We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed twice during our trip in Nepal”
Review of Peak Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peak Point Hotel
Ranked #118 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff in Peak Point Hotel are really friendly. We stayed the first days of our trip in Nepal, when we arrived in Kathmandu. And after the trekking we stayed again in Peak Point before we went back home. Both times we had different rooms, the rooms with the double-bed slept really well. The hotel is located in the center of Kathmandu, it's a short walk to the bus station, the 'backpackers' center of the city. Nice hotel to stay during the trip in Nepal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Greetings from Nepal !!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories for our guest.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Peak Point, and discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 362 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Coming back again to Nepal, left me without doubt that I would choose for Hotel Peak Point again, where my first stay was very pleasant!

The price/quality of hotel Peak Point is excellent, you get a lot more than in other hotels where you pay the same price or even more. The location is very good, still in Thamel, but not in the most crowded center area, which makes the nights a lot more peaceful and quiet.

The rooms are clean, double beds (very comfortable), a television with many channels (I don't use it though) and a nice clean and new bathroom.
Your room can be cleaned whenever you want and you will get fresh towels and fresh bedspree's.

Then comes the best part: the staff. Whatever problems you have they will help you with anything. Furthermore they treat you like you are part of their family, which makes you feel like home, even though you can be on the other side of the world!

Manish (day) and Prakash (night) from the reception can turn even the worst moods into a day full of joy and bliss.

Brish, the manager, always there, as if he is part of the furniture, will help you with anything. Whether you want to do a trekking, a day trip or whatever, you get the best price and quality! It is reliable and cheap compared to other companies.

The cooking staff consisting of Mahesh and Sundar will always provide you with the type of breakfast that you order. The standard breakfast consists of juice, tea or coffee, 2 pieces of toast with butter and jam, an omelette and some potatoes with vegetables. If you are really hungry you can always ask for more toasts.

During the daytime, you can always ask for coffee or tea as well, and you don't have to pay anything extra to get it as often as you want! They even offer it themselves, which shows the great service.

Sujan, the owner, always smiling and asking how your day was. It can be seen that he cares about his guests and there wellbeing, which is another reason to choose this hotel for! If you encounter any problems, no matter what, he is always there to help out and search for a suiting solution.

I could write 10 pages of all my fantastic experiences here, but that wouldn't even suffice to tell how happy I am with my stay at Peak Point!

Do not search for anything else, just choose Peak Point and your holiday will be perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Greetings from Nepal !!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest and upgrading of facilities is an ongoing process. Our guest's satisfaction is our main objective and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories of Nepal for our guest.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Peak Point soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for a few days at Hotel Peak Point. We had a great time at this place. The staff is nice, friendly, helpfull and they all speak english. They have nice rooms, soft beds, hot showers and the rooms are clean. The hotel is placed very good, within a few minutes you are at the center of Thamel, but you don't hear any noices from the street.

We booked a package, this package included a trekking trough the Himalaya and a visit at Chitwan National Park. The arrangements were good, just as the hotel is.

Greets from Holland
Susanne & Tom

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel!!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Stay Peak Point Hotel, and experience………

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is perfectly placed in the centre of Thamel and within walking distance of most attractions and some decent resteraunts. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, you'll never feel lonely even if travelling alone. The breakfasts are satisfactory and the rooms are simple and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel!!!


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We take pride in listening and knowing our guest’s needs and to ensure that our guest's needs are met wherever possible. We will continue to be responsive to our guest's evolving needs as well as up our service standards to deliver great value to our guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel was very disappointing. It was relatively expensive (25$ per night for a couple), and definitely not worth the money. The room was dirty (tons of dust on the floor) and noisy because of the disco club nearby. The location is also not great - in order to get to the hotel you need to walk through a relatively dark alley, which I really didn't like. Most of the staff is not very nice and some don't (or barely) speak English. The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is if you go there, talk to Sujan, a very nice man who will give you some good tips about the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank someone_else123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Namaste and Greetings from Nepal!!!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review and sharing your personal opinion of Peak Point with us.
Location is certainly one of our main draw together with our warm Nepalese hospitality and service.
It is of paramount importance to us that every guest departs our hotel with fond memories of our warm Nepalese hospitality and service, as we treat each guest as an individual and do our best to cater to their different needs.
This could only be achieved by our frontline team being able to communicate fairly well in English with all our foreign guests that we serve daily. Though there are limitations in their understanding of the language, there are also some other nationalities that do not or barely can understand and speak English well.
Our team had built a strong service culture to enhance the stay of our guest and will continue to build on this so that our guest can enjoy a comfortable stay. In this aspect, the premises of the hotel are kept clean and tidy everyday by our team of dedicated Nepali speaking female housekeepers who does not even have the privilege of having an education, let alone being educated in the English medium.
Sad to say, we have NO control over situations like the disco clubs, street lights and load shedding which affects nearly every hotel in Thamel as well as the whole of Nepal. Only the relevant Government bodies have control over the operation of disco clubs, the installation of street lights, the building of roads around and leading up to any building and when we could have electricity. We, the citizens of Nepal are also agonizing with you.
We regret that you have considered the payment of US$25/- for a night’s stay for a couple, which works out to US$12.50 per person in our small budget hotel as not worth the money. Please be inform and also take into consideration that though the US$ has depreciated in value for quite some time, our rates has remained constant.
Possibly, you would not have encountered any disappointments if you have stayed in a 4* or 5 * hotel which is away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel. But then, I think it is far more expensive for you to pay for the 4* or 5* stars treatment as you have considered paying $25/- for a couple per night to be relatively expensive.
Hope you had enjoyed your holiday in my beautiful country and had gone home with many positive happy memories of Nepal.
Last, but not least, we do appreciate constructive feedbacks to improve and up our service to serve our future guests better and we are still learning from our guest’s feedbacks.

Best Regards
SUJAN LAMICHHANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location is perfect to visit the city (10 minutes walking to Durbar Square) and just south of Thamel (which is perfect to have dinner or a drink). The staff is friendly and helpful.
However, cleanliness could be better (rooms and restaurant) and they should at least check the supplies of the rooms (toilet paper and soap) each day. Normally due to the power cuts, WIFI and TV did not work. Staff should be aware that sometimes people does not like to be push in order to get short trips, fly tickets, etc...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Thank you for your review of Peak Point Hotel, and having chosen it as your choice of accommodation while in Kathmandu.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies to you over the issue of ‘booked/prepaid room being not available’ due to a lapse in our booking system. We are doing our best to manage all bookings manually the whole year through, especially during the peak periods. Manually is because, only the big hotels (4* & 5*) have the Property Management System (PMS) in place, but all other hotels in Nepal are still managing their bookings manually as it is not within the means of the small budget hotels to have the system in place and hope you understand our situation.
Most guests, having stayed with us are happy in our warm budget hotel, and we, at Peak Point are glad that you have found Peak Point Hotel to be a relatively good spot to stay in spite of the unfortunate episode.

We understand your disappointment/frustration for not rating Peak Point Hotel in better light due to the episode, but you have nonetheless, appreciated our team’s friendly and helpful service, our in house travel help desk, the room rates offered as being good for the price and our good location in your review, and this goes to prove that Peak Point Hotel is an ideal place to stay while in Kathmandu.
Hope you will make Peak Point Hotel your future accommodation if you come to my beautiful country again in the near future, thus giving us an opportunity to make good in the area where we have failed.
Lastly, hope you have enjoyed your trip and wishing you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We must leverage our expectations when reading this review, since we're talking about a good value hotel for its location (we could walk almost everywhere from there) and cleanliness.
What counted the most for me was the hospitality of the people in charge, that were always very helpful in an altruistic manner, which is very rare to find in this region. The event that I left some good behind and contacted them back to send me it to the next hotel I was staying in India and they did it promptly, was for me an experience that tells me a lot about them.
So, the considering the price range, I believe it will be very hard to find any better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Peak Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Peak Point Hotel...

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Peak Point Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our team at Peak Point are delighted that they have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality.

Just as you are excited about the opening of our sister hotel which is just across the road from where Peak Point is situated, we are also looking towards the opening in July with much anticipation. Hotel Kathmandu Home is the name of our new sister hotel and hope you would be coming back soon to enjoy the facilities.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#37 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#16 of 210 in Kathmandu
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#58 of 210 in Kathmandu
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Point Hotel

Address: Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 9572, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peak Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Point, which was opened in 2009 is an inner city hotel, it oozes personality and charms as it was created with the discerning traveler in mind. Our 20 charming rooms are of cosmopolitan class where we have integrated the flow through of space & light, the softest hues of earth, the sparkles of precious metals and ambient lightings to embrace the concept of less is more. To add to the above, our location is the key factor, as there is none other than where Peak Point is....Peak Point Hotel is situated at Thamel and just 5 minutes walking distance to get to the Green Line Bus Station. Also walking distance from Kathmandu Durbar Square (Historical Place). It takes 25 minutes from International Airport to Hotel. Peak Point has 15 standard rooms, 15 deluxe rooms and 5 suite rooms. We do have free airport pickup service which is most essential for the customers to feel comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peak Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing