We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pariwar=Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pariwar B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pariwar B&B
Ranked #72 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Tearnay, NJ
1 review
“Pariwar=Family”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

In Nepali, Pariwar is Family. That's just how to describe this wonderful place. Comfortable, clean, and the staff are all as good as family. We started our trip to Nepal, straight off the airplane, here at Pariwar. We ventured off into the countryside, into the more remote regions, and gladly fell back into this welcoming abode. Free water and toilet paper, tasty breakfasts, and colorful ambiance abounds! Highly Recommended!!!

Room Tip: Rooms opening out onto the mainway are pleasant. You go to bed serenaded by the shop tunes and panf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    70
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
20
59
113
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This Hotel is the best I have seen during all my journey.
Amish the Hotel Manager is the best man I get known in Nepal. The breakfast is great and the rooms are very nice and clean, too.
He was very friendly and helpfull on my journey. He also managed a great trekking tour.
It was the best trecking tour I ever made.
Since this tour we are very close friends, till now.
This guy and his Hotel are a must.
Thank you for my great stay in Nepal.
Philipp M

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Excellent! far better than any other accommodation in Kathmandu in this price range. Ram is the owner and was so helpful. He also has a trekking company and gave us a quote but was never pushy. After getting a few other quote his was the best and we went with his guide/porter for the full annapurna circuit. Our experience was amazing. He also helped with everything from taking one of my friends to get antibiotics to showing us where to buy the cheapest trekking gear to helping organise all our buses and train to cross overland to India after our stay. The locations is awesome as are the rooms. Will definitely come back to Nepal and stay here when we do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyePacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

It was quite nice and friendly atmosphere in the hotel to stay at Thamel Kathmandu. Worth for money, nice rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrabhatSatapathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

A much belated but totally deserved review! We stayed at Pariwar for four days: Ram and Amish were always very attentive but never invasive, and were just great guys to have a chat with. They also organised our Annapurna trek: 10 days with meals and accommodation, transport from Kathmandu to Besi Sahar and from Jomsom to Pokhara, porter and guide (our sweet and patient guide Hira: I cannot recommend him highly enough!!). Our rooms were spotless, and shower always hot. There is a lovely small terrace, and the staff at the reception were also very kind and considerate. My friends will agree that we had an amazing time and experienced great hospitality - I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Pariwar was very comfortable - the rooms were newly painted in warm contemporary colours and had new laminate flooring. The owner (Ram) clearly has a pride in it and every day new things were appearing - new sofas in reception, plants on the roof etc. Rooms were more than we expected - some have TVs and fridges although we did not need them. They provide free mineral water which is a nice touch and the wifi is also free and worked very well for us in our room which was useful. The shower was always hot. Breakfast was a little repetitive but more than adequate and included in the price and served on the rooftop which was pleasant in the morning. It is at the quieter end of Thamel (pretty much quiet by 10pm compared to the other end of the street where the bars were still hopping!) However street noise is an issue anywhere in Kathmandu, particularly in the morning, so ear plugs are always useful. Inside the hotel was very quiet. We used Ram's trekking firm to organize our 5 day hike around Annaphura - it was very good but you may want to shop around price wise. We were tired of bargaining after several months of travel and took the easy option. The trek was good though and his guide excellent. Staff were always friendly but varied in competence - probably because the business is new and they were learning every day When Ram or his main assistant was there it ran like clockwork and the others always wanted to help!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateWCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were picked up at the airport by Amish, promising us a very nice stay in his Hotel. we were not disappointed. the rooms were great, the staff were helpful and friendly and we became good friends with the hotel managment. they arranged a wonderful tour around kathmandu for us through Amishs business (uniques waymaker treks and expenditions) and we also trekked to his home village, which was a great experience.
we really enjoyed breakfast out on the terrace every morning which is included in the room price.
The only issues we had were the occasional power shortages affecting the hot water but that is Nepal for you!
We would recommend this B&B to our closest friends and family and will stay again when we next visit Kathmandu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.0 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#115 of 193 in Kathmandu
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#103 of 193 in Kathmandu
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariwar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariwar B&B

Property: Pariwar B&B
Address: Ganesh Man Steet | City Centre Thamel, Kathmandu 20062, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pariwar B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pariwar (The Family) Bed and Breakfast - one of the finest Boutique B&B in the town located at the centre of Thamel district's Ganesh Man Street next to Kathmandu guest house. Around you will find major shopping areas, nice restaurants & bars and actual Kathmandu nightlife. Pariwar features stylishly furnished boutique design rooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite LED wide screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pariwar B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing