We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location with friendly staffs in the heart of Thamel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nepalaya
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quiet location with friendly staffs in the heart of Thamel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right in the heart of Thamel, but off to a small street which helps with a quiet sleep. The room is clean and comfortable, even though you might be able to find a similar room with cheaper price. The staffs are super nice and friendly. Its rooftop restaurant offers a nice 'Dal Bhat'. So, basically a nice place to stay whether you are traveling or on business. Their wifi is quite strong :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thommythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    140
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
56
124
152
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Bang in the middle of marketplace which is a tourist shopping area. Hotel feels little cramped, but adequate comfort. Great food - especially for those with Indian taste buds.

The market place right outside the hotel is somewhat costlier than areas. If you're planning to do some shopping, try the market around Bhaktapur Durbar square.

Lastly - you gotta live with the power cut (summers need AC). Hotel tries its best to put the generator, but it can't support overnight. So my suggestion: chill the room while power is on, so it stays livable during the power cut.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Attentive staff, good location, though in Thamel, not noisy at all. We always had hot water. Good food, the roof top reastaurant had a very nice view on the city. Rooms are clean. Good internet service. Quality/price ratio is very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room from the forst until the 5th level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is a little out of the main Thamel area which is why it is quiet. The rooms are a bit small but are well kept and clean with average amenities plus lots of hot water on demand. It is a bit pricey but it does include breakfast which is made to order so the food is hot and tasty and of average portion.. This hotel is a good choice on the edge of Thamel if you want peace and quiet and don't mind the price.

Room Tip: As in most hotels, corner rooms are always the best for light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENRNOLTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during one of my trips to Nepal. It was last minute as the hotel where I usually stay was unavailable.
What a delight it turned out to be!
The entrance to the hotel was not the best at that time but once in, off the street, it opened into the most light and airy hotel in which I have stayed while in Kathmandu. My partner and I had a double room which we found to be very clean and no smelly drains. I have found this to be a problem in some other hotels. The food was good and the owner, Sushil Khadka could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We spent a wonderful evening on the roof terrace, singing songs with staff and porters from our trek as the sun went down. I was up early the next day and experienced the sun coming up over Kathmandu from the roof terrace. Another major delight was the amount of hot running water and showers which actually worked. This was a heart warming bonus after trekking for 21 days with limited amenities!! I would highly recommend this hotel and found it to be cheaper than the hotel in which I normally stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cdpGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed there for a total of 3 nights last week.
The hotel is fairly quite, clean and in good condition. The location is great and the staff has been very nice and helpful - the girls at the reception during the day have the most gorgeous smiles ;)

Black outs are an issue, as anywhere else in Nepal, but the back up generator runs basic lights - and of course the Wi-Fi.

Sadly no European beds - I haven't had enough time to get used to the Indian/Nepali style of hard beds.

Shop around and book ahead as walk-ins don't get too good a deal.

Room Tip: Rooms below 4th floor can be a bit dark and humid but 5th and 6th floor are better but be careful wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tybur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Second time around here and again not disappointed. Great location for all ammenities. Staff polite and eficiant as allways. It is nice to come back to a new and fresh out look. Allways had hot water and wifi and a pick up from the aerport! What else can you ask for?. Well done

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picheleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tayoma
Hotel Tayoma
#116 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Property: Hotel Nepalaya
Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu 21292, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing