We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a peacefull oasis right in the heart of the madness of Kathmandu”
Review of Pariwar B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pariwar B&B
Ranked #86 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like a peacefull oasis right in the heart of the madness of Kathmandu”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks 7 days at the start of my trip and 5 at the end. For the first 4 nights I stayed in the deluxe room (booked via agoda) and it was massive, clean and comfortable if anything a bit too nice for the likes of me but if you are travelling with a partner id recommend this room. Then i changed to a simple room for 3 nights like it says it is simple just a bed, light and fan but clean and comfy and perfect for me. For the last few nights I stayed in the dorm room as the simple room was taken, this room was also massive with comfortable single beds I would have preferred to have a room to myself but the people were nice and I felt safe leaving my stuff in there. I loved the terrace it was so nice to relax there after wandering the streets and nearly getting run down every few seconds and getting hassled by the people trying to sell you things. It was great to have somewhere to come back where I felt totally safe. But I think the best thing about this place is the staff they really do treat you like a friend and not just a customer I would have drinks and food with them and they really made me feel like part of the family. And they will help you out with anything if they can, from booking a taxi or airplane to a whole trek I booked a stay at Chitwan (WAR) which was really nice but a bit too luxury for me. It was a shame when I had to leave I think I could easily have lived in this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    71
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
20
62
116
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived on the first day and found out that the room was not what we expected ( booked with agoda) The staff immediately changed the room for us and told us that there would be no fee for upgrading on the first night and that we could talk to the hotel's manager in the next morning. The hotel's manager was understanding and offered to upgrade the room for us for the rest of our stay ( 3 more nights ) for 30 $ which we had bargained to 10 $ and he agreed. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Bathroom was clean and the hot water system was working functionally, however the water running out of the tap smelled rusty . I guess maybe the whole Kathmandu's water has the same smell (?) Our room was at the front side of the hotel which was facing Thamel street so we could hear the noisy sound of people shouting and the cars' horns every night ( ear plugs are recommended for people who have trouble sleeping like me) The boys who worked at the receptions were very friendly, polite and helpful. We have tried the breakfast and it tasted fine. Over all this hotel is a good place to stay, worth the $ you pay and I will recommend my friends to stay here.

Room Tip: If you're booking via agoda, make sure you read the condition thoroughly, they can be quite tric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank me_siamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The service was great and right from the start I felt the friendly nature of the staff its family run and very peaceful. The room was very clean and neat. I was helped with planning my trek immidiatley as well as served breakfeast and refreshments. I would recommend anyone traveling there first time to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcd665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I ended up staying at Pariwar twice during my trip to Nepal for two reasons, one was the great location in Thamel and second was because the staff were so friendly, polite and willing to help me out with anything I needed. The rooms were clean I stayed in a/c room and not a/c room and both were fine, in fact for September I didnt really need an a/c. The second time I showed up without a bookign and the staff were very quick with getting us a room ready which was great. The only problem was the water in the bathroom wasn't the best but from what I understood they were doing some improvment renovations so Im sure it will be fine

Room Tip: stayed at the pariwar two times during our trip in Nepal because if its great location in Kathmandu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmaanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalisco, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pariwar B&B was a great place to stay. It is in the middle of the action in Kathmandu's Thamel district, filled with different places to eat and chop. They also take care of you when you are touring the area and making plans for the rest of your visit to Nepal. I really appreciated the airport pick-up and drop-off service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lots of small issues presented themselves. After reconfirming our arrival, our rooms were still not ready. For 4 people, they tried to show us to a room with three single beds. The owner gave us two "super deluxe" rooms, to correct the situation. The super deluxe rooms do not come with drinking water, pillow cases, wash cloths, hand towels or coat hangers. The "hot" water was hot, only in the evening. The airconditioning worked well, and the rooms were clean. We stayed in a suite for the entire stay. Most of what we ordered for meals was unavailable, or forgotton. A cup of coffee took 32 minutes to arrive. The food that was delivered, was bad, worse and terrible. We had been in Nepal for several days by the the time we arrived at the Pariwar, and had experienced less expensive hotels and food service, with far superior value, prior to our arrival here. This hotel was a disappointment on multiple levels. We went down the street to Le Bistro for breakfast on our last mornng, and wished we had done so from the first day. We asked the owner about airport transfers. He assured us we would have a " super deluxe " ride, compliments of the hotel. What we actually had was a mini cab, with our luggage on our laps, and our gear on the roof. And, a 600.00 bill for the ride. Let's not forget the lovely "welcome" drinks the owner offered us, which we received a bill for upon departure.

Room Tip: As a place to simply rest, the location is excellent. The super deluxe rooms are on the fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinashenzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Don't let the entrance to this little b&b put you off. Having stayed in a few hotels in Kathmandu this was certainly the cleanest and best located. The hotel is situated in the heart of the tourist area Thamel opposite one of Kathmandu's best restaurants the roadhouse.

The rooms are clean and come with towels (a rarity!).

The staff are young, friendly and speak good English which is a real help upon your arrival. There is a roof terrace for breakfast and chilling out on after a long day where the staff will sit with you and play cards or offer advice.

The area can be noisy but this is a small sacrifice to be in such a good location.

Finally a shout out to kewal giri our trekking porter, a patient and friendly guy who led us through the mountains! (Kewal is the brother of the owner and can be arranged through the hotel).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#97 of 203 in Kathmandu
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#46 of 203 in Kathmandu
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#55 of 203 in Kathmandu
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#107 of 203 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#122 of 203 in Kathmandu
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariwar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariwar B&B

Property: Pariwar B&B
Address: Ganesh Man Steet | City Centre Thamel, Kathmandu 20062, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pariwar B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pariwar (The Family) Bed and Breakfast - one of the finest Boutique B&B in the town located at the centre of Thamel district's Ganesh Man Street next to Kathmandu guest house. Around you will find major shopping areas, nice restaurants & bars and actual Kathmandu nightlife. Pariwar features stylishly furnished boutique design rooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite LED wide screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pariwar B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing