pokhara, Nagarkot and other famous tourist areas in Kathmandu. Thanks to Sujen, Manish, Gopal and Leo for taking great of us.

Room Tip: Great place
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karennara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel...

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our team at Peak Point are delighted that they have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality.

Just as you are excited about the opening of our sister hotel which is just across the road from where Peak Point is situated, we are also looking towards the opening in July with much anticipation. Hotel Kathmandu Home is the name of our new sister hotel and hope you would be coming back soon to enjoy the facilities.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Peak Point Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 362 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Peak point hotel is a budget hotel and therefore should be reviewed as one. We stayed there for 6 nights in total as we had to cut our trek short early as my girlfriend got altitude sickness, but here refers an honest and practical review of the hotel from our experience so you can manage your expectations wisely.

Location - hard to beat as slap bang in middle of Thamel but away from main road so less fighting with noise of local bars and shops. It is in a developing area with new hotels springing up close by, so occasionally construction work can be heard in daytime. I strongly advise that you take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as it can, like all hotels in Kathmandu, be a little noisy at night. My girlfriend and I were fine however sleeping without ear plugs throughout our stay.

Rooms - big, comfortable and well laid out. Water sometimes temperamental but works fine 95% of the time.

Food - only had included breakfast but typical Nepal version of Continental or American brekkies, perfectly fine and filling.

Staff - this is what sets Peak Point apart from other budget hotels. Sujan, the manager is friendly, polite and very helpful. He organises treks as well as helping with management of hotel. The reception staff never stop smiling and are very caring and attentive. Was a pleasure to greet them every day. The young boys working as porters/kitchen are some of the hardest working hotel staff I have encountered in over 95 countries travel. Nothing is ever a problem with the staff here.

Power - occasional power cuts, again a problem in all of Kathmandu. 'Loadshedding' as it is known, is common but only for a few hours a day. The notice of planned cuts in Thamel is posted on the hotel notice board on first floor which is useful. I hope the government get this ongoing problem fixed, for the sake of the local people that are so used to being on and off power. Really was never a problem for us.

In short, it is an excellently located hotel, with more than adequate facilities and rooms for the budget price. The wonderful hotel staff make the hotel friendly and approachable every day. It is used if booking a trek with Alpine Club of Himalaya trekking agency, which is a handy inclusion pre and post trek that some other trekking agencies do not offer. It is not the Hilton, but for the price you could never expect it to be. It has everything a modern traveller/trekker needs when arriving in Nepal.

Also kind of hotel to offer pick up from airport (for free). Just tip the driver as you see fit.

Remember this is a budget hotel, so cannot be criticised as some seem to do despite the bargain price paid. Worth a stay, there's nothing terrible about this hotel at all

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lucian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel !!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel.
We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and we strive to improve on our facilities and services to meet the needs of our guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Stay Peak Point to experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My adult sons stayed here over Christmas. The price was very reasonable. They suffer with the same electrical problems you find throughout Kathmandu but try to deal with them a sense of humor and a sincere apology. The. Complimentary
Breakfast was excellent. The front desk guys Deven and Gopal were great and accommodated us in anyway they could . I truly want to thank them and the hotel for a super stay

Stayed: December 2013
Thank frankie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point !!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Though a budget hotel, we, our team at Peak Point, take pride in delivering great value to our guest and would be delighted to go the extra mile to create a great experience for our guest.
Breakfast, we do have a few options, although simple and basic, it does kick start your adventurous day. However, we regret that we are unable to provide you with toiletries such as hair and body shampoos as these products are considered luxurious.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and extended our stay to three. Overall it was a very good experience.

Airport transfer was hassle free and on arrival met Mr Deven who was welcoming and accommodating.

Rooms are clean and basic. You probably won't find better value elsewhere in Kathmandu. We had hot water at any time despite load shedding.

Breakfast was decent and included in the price.

The best part was that Deven organised day trips for us at good rates with taxis. Gave us some advice on prices and places to see.

I would definitely recommend this place especially for first time visitors to Nepal.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AlVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel...

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our team at Peak Point are delighted that they have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality.

Just as you are excited about the opening of our sister hotel which is just across the road from where Peak Point is situated, we are also looking towards the opening in July with much anticipation. Hotel Kathmandu Home is the name of our new sister hotel and hope you would be coming back soon to enjoy the facilities.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I did a quick booking through expedia while I was traveling from pokhara to Kathmandu, and I regret my decision. We managed to stay 1 night. The moment i checked in, i decided to look for an alternative for next day. Hotel doesn't have lift nor a working restaurant. Street that goes to hotel has not light. Keeping the room neat and clean is something they we not aware of.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neel4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review and sharing your personal opinion of Peak Point with us.
Location is certainly one of our main draw for most of our foreign guests. Being situated at the fringe of Thamel, guest enjoys the peace and warmth within the hotel premise and the convenience of other amenities which is within walking distance, could it be a restaurant, sightseeing, shopping for souvenirs etc.
It is of paramount importance to us that every guest departs our hotel with fond memories of our warm Nepalese hospitality and service. Our team had built a strong service culture to enhance the stay of our guest and will continue to build on this so that our guest can enjoy a comfortable stay.
We regret that you had not enjoyed your stay with us due to some minor setbacks such as a leaking tap, the way our bathroom ventilation windows were designed (Nepali design) with no panes and no curtains everywhere. Rest assured, all rooms with windows that require curtains are furnished with curtains and all towels for the next use are laundered clean.
The premises of the hotel are kept clean and tidy everyday by our team of dedicated Nepali speaking female housekeepers. The room will not be clean if the guest request that they do not want their room to be cleaned, otherwise, all rooms are cleaned without fail and cleaning is done during the time guest are not in the room, so that our guest will not be disturbed. For hotels all over the world, from no star to 5*, it has been done this way, that’s why you have not seen your room being cleaned.
Sad to say, we have NO control over situations like dogs barking, rain causing puddles of water on the road, loud disco clubs affecting all hotels in Thamel, no street lights along alleys and roads and load shedding which affects nearly every hotel in Thamel as well as the whole of Nepal. Where Nature is concern, nobody can control, other than nature, only the relevant Government bodies have control over the operation of disco clubs, the installation of street lights, the building of roads around and leading up to any building and when we could have electricity. We, the citizens of Nepal are also agonizing with you.

I believe, most international travelers visiting Nepal, a 3rd world country, will come with an open mind and not expect conditions here to be comparable to their country of origin or to the developed countries elsewhere. Your description of Peak Point being dingy (dirty looking, shabby) is just being mean by all standards. Peak Point, although a budget hotel, is far from your description and is never dingy. We could not afford to provide you with 4* or 5* facilities and services as we are a budget hotel and charging only budget rates of which I think you do understand.
Aside from your unhappiness with us, hope you had enjoyed your holiday in my beautiful country and had gone home with many positive happy memories of Nepal.
Last, but not least, we do appreciate constructive feedbacks to improve and up our service to serve our future guests better and we are still learning from our guest’s feedbacks.


SUJAN LAMICHHANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Peak Point Hotel is a great value for the money. We stayed three nights, and will stay there again.The entire staff (especially Deven) are very friendly and helpful 24 hours, and can help with booking any adventure at a great price. Our room was very clean, spacious, with a fridge, AC, free WiFi, and a flat screen TV with many english-speaking channels (CNN). The location is one block from some of the best shopping in Kathmandu. Free airport pick-up and drop off. Excellent breakfast of eggs, potatos, porrage/cereal, toast, tea/coffee. Yes, there are power outages in Kathmandu, usually only in the mornings for a couple hours, but the Peak Point has a generator that kicks on, so you will never be without hot water and Wi-Fi. Overall, excellent value that we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdMcSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you have discovered and evaluate our products and services with good ratings.
Our team at Peak Point Hotel is delighted with your appreciation of their performance in customer care, along with our warm Nepalese hospitality that had made a difference to your stay.
It is our pleasure to have you as our guest to experience and discover what we can offer to our guest without paying steep rates which do not commensurate with the facilities available.

We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to deliver great value and service to our guest as our guest's satisfaction is our main concern.

Yes, we are near to where shops, restaurants, local markets and bus terminals are, and all travelers are able to buy their climbing equipments/ gears at reasonably cheap rates for their great adventure in the mountains since our location is only within a short walking distance away. We are right in Thamel, our tourist hub, but, away from the hustle and bustle of our urban living whereby our valued guest are able to sleep and rest well before or after their great mountain adventure .
We thank you for making Peak Point Hotel your choice and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Stay Peak Point Hotel, and re-Discover…….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

a great place to stay. you really get treated well.....!!! if the staff can organise they will!! an honest , warm hearted place to stay in a gr8 location.
the staff are more than happy to sort out any additional travel wishes, they are honest and helpful and add a great dimension to your travel experience. you really feel welcomed and get that real feel of what makes NEPAL such an amazing place to visit. my 19th trip and always veryhappy to stay at peak point!!

Room Tip: you won't be disappointed if you stay here. staff are really helpful, friendly, great service an...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and greetings from Peak Point Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Our team at Peak Point wishes you all the best.

Stay Peak Point, and discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Home Hotel
Kathmandu Home Hotel
#82 of 207 in Kathmandu
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
0.2 mi away
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
#44 of 207 in Kathmandu
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#51 of 207 in Kathmandu
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Point Hotel

Address: Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 9572, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peak Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Point, which was opened in 2009 is an inner city hotel, it oozes personality and charms as it was created with the discerning traveler in mind. Our 20 charming rooms are of cosmopolitan class where we have integrated the flow through of space & light, the softest hues of earth, the sparkles of precious metals and ambient lightings to embrace the concept of less is more. To add to the above, our location is the key factor, as there is none other than where Peak Point is....Peak Point Hotel is situated at Thamel and just 5 minutes walking distance to get to the Green Line Bus Station. Also walking distance from Kathmandu Durbar Square (Historical Place). It takes 25 minutes from International Airport to Hotel. Peak Point has 15 standard rooms, 15 deluxe rooms and 5 suite rooms. We do have free airport pickup service which is most essential for the customers to feel comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Peak Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing