We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the sea of Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pariwar B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pariwar B&B
Ranked #72 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An oasis in the sea of Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Over the course of 2 months Ram Giri and I exchanged emails about his hotel and the options for my trips based out of his hotel. I traveled halfway around the world to this place based on Ram's assurance that my room was reserved and my tours booked. That took a leap of faith and it was worth it! I could have booked thru Agoda but went with a wild crazy spirit of trust.
Upon my arrival in Kathmandu and the resulting 1030 pm chaotic visa process there, I was met by a young man with a large sign with my name on it...So nice to see as the flight, visa queues and baggage retrieval mess had frazzled my last nerve.
The hotel was about 35 minutes by car from KTM airport and upon arrival in Thamel I was awed by being literally in the shopping epicenter.
Up a few flights of stairs (no lift) and I was met by Ram personally. He went thru the trip options once again and as planned, all went well. Ram has a company called Pariwar Holidays and is able to meet all needs and areas of interest.
The rooftop terrace was so nice to relax on, the roof dining room was pleasant as well. I had the chance to cook a meal with the chef and shared it with some backpacker friends I had made there. It was so great to cook a meal and enjoy fellowship. Pricing was reasonable for lunch and dinner and the breakfast was adequate. Some of the menu selections were not available but what was there was prepared fresh for every meal. Some planning with Ram and lunch and dinner choices were gathered and waiting upon my arrival back from shopping/ tours. The beer was cold, the food was good, the company was great!
My room was a Deluxe, nice and spacious. The bed was just about right for a blend between soft and firm. The bathroom was very basic but managable and the hot water was very nice.
There was a TV, fan, mini fridge, armoire, 2 chairs and a table making it a nice area to relax in.
The rolling scheduled blackouts commom thru Kathmandu were made manageable by the hotel generator. The bathroom and sink area lights worked on the generator, making it easy to move around and get dressed during a blackout. Ram has plenty of outlets in areas of the hotel to power your electronics during the blackouts, a very nice feature.
Overall, the hotel is 3 buildings all together with quirky stairs and different levels of areas all working together to make a cute hotel.
The area the hotel is in make absolute solitude impossible but the nearness of the areas make the hotel a go-to spot for Thamel interested persons.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocci2014, Guest Relations Manager at Pariwar B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear azroxx,
Thank you very much for the kind review. It is clear that we exchange a lot of things when you were with us. The big is that we were pretty successful in making you familiar with us which is our motto.
And your relation with Mr.Ram is very deep which shows that we will surely have you with us the next time also.

The compliments regarding food, drinks, beds, cleanliness and room is good to have as we are always keen to hear that.

We wish to serve you in future.
Have a successful time ahead.
Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    70
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
20
59
113
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

First time in Nepal and I met the folks here through my brother. They were very helpful in regards to our planning for the greater Nepal trip, not just Kathmandu. They provided good food and a good price and the rooms were also really reasonably priced. They also helped us get to know Thamel a bit better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocci2014, Guest Relations Manager at Pariwar B&B, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Robert M,
Thank you very much for writing review to our hotel. Your little but precious time is very helpful for us. The beautiful saying to the staff is encouraging one . We are happy that you were satisfied during you stay and we also tried our best to fulfill you demand and wishes!

we hope that you will visit our country next time also we will surely get second chance to serve guest like you.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The best thing about this hotel was the location if you want to be located easily for transportation and Thamel shopping, which I did. The manager was very gracious and helpful. The room was clean, but the basin and walls of the bathroom hadn't seen any cleanser for a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennykhounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocci2014, Guest Relations Manager at Pariwar B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear pennykhounta,
Thank you for the lovely review. It was great having you with us.
we are lucky that you like the location of our hotel and we guess it was benefit to you.

As you were having problem with the bathroom of the room, we already managed it in a proper
way as per our capacity. And yes thank you that you did remind us about your problem. we guess the problem won't be with our next guest.

we are extremely sorry if we had any inconvenience during your stay.
Hoping to serve you next time also.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Due to excellent location and very friendly staff this hotel is nice place in Thamel for your accommodation. Also want to notice cute roof)))a lot of gift shops and cafes are located very close to the entrance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocci2014, Guest Relations Manager at Pariwar B&B, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Namaste!
Dear Anna K,
First of all thank you so much for taking your busy time to write such a wonderful review to our hotel. we hope that you were satisfied during your stay with us.It was great serving you and we hope we will get chance to meet in near future. we are extremely sorry if we had any inconvenience in any matter.
We hope to meet you very soon!!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Its my 3.rd stay in Pariwar. We came late and had lost luggage on the flight. We had to fly next morning to Pokhara. The staff was extremely helpful and followed up on our lost luggage. They picked it up from airport, and kept it until we returned.
The rooms are spacious - and the food was very good !
I would highly recommend Pariwar !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oydis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocci2014, Guest Relations Manager at Pariwar B&B, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Namaste!
Dear Oydis123,
we are very much happy that your choice is our hotel in your every visit to our country.
It is always our pleasure having you in our hotel and we have tried our best to make you
feel as your home.The compliments to the staff is very commendable as such compliments
make us very loyal to our work.we are very sure that during your fourth visit we will surely get chance to serve you.
Have a good time!!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Pariwar B&B in a standard twin room in March 2014. The location of the hotel is second to none, right in the heart of Thamel. Although, if you do get a street room like us, it makes it very difficult to sleep at night, but this was expected as it is right in the centre. So word of warning to those seeking, a quiet nights sleep it probably isn't the best hotel. However, if you are out for a good night, it is so convenient to get home from all the pubs and clubs in the area! I would recommend it for such a reason. The service at the hotel by the staff was also impeccable. I commend them on this point.

However, after leaving the hotel in the morning I started to realise that I had several bed bug bites on my arms! So the cleanliness of the bed and the bed sheets needs to be paid attention to!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwain_Dwri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocci2014, Guest Relations Manager at Pariwar B&B, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Dwain_Dwri,
we are extremely sorry that we couldn't make your stay very good one. Thank you for your recommendation we have already sorted that problem you had and we hope that the same thing will not repeat the next time for sure for our next visitor. we have now made the cleaning department very active to solve such problems.Also we are very sorry that we can't have the changes to the location of the hotel. we hope that if you visit us the next time you will not be able to find such mistakes. Thank you for your visit.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

we stayed here for almost three weeks on and off during our everest basecamp trip. this is a very friendly homly feeling geusthouse in a great location in the centre of thema. the staff are more than py to help with anything you need and create a very freindly atmosphere. you can come and go as you please and feel safe that your valubles are ok as there is a receptionist on duty at all times 24 \7 . its clean and well kept with a range of rooms for every budget. not a bad word to say about this geusthouse or its owners and staff all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarfoot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocci2014, Guest Relations Manager at Pariwar B&B, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sugarfoot1,
Thank you so much for taking some time of yours to write such nice review about us.We are very thankful for your stay with us. It is such a nice thing to know that you had a very comfortable stay with us and we are happy that we were able to come up to your expectations. we hope you had a great time with us and it was our pleasure serving you. The comments on the staff is very good one to hear and thank you for that . we will surely keep on going like this. It will be great if we got second to have you here with us. Thank you for your wonderful stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#42 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.0 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#101 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#115 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariwar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariwar B&B

Property: Pariwar B&B
Address: Ganesh Man Steet | City Centre Thamel, Kathmandu 20062, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pariwar B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pariwar (The Family) Bed and Breakfast - one of the finest Boutique B&B in the town located at the centre of Thamel district's Ganesh Man Street next to Kathmandu guest house. Around you will find major shopping areas, nice restaurants & bars and actual Kathmandu nightlife. Pariwar features stylishly furnished boutique design rooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite LED wide screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pariwar B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing