We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge potential...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The sparkling turtle overall is a fantastic community feeling hostel. It boasts large rooms and lovely common room area; a great place to meet other tourists. Mostly was clean, bathrooms were occasionally a bit grubby but with just one cleaner its hard to mark them down for this. Food was absolutely fantastic, doing a range of western comfort foods cooked to perfection. The menu had transformed into a burger bar for our stay, but you could pretty much ask for anything and they would be happy to do it for you. The one down side to the food was the price, expect to pay around 400 for a meat burger, and around 300 for a veg one. Rooms were fairly well priced however our biggest niggle was the hidden vat which adds another 13% to everything, and which adds quite a bit to the bill! This and having no hot water let us down a little and was probably down to rather haphazardous management. Despite these little upsets it was a lovely stay, the owners are so kind and helpful, even looking after me when I was sick at 5am! Thank you sparkling turtle

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bencalumkesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

good place if you are looking for a base for trekking to meet up with lots of other english speaking tourists. The place does the job, friendly staff and backpackers and the food is very nice. it is a real mission from thamel however and the airport prices the hostel charge are 1000 but you can easily get it for 600npr. on the down side i wouldnt trust the man who comes in to book excursions and the sheets smell of urine.. but on the whole a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friends0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Loved staying here. The Sparkling Turtle is definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed in. We truly enjoyed our time there and wish we could have stayed longer. To start off, my wife and I got a double private, en-suite. It was huge and the bathroom/shower was enormous. It is in a great location and the only really noisy part of the neighborhood was the baboons early in the morning. They make a bit of noise when they jump down onto the corrugated roofs. Akash is a great host and is great about helping you figure out things to do and getting you in touch with who you need to accomplish what you want to do. Motu is a great chef and I would gladly go back there just for the food. The best part of the place is the atmosphere that is cultivated among the guests. We truly enjoyed our nights sitting in the restaurant, drinking, eating, and chatting with the other guests and the staff. If you are heading to Kathmandu, by all means, stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

the location is just great, away from noisy thamel and right next to the monkey temple, so watch out in the morning and close the windows and doors, so that these sneaky ones don't get in. The food is delicious, the bathrooms are modern, spacious and super clean, the beds (which are just mattresses on the floor) are soft and comfy. Cozy lounge area is perfect for meeting like-minded travelers. highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comrade z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Sparkling Turtle is something else, a beautiful accomodation in the nice area of Swayambu (Monkey Temple). A great place to escape the crowded Thamel. The Canadian owners are warm and welcoming and will make you feel at home instantly. They have dorm rooms with the most beautifuly maintained shared bathrooms you will see in Nepal, but also offer the option of a private room with bathroom. The kitchen en bar are a great place to meet other people and the Nepali staff is very open and speek good english. Plus, the food is delicious! Breakfast included.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maartje89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Sparkling Turtle is defiantly the best hostel i have used. It is very communal which is excellent for solo travelers to meet people. The turtle provides a warm, safe, comfortable environment! Defiantly recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

the benefit of having only one backpackers hostel in a city is that all the fun people are under one roof. the common area of the sparkling turtle is huge and so you'll definitely meet everyone staying at the hostel over a beer or at breakfast for sure. if you're in kathmandu and looking for some interesting times...this is the place to be

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehostelcrowd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.8 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu (Hostel)
1.5 mi away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#8 of 175 in Kathmandu
132 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dormitory Nepal
Dormitory Nepal
#9 of 175 in Kathmandu
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
2.6 mi away
Hostel Himalaya
Hostel Himalaya
#24 of 175 in Kathmandu
18 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elbrus Home
Elbrus Home
#7 of 175 in Kathmandu
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Address: Swoyambhu -15 | Buddha Park, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing