We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good n clean hotel in kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nepalaya
Ranked #60 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It is good n central located hotel
Good rioftop restirant free wi fi good breakfast clean hot water nice staff helpful travel desk nice tour in city b hotel it easy access for shopping nice view mountain eaceful to sleep

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgionebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 618 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Great customer service and very friendly staff. Will definitely book a room with them and recommend this establishment to my friends. The location is great also the price and the staff are really knowledgeable of the are.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Qussaii E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel Nepalaya - One year later, transformed with a cheery and beautiful look. The lobby was bright and spacious. Room was very clean and comfortable. After a pretty cold nite, the hot shower was really great (at all time). The rooftop cafe was never a disappointment, with good food and beautiful views. Very friendly staff, making us felt at home....Good location for shoppers...!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank N0raini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were blown away by the refreshing and beautiful facelift at the lobby after our first visit in March 2013. The lobby looked surprisingly bright, spacious and inviting ! Rooms are very clean, beds comfortable and best of all you can get hot showers at any time of the day. Also, it probably is among the very few hotels with lift in the city. Good breakfast. We love to chill out at it's beautiful rooftop cafe.. a little heaven tucked away from the noisy Thamel Street. Great location! Shopping is just a few steps away from the hotel. Staffs are friendly and extremely helpful. If you are looking for a hotel offering a great value for money, then look no further !!

Room Tip: Higher floors are airy but rooms directly under the rooftop cafe on level six tend to be a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaSahnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this hotel after a year. The lobby looks brighter and cheery after major renovation work ... spacious lounge for chats a lift to take us to the rooftop cafe ... friendly staffs ... good location !!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank r0smera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Relaxing hotel for backpackers. Stayed one night after arrival, went on a spontanious 5day trio to the annapurna region the following day. The hotel arranged everything: stored some of Our luggage, recommended a guide and arranged all transport. Got a cheaper price om bungy through the hotell(75$). Good breakfast!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Olav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We used the Nepalaya as a base for our time in Nepal. We enjoyed the friendly staff and the beautiful roof top garden/restaurant. Our rooms were always clean, and the beds were small but comfy. We definitely look forward to returning to see our new friends!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montez7417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 210 in Kathmandu
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#81 of 210 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu 21292, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing